We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great french food”
Review of Le Relais d'Alsace Beauvais - CLOSED

Le Relais d'Alsace Beauvais
Price range: US$17 - US$46
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: À deux pas de notre célèbre cathédrale, ''les Relais d'Alsace'' vous accueillent dans un cadre déco chic tous les jours pour déguster ses spécialités. La cascade d'eau centrale et ses podiums participent à l'ambiance chaleureuse de ce restaurant unique.Close to the famous and highest cathedral of France, our restaurant "Les Relais d'Alsace welcome you in the traditional design of a french Brasserie.English is spoken to help you having a nice souvenir of the french tradition. Open every day lunch and dinner till 10.30 pm
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great french food”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Dined with 6 friends. Very good, attentive service. Maitre'D spoke fluent english and was very friendly and helpful. I had the mussels with leeks and bacon served with frites which was delicious.
Only gripe is that the glassware and crockery is a bit 70's but in a way it adds to the traditional charm of the place. All of the party cleaned their plates.

Would highly reccomend for a good value meal with several french classics on the menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    27
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good French Food, nice place”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Jumped into the restaurant by oure chance.
The food is good, waiters are nice and service OK.
Ate with colleagues and all the plates where OK.
Spent 35€ inclouding 3 glasses of wine and dessert.
Would go back

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lugano_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

WE stay in and around Beauvais for about a week.
We ate here three or four times
food: excellant
service :excellent
atmosphere: excellent
Value: excellent
the manager/owner was very attentive and spoke perfect english, definitely worth a visit

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paddyaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice food”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

very nice food and helpful stuff. you should try the wine of the restaurant - excellent!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Krasimir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Where's that sixth star when you need it? Great food and incredible service!”
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We came across this place completely by accident as we drove through this wee town called Beauvais. We were looking for something that was open on Mayday and wasn't a McDonalds or KFC when we stumbled upon this gem!

Within five minutes, we realised that this was the best customer service any of us had ever seen anywhere in the world. The maitre'd went out of his way to make us feel at home, and spoke to us both in English and in German (yay!). He even took the time to explain the menu to us and offer us recommendations; something that would be an extremely pleasant surprise even in parts of the world more renowned for customer service than France.

The food that they served us was - for want of a better superlative - excellent, delicious, and more Alsatian than Alsace itself. The chicken we ordered was beautifully cooked; so much so that one hardly needed a knife, the sauce with the onions, bacon, and mushrooms delectable, and the sauerkraut as good as any in Alsace-Lorraine.

And inside, it's even more impressive than outside - if you want to impress a newly minted girlfriend, I can't think of a better place to take her to.

And finally, one more thing. The coffee! One thing we'd noticed after a long tour of Italy was that the French couldn't hold a candle to the Italians when it came to making good coffee. Le Relaise d'Alsace made us revise our opinions very quickly indeed.

If you're ever in the area, do not give this gem a miss-in-the-baulk. It is but rarely that one feels so delighted by a place that one wishes Tripadvisor gave one a sixth star.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AMereCipher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Relais d'Alsace Beauvais also viewed

 
Beauvais, Oise
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing