We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel Marotte: A family-run hotel, focused on quality”
Review of Hotel Marotte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Marotte
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Amiens
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
152 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“The Hotel Marotte: A family-run hotel, focused on quality”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Hotel Marotte is a five star family-run hotel in the heart of Amiens. It is perfectly situated less than a five-minute walk to Amiens Cathedral and all the charming restaurants along the canal. Since the hotel has only twelve rooms, you are likely to encounter family at any time during your stay. The owner, Estelle, is also the general manager, designer, desk clerk, and she personally prepares the breakfast. She’ll likely answer the phone when you make your reservation. Her English is impeccable. She also speaks German, trilingual.

There are many things to like about Estelle. She is warm, welcoming, and intelligent. She is also a perfectionist. Her attention to detail emerges moment by moment in the hotel: the quality of the bed, the luxurious bathroom, the organization of space, the decor inside and out, the breakfast prepared to order. Most of all, you recognize it in her service.

Estelle was born in Amiens and knows virtually everyone and every place in the city and the surrounding countryside. When my wife and I could not find a tour of WWI sites, all sold out, no problem. Estelle had the name and number of an English speaking taxi driver who gave us more than our money’s worth, and at a lower cost than the tours that were already booked. (Elizabeth Hubert: www.taxisomme80.com)

A taxi for the train station? Again, no problem. Our driver arrived five minutes early in a Mercedes, and carried our bags to the car.

Restaurant recommendations? Just ask.

The Hotel Marotte is a serious hotel with great customer service and as comfortable as a hotel can be. Most of all, it is a family business, focused on quality. From now on when we go to Amiens, we’ll reserve our place in the Hotel Marotte.

Room Tip: Reserve a room at the Hotel Marotte. You'll be very comfortable here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    36
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
36
143
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich england
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I cannot disagree more with the previous review. This is an exceptional hotel where much care and attention has been lavished upon it. We were greeted by Estelle who has a wealth of information at her finger tips and can speak several languages fluently. We parked in the courtyard right outside the door and this was locked at night.

We had a room overlooking the front and it was very spacious, luxurious and the most comfortable bed that I have had the pleasure of sleeping in for ages. Everything has been refurbished to a high standard and is spotlessly clean and well maintained.

Dinner recommendations and reservations were made and it seemed as though nothing was too much trouble. It is asked that breakfast choices are made the day before and this is a minor annoyance and perhaps the breakfast is slightly too expensive but other than that the stay was wonderful and a great first stop on our tour through France.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MangoChutney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel looks great and it is obvious that lots of time, effort and money have gone into converting this building to a very beautiful bed and breakfast.

However, from a personal perspective I found the hotel to be a bit too formal.

The positives are:
Beautiful rooms
Central location

Downside:
The rooms are really hot
We kept the windows open but the street is very noisy. Algeria had won a football match and lots of fans were celebrating in the street.
The breakfast was disappointing. Firstly, you have to decide what you would like for breakfast by 9pm
The breakfast is not buffet style and it is therefore a bit awkward if you wish to have an extra croissant etc. Of course you can ask for extra but it would be nicer to just help yourself.

The bath products seemed stingy for a top class bed and breakfast.

Overall I was disappointed as I had very high hopes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeannieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estelle W, Propriétaire at Hotel Marotte, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Jeannie,
I am sorry that you were disappointed. You have stayed with us on a hot day, which is quite rare in Amiens, even in the summer. There is nothing we can do about the Algerians celebrating their football victory I am afraid. Regarding breakfast, we have made the choice to serve our guests rather than them having to get up all the time to have extra coffee or anything else. You do not have to order breakfats before 9 in the evening, but it helps us organizing ourselves for the morning so you do not have to wait. Of course you can have extra croissants or everyything else, as much as you want, and I do not see why you should not dare asking for more, as it would be the same price anyway. And finally, we are not a bed & breakfast : as you wrote in the beginning, we have made huge efforts, not only financial, and are now proud to be the only 5* hotel in the Somme department. You can be sure that we still try hard to welcome our guests as friends and do that we will keep on doing our best to keep them happy and satisfied. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a really well placed and well appointed hotel. Estelle was very helpful. Don't be put off by the room being described as a cosy room as this does not imply something small and cosy but was in fact a large room with a large bathroom. The decor and fittings were of high quality. An easy short walk from the train station and then well placed in Amien while still being quiet. The light and sound show at the Cathedral at sunset is a must. Breakfast was of good quality but perhaps is a little overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

this hotel is exceptional!! No expense has been spared, and it shows in the quality of the room I was in. Beautifully decorated, a huge bath, and the shower was like being in a hot waterfall.. The lighting with spots that can be dimmed make it a perfect room for a romantic night. Shame I was on my own!

The owner, Estelle and her husband have put such a lot in to this place and they have done an impressive job.

There are no faults with this place, and I am going back....only next time not on my own!

Room Tip: I had a double room, which was large and stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tremlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Hotel was perfect in every way. The location was right in centre of the pretty town.
The Notre Dame Cathedral is 5mins away and is beautiful!!!! It is as almost as big as the town!!
Estelle was great and accommodating!!. The room was explicit in decor, very stylish, yet homey. Breakfast was good!!!

Room Tip: The deluxe room we stayed in was a very stylish and big penthouse, but had a regular kind of a '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

What a lovely hotel. The decor is very tastefully done with very large rooms and excellent amenities. Our host, Estelle was very gracious and helpful with directions. only down side, parking is very limited. We were there in the quite season. Not sure what happens with the parking in busier time. Also the beautiful room could have had more soundproofing as it faced onto a very busy road. Overall, our trip to Amiens was very enjoyable. Wish we had stayed longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room.. Not sure of the rest of the hotel layout and unable to recommend which would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capercam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amiens hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Prieure
0.3 mi away
Mercure Amiens Cathedrale
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amiens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Campanile Amiens Centre Gare
0.4 mi away
Ibis Amiens Centre Cathedrale
1.1 mi away
La Chambre d'Amiens
La Chambre d'Amiens
#4 of 20 in Amiens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marotte

Property: Hotel Marotte
Address: 3 rue Marotte, 80000, Amiens, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Amiens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Amiens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Marotte 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in the city centre of Amiens, recently opened.12 rooms with bath and shower, 4 suitesKey words : comfort, quiet and nice welcome.Wine and champagne bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Marotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing