We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely 3 Night Stay whilst visiting the Western Front.”
Review of Hotel Marotte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Marotte
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Amiens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

My wile and I stayed at this hotel for a few days in the middle of Jul this year whilst on a Tour of the Western Front (WW1).

Our stay was lovely after long days. Estelle was wonderful and went out of her way to assist.Judy and I strongly recommend it ,
it is in town, walking distance to nearly everthing and Estelle's recommendations are on the mark.

We look forward to visiting again an a couple of years

Room Tip: Sorry, cannot remember our room no but it was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

An combination of old and new buildings, nicely renovated. Excellent location in the center. In the old house, last floor lugging suitcases up the stairs, was our spacious room with modern furniture. No air conditioning, we can make tea ourselves, safe. Large shower, separate toilet, free-standing bathtub. Exceptionally friendly female manager of the hotel told us about the city and all the sights and leaflets are ready in our own language. In the morning she serves an extensive breakfast at the table. Yogurt, delicious breads, cheeses, an egg, all amply. Unfortunately we judge the prize for this executive room being to high. No air conditioning and no lift to the floor.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbert007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

From the warm, friendly and helpful welcome from the very lovely, Estelle, every detail of this lovely hotel is perfect.
Immaculately well appointed, stunning bathroom, very stylish!
Breakfast was delicious!

Room Tip: Blow the budget and go for room 5, it has a bath big enough to two - hewn from a single piece of sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We booked this hotel following TA recommendations for a 2 night stay while visiting the Somme. We booked a cosy room - as a previous reviewer said don't be put off by the word "cosy" - it was large with a lovely bathroom. On looking at the rooms now on websites it appears we should have had a bathrobe which we didn't - however it was so hot we didn't need it anyway (hope Estelle doesn't think we have taken it!!). The hotel is a short walk from the station and close to Cathedral, shopping and restaurants. Estelle is a perfect host, friendly and helpful. We had booked a car parking space for one night and this was readily available for us. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel so can't comment on that. I note a previous reviewer mentioned it being hot. It was exceptionally hot weather when we were there too however we just opened the windows in both the bedroom and bathroom. There was some street noise on occasion but it is located in a quiet street so only passers by and the traffic was not heavy during the night. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if I was visiting Amiens.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amaroneUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Hotel Marotte is a five star family-run hotel in the heart of Amiens. It is perfectly situated less than a five-minute walk to Amiens Cathedral and all the charming restaurants along the canal. Since the hotel has only twelve rooms, you are likely to encounter family at any time during your stay. The owner, Estelle, is also the general manager, designer, desk clerk, and she personally prepares the breakfast. She’ll likely answer the phone when you make your reservation. Her English is impeccable. She also speaks German, trilingual.

There are many things to like about Estelle. She is warm, welcoming, and intelligent. She is also a perfectionist. Her attention to detail emerges moment by moment in the hotel: the quality of the bed, the luxurious bathroom, the organization of space, the decor inside and out, the breakfast prepared to order. Most of all, you recognize it in her service.

Estelle was born in Amiens and knows virtually everyone and every place in the city and the surrounding countryside. When my wife and I could not find a tour of WWI sites, all sold out, no problem. Estelle had the name and number of an English speaking taxi driver who gave us more than our money’s worth, and at a lower cost than the tours that were already booked. (Elizabeth Hubert: www.taxisomme80.com)

A taxi for the train station? Again, no problem. Our driver arrived five minutes early in a Mercedes, and carried our bags to the car.

Restaurant recommendations? Just ask.

The Hotel Marotte is a serious hotel with great customer service and as comfortable as a hotel can be. Most of all, it is a family business, focused on quality. From now on when we go to Amiens, we’ll reserve our place in the Hotel Marotte.

Room Tip: Reserve a room at the Hotel Marotte. You'll be very comfortable here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I cannot disagree more with the previous review. This is an exceptional hotel where much care and attention has been lavished upon it. We were greeted by Estelle who has a wealth of information at her finger tips and can speak several languages fluently. We parked in the courtyard right outside the door and this was locked at night.

We had a room overlooking the front and it was very spacious, luxurious and the most comfortable bed that I have had the pleasure of sleeping in for ages. Everything has been refurbished to a high standard and is spotlessly clean and well maintained.

Dinner recommendations and reservations were made and it seemed as though nothing was too much trouble. It is asked that breakfast choices are made the day before and this is a minor annoyance and perhaps the breakfast is slightly too expensive but other than that the stay was wonderful and a great first stop on our tour through France.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MangoChutney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel looks great and it is obvious that lots of time, effort and money have gone into converting this building to a very beautiful bed and breakfast.

However, from a personal perspective I found the hotel to be a bit too formal.

The positives are:
Beautiful rooms
Central location

Downside:
The rooms are really hot
We kept the windows open but the street is very noisy. Algeria had won a football match and lots of fans were celebrating in the street.
The breakfast was disappointing. Firstly, you have to decide what you would like for breakfast by 9pm
The breakfast is not buffet style and it is therefore a bit awkward if you wish to have an extra croissant etc. Of course you can ask for extra but it would be nicer to just help yourself.

The bath products seemed stingy for a top class bed and breakfast.

Overall I was disappointed as I had very high hopes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank JeannieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estelle W, Propriétaire at Hotel Marotte, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Jeannie,
I am sorry that you were disappointed. You have stayed with us on a hot day, which is quite rare in Amiens, even in the summer. There is nothing we can do about the Algerians celebrating their football victory I am afraid. Regarding breakfast, we have made the choice to serve our guests rather than them having to get up all the time to have extra coffee or anything else. You do not have to order breakfats before 9 in the evening, but it helps us organizing ourselves for the morning so you do not have to wait. Of course you can have extra croissants or everyything else, as much as you want, and I do not see why you should not dare asking for more, as it would be the same price anyway. And finally, we are not a bed & breakfast : as you wrote in the beginning, we have made huge efforts, not only financial, and are now proud to be the only 5* hotel in the Somme department. You can be sure that we still try hard to welcome our guests as friends and do that we will keep on doing our best to keep them happy and satisfied. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amiens hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Amiens Cathedrale
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Prieure
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amiens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Chambre d'Amiens
La Chambre d'Amiens
#4 of 21 in Amiens
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Campanile Amiens Centre Gare
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Amiens Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marotte

Address: 3 rue Marotte, 80000, Amiens, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Amiens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Amiens
Price Range: £134 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Marotte 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in the city centre of Amiens, recently opened.12 rooms with bath and shower, 4 suitesKey words : comfort, quiet and nice welcome.Wine and champagne bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Marotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing