We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nuit d'Ailleurs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nuit d'Ailleurs
Ranked #2 of 9 Calais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quirky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was a quirky, atmospheric b & b with a touch of humour. We stayed in the Phuket room and enjoyed a different experiene. Candles, joss sticks, tea and a futon all helped make this a stay with a difference. I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Its up to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    36
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
131
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Me and my partner stayed here during the week for a quick break away, and all i can say is it was absolutely fantastic! the lady was very welcoming and pleasant.. although she couldnt speak much english she made up with her charm and welcoming nature, the scent of the place was beautiful with oils burning and automatically made you feel like you was in paradise not in calais!! we stayed in the agadir suite and the decor was brilliant, with plenty of space and room to definately relax! the room was lovely and clean and again had a lovely smell of morocco with a sound of the moroccan atmosphere with the music on the cd playing. one of our favourite parts was trying on the authentic gown in the warddrobes having a bit of young fun!!breakfast was traditionally french with croissants and bread with jams and yogurts with lovely fresh coffee and juice. we will definately be returning to try another room!!!

Well done nuit d'ailleurs!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capstone_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here at the end of June for a shopping/eating/drinking 2 night break, we stayed in the Bombay room.

Well what can I stay, the room was beautiful. It had a soft bed and en-suite WC. It also had a sitting room with a TV (proper french freeview TV, no English channels, though it had a in-built DVD player). The bathroom is adjacent to the sitting room and had a huge bath and sink.

The place is so quiet and relaxing. Sandrine the owner is always smiling and helpful.

Breakfast was croissants, fresh bread, jams, nutella, kiwi fruit, yogurts, tea/coffee and orange juice, just enough to set you up for the day, all served by the lovely host. You can park right outside on a quiet residential road (if you go outside at night you are right underneath the lighthouse!)

The B&B is 2 mins walk to the centre of calais, the square has many places to eat and drink.Try out the bar (tabac) at the end of the road for pre-dinner drinks, proper french. Also great coffee.

I can't say enough nice things about the place. Sandrine has a great place here and I won't stay anywhere else when in calais.

Happy to take questions via the messaging system if anyone has questions!

Room Tip: Pick the Bombay/Agadir/Pekin if you like to soak in the bath.Phuket has a large shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dash_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Such a wonderful hotel,stayed here for one night. Suite Phuket was so relaxing total paradise. The owner was such a lovely lady so very helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was plentiful. Experience highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaz1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkburton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

This bed and breakfast (Chambres d'hote) has just 4 rooms, each with its own theme. Indian, Chinese, Thai and Moroccan. We selected the Agadir suite. The room was large, and well set out, decorated with a Moroccan theme. Very calming with subtle music. The bed was very large and beautifully set out. Breakfast was continental , croissants, bread, jam, butter, fruit, yoghurt, tea or coffee.

The owner was lovely. She was very helpful and always had a smile on her face. Its so good to find a 'different' stop over compared to the normal anodyne hotel chains.

We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HSM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Just loved the atmosphere of this place, the room was large, and well set out. Breakfast was nice and tasty. The owner, she was lovely. She hardly spoke any English or us any French but her smile and happy mannerism allowed us to communicate. This would be the first place we would stay at here, if and when we find ourselves in Calais again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We visit Calais quite often either for a weekend or on the way back from another European destination. Usually we stay at one of the chain hotels, but we decided this time to stay somewhere with more character. We chose Nuit d'ailleurs as it looked and sounded interesting. Indeed it was! It is beautiful. We stayed in the Agadir room and it has the 'wow' factor. Sandrine, the owner has made her lovely B and B a fabulous experience. The room is huge and has cosy areas to sit and to have a drink as well as the large bed area and bathroom. We loved the Moroccan theme, music, furniture and fragrance. It is very clean and luxurious, we didn't want to leave to catch our ferry home. The B and B is well placed, we parked outside it on the street and it is 5 minutes walk from La Place at the centre of Calais, it is 5 minutes to the ferry port. I won't stay anywhere else in Calais now. It was a 5 * experience which finished our holiday off with another wonderful memory!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeematch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calais hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#3 of 23 in Calais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#4 of 23 in Calais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
1.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre St Pierre
1.4 mi away
Ibis Calais
Ibis Calais
#5 of 23 in Calais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuit d'Ailleurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuit d'Ailleurs

Property: Nuit d'Ailleurs
Address: 54 rue Berthois, 62100, Calais, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nuit d'Ailleurs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing