We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for one night”
Review of Le Chenal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Chenal Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Beauvais
Reviewed 22 August 2013

very good Location:
right in front of the train station where you can get a train to Paris (to Gare du Nord. 45 min)
just a short walk to the centre
the Beauvais airport shuttle leaves you at the corner from the hotel

ok hotel
the rooms are small and dated.The carpet in our room was old and stained. However, i was able to peek into other rooms, and their carpet was newer.
Bathroom with no shower, just a tub. Ok bathroom.
Odd big red pillow on top of our bed. I wonder why there was a big pillow. Mmmmm...
There is a restaurant. It is open until midnight. Ok food.

Service
The hotel stuff was really nice and useful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Le Chenal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2012

This hotel is at a very convenient location, virtually across the street, from the train station in Beauvais. And since the airport shuttle stops outside the train station it offers a real convenient
way to get to the airport. Le Chenal has been around for a long time, and it shows. Our room was nicely painted, the decoration was pleasing and the bed was comfortable. There was a bit of a problem with the sink faucet which seemed to have needed a washer or something, as well as with the bathtub faucet. There was a kind of a balcony with a door that could be opened to allow viewing the street standing from above. Breakfast is available on-site, and drinks are served at the bar. We had experienced a dimly lit hallway on the floor to our room, but was most concerned over the fact that the hallway was totally dark, when we started to leave early next morning for the airport. We stumbled through the dark and just by chance felt around the wall near the elevator to find a light-switch; but this was, of course, only after taking many steps in the dark. The downtown area is only about a 10-minute walk, where one can find an array of restaurants, bars and pasteries shops. A little farther walk gets one to the Cathedral of Saint Peter which I think was built in the 13th Century. It has seven named chapels, plus two, and there is a memorial for the one million soldiers of the British Commonwealth, and 400-plus Frenchmen who died in the last world war. The church is in a state of disrepair but efforts are being made to restore it to an earlier time condition. It is well worth a visit. All in all I'd stay at this hotel again for it's convenience to train and airport shuttle.

Room Tip: Do ensure ahead that the hallway of assigned floor is well-lighted. Be aware that the elevator is sm...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cobcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We used the hotel for a night as we were going with the plane early the day after. The hotel is a good choice if you are going to or just arrived from the airport or trainstation. Do not have any extras, but nice and clean, but the hotel have not been upgraded in a while. You have what you need for a night, and the bed is lovely. Big with new crisp sheets, and perfect pillows and real duvet. Althoug there is a lot of traffic there putside, the streets near the hotel are quite boring and noisy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlphaHelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The room was big, but it was very hot and very noisy - what you get in August in hotels by train stations though, so to be expected!

Was a bit disappointed with the "double comfort" room we had booked - supposed to be a large double bed...but it was 2 singles pushed together with a big ridge in the middle!

5-10 minute walk to main square and cathedral.

Pricey - but probabaly similar to all around.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Happy-traveller365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel on Friday 15th June 2012 after flying into the local airport and deciding to spend an evening and a the following day in Beauvais and I would really like to reccomend this hotel.
It was perfect for a one night stay. The bed was super comfy, the rooms were very clean, there is a large flat screen T.V., free wifi and the location was excellent. Just over the road from the main train station (with trains to Paris) and maximum ten minutes walk from the centre of town.
Despite the mixed reviews I booked this hotel primarily on location as we were staying such a short time in the town I wanted to be able to walk everywhere rather than trying to figure out buses and the location did not disappoint.
From the airort we took the number 12 bus from right outside for 90cent and got off at the 'Gare SNCF' stop which was right over the road from the hotel.
The reception staff were friendly and helped us with any queries. We were offered breakfast for an additional 12 euros each but we declined feeling this was too pricey. We did sneak a peak into the breakfast room and the breakfast looked really good however. There were cookies, brie, babybels, meats, cereals, bacon and eggs so it did look worth the money but we preferred to get something quick to eat outside and enjoy the day.
I'm fairly suprised at some of the reviews about this hotel as we did not experience these negatives. Other hotels that have ranked higher e.g. Kyriad, F1 etc we passed on the way back to the airport and they were all in the middle of no where.
This hotel is a great base to explore this town for the day. We found a great bar called 'after hours' that was open till 3 a mere 5 minutes away, and the catherdral and the saturday market were well worth a look around. I would use this hotel again in Beauvais.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnieMac87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

Location is the good thing: right outside the train station.
Rooms are obsolete, of a strong bad taste.
Also very expensive for what it is as a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NViorel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Unfortunately we had little choice when booking this overnight stop late in the evening within short driving distance of Calais.
This hotel is above a noisy bar and the room overlooked the station. The decor can only be described as very bad taste seventies with dark solid colours everywhere. The furniture was shabby although the bed linen was crisp and clean. The en-suite bathroom was extremely tired and had a terrible smell probably caused by the lack of ventilation. The shower above the bath had a broken wall bracket meaning you had to try and shower holding the head in one hand while negotiating the wall soap dispenser. The lack of any shower curtain meant it was impossible not to drench the floor at the same time.
The night was warm on our stay and as a result we had to try and sleep with the window open. This was impossible given the noise from the bar downstairs and the traffic passing by the window.
As we had little time in the morning we opted to have breakfast at the hotel which promised ham, cheese, bread, croissants etc. for €12. WHAT A RIP-OFF! On coming down in the morning there was no member of staff to be found to talk to. There were a few baguettes and croissants with jam (only two varieties - marmalade and grape jelly) together with individually wrapped portions of cheese sweating in plastic packets in a warm basket. There was no ham to be seen anywhere and when we complained on checking out this was merely passed off with a shrug.
Considering the minimum room rate is €109 this hotel cannot be recommended and is way, way overpriced. While the location is excellent the town is crying out for a new hotel who would surely clean up against such appalling competition.

Room Tip: Avoid a room overlooking the station as the noise outside will keep you awake all night.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterCW9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beauvais hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Hotel de la Cathedrale
#3 of 13 in Beauvais
103 reviews
1.8 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#1 of 13 in Beauvais
310 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Beauvais Aeroport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Cygne Beauvais
Hotel du Cygne Beauvais
#11 of 13 in Beauvais
105 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Beauvais Hotel
Mercure Beauvais Hotel
#4 of 13 in Beauvais
195 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kyriad Beauvais Sud
Kyriad Beauvais Sud
#5 of 13 in Beauvais
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chenal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chenal Hotel

Address: 63 boulevard du General de Gaulle, 60000 Beauvais, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Oise > Beauvais
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Beauvais
Price Range: £69 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Chenal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Chenal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing