We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location a stone's throw from the cathedral”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Le Prieure
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Amiens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is a very charming little hotel if rather quirky. I was leading a group and we had seven bedrooms across both the buildings. It wasn't quite as luxurious as I would have liked for this particular group but this was more than made up for by the location and the friendly staff. Everyone engaged with the lovely Emma from Wolverhampton who manned reception and Gweltez was very efficient in organising our stay.

The first room we were given was a bit awkward as the toilet was downstairs and the bath and basin up a very tight spiral staircase and the bath had no standing room to shower. As we are shower people we requested a change and got one immediately to the room next door. The change was made with good humour and without complaint on the part of Gweltez. Everyone else seemed happy with their first choice of room.

Breakfast was in a large and quirkily decorated dining room - simple but adequate with plenty of cold options to chose from.

All told a nice no frills place to stay.

Room Tip: Avoid room 2 for the spiral staircase and no shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theodora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our visit to Amiens was simply a place to rent a car between the train from London and Normandy. Once there, I so wish we could have stayed! Amiens is a lovely, walkable town with a beautiful cathedral, a canal to eat by, and this interesting hotel. We walked to the hotel from the train station, and the next day we walked to our rental car. The staff was friendly and low key, the 3rd floor rooms were well-appointed and we our pop-up windows had cathedral views. And bells! Amiens was a pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: Our 3rd floor rooms were up a steep flight, down a low-ceilinged hall, and hot. But we call that cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sconnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way through France and were very pleased with our stay here. We had a room in what had been the chapel in this old building very near the cathedral, which had been quirkily decorated. The room was quiet, with a well equipped bathroom (with whirlpool) and we had a very satisfying breakfast with pancakes and lots of juice and coffee, quite generous by French standards. Parking was around the corner, as the hotel is in a traffic controlled street: we chose the paying option as we had the car full, but could have taken a risk with the free places also just down the road as the city seemed quite quiet at night. Would love to pay another visit to the cathedral, as it was very impressive, so will probably look to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Surprisingly we were accommodated not in the hotel itself, but in the 2star residence next building; it was ok from comfort point of view, but wasn't articulated during the booking; I though, I booked the hotel
Breakfast assortment is ok, but the staff rarely add new products instead of eaten; so most part of time the trays are empty; milk is the most scarce product :((
Location of the hotel is really great - next street to the cathedral ( don't miss evening light show! One of the best I've ever seen); several underground parkings around (be careful, it is closed for entrance after 22-00)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We are unable to comment on the quality of the hotel as we booked a room for 2 nights ago and arrived an hour before the reception was due to close to find the hotel locked up and no one about. It took 10 calls to the reception number to even get to talk with the hotel and then they claimed it was full. Clearly in fact it was not open - despite Booking.com confirming our room. To add insult to injury, Booking.com sent us an email 2 days after we were due to stay there, telling us the confirmed room was not available. I don't know where the mistake lay but it left us at 7pm in mid winter with no room. We then discovered the Ibis Styles which was lovely and saved the day but did not erase the memory of the initial dramas.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
5  Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Delayed (once again) by the Channel Tunnel we made our way to Amiens for an overnight stop. I was impressed that the hotel rang us to ask if we were okay and en-route. Despite the booking site implying that there was parking at the hotel, this was not the case. A tour around Amiens twiice resulted in us eventually finding the hotel and establishing that the car park (public) was some distance away. That said the man on reception went to great lengths to explain where it was and drew us a map - still got lost!
We were able to get the barrier at the end of the street lowered which made unloading our bags and dogs much easier.
The car park we eventually found was secure with an overnight guard.
The hotel was in a great central location but for me it was a bit tired looking and whilst the room had a certain charm with vaulted ceiling etc. it was a bit cold and the bathroom was grim. Not dirty just a bit worn out and in need of a refit. Okay for an over night stop but I wouldn't want to spend more than a day there.
Staff were very friendly and it was a major plus to have our dogs stay with us.
I can see how it would appeal to many people, it just wasn't for me.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael_d_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The location is just perfect. We had room Nr 10 which seemed to have been a little chapel once. We arrived very late which was no problem. Because we are longsleepers we never made it to breakfast but thats no problem with lots of little cafés and restaurant around the corner. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I can highly recommend this hotel and would come here again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gronings_Expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRIEURE80, Gérant at Hotel Restaurant Le Prieure, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Verena L,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at our Hotel.
Me and my team were very happy to read that you spend a good time in our hotel.
I will be very happy to welcome you another time for another trip!
Kind regards,
Gweltaz et Mathilde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amiens hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Amiens Cathedrale
1.1 mi away
La Chambre d'Amiens
La Chambre d'Amiens
#3 of 21 in Amiens
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marotte
Hotel Marotte
#6 of 21 in Amiens
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Campanile Amiens Centre Gare
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amiens
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Amiens Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Le Prieure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Le Prieure

Address: 17 rue Porion, 80000, Amiens, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Amiens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Amiens
Price Range: £71 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Le Prieure 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Le Prieure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Prieure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing