We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”
Review of Nuit d'Ailleurs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nuit d'Ailleurs
Ranked #2 of 9 Calais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

A wee bit different than anything we've stayed in before. Four 'suites' all individually themed and very relaxing. We stayed in the Peking room and slept on a futon that was surprisingly comfy. You can have breakfast in your room or at your own 'themed' table for two in the breakfast area. The owner is very friendly and being only a few minutes drive from the Port, we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mags6365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

Calais is where most Brits set foot in France or return home after their Euro tours and to be honest Calais in not the most salubrious of places, well nor is Dover when you think of it, both are simply dwarfed by the ferry terminals.

So who would believe it that there is a mini Peking in Calais and a mini Morocco plus a mini Bombay and Puket as well! Well you wouldn't would you - but their is and it's in the form of a themed hotel created by it's amazing designer owner.

My wife and I stayed in Peking, it was amazing we sooo loved it, every detail would have you in China even the music. Plus you even have your own breakfast table with Chinese plates, cups and cutlery, its fun and funky... We had breakfast with a couple who sat at the Morocco table it was really fun and they loved their room too...

So next time you set foot in France via Calais and you have a night or two to spare, check out this fun little B & B, its a great experience and all at a bargain price...

Next time I think we''l go to Bombay....

Blessings Tony & Nicki Vee

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This was a real change from the usual standard hotel. The lady who greeted us was friendly and helpful and there was a wonderful spice/citrus aroma in the hallway. There are 4 suites, all with an Eastern theme. We stayed in the Agadir suite which was decorated in a Moroccan style. The room was very spacious with a large seating area and a king size bed. The bathroom was entered through an arch with saloon type doors., which some may not like as there is limited privacy. However, we thought it was adequate and it was part of the theme. There were numerous candles around the suite, including the bathroom, plus a joss stick. We enjoyed sitting in the relaxed atmospher followed by a good night's sleep.
Breakfast is continental but fresh and more than adequate. The 4 rooms each have an allocated table set in the theme of the room.
The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from numerous bars and restaurants. The hotel does not have dining facilities but apparently has arangements to have food delivered if required.
We would stay again and would recommend the hotel for anyone who wants a change from the usual formula available at most hotels.

Room Tip: The Agadir suite was great but I would try another next time just for the experience. Just pick one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alleng5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was a quirky, atmospheric b & b with a touch of humour. We stayed in the Phuket room and enjoyed a different experiene. Candles, joss sticks, tea and a futon all helped make this a stay with a difference. I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Its up to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Me and my partner stayed here during the week for a quick break away, and all i can say is it was absolutely fantastic! the lady was very welcoming and pleasant.. although she couldnt speak much english she made up with her charm and welcoming nature, the scent of the place was beautiful with oils burning and automatically made you feel like you was in paradise not in calais!! we stayed in the agadir suite and the decor was brilliant, with plenty of space and room to definately relax! the room was lovely and clean and again had a lovely smell of morocco with a sound of the moroccan atmosphere with the music on the cd playing. one of our favourite parts was trying on the authentic gown in the warddrobes having a bit of young fun!!breakfast was traditionally french with croissants and bread with jams and yogurts with lovely fresh coffee and juice. we will definately be returning to try another room!!!

Well done nuit d'ailleurs!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capstone_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here at the end of June for a shopping/eating/drinking 2 night break, we stayed in the Bombay room.

Well what can I stay, the room was beautiful. It had a soft bed and en-suite WC. It also had a sitting room with a TV (proper french freeview TV, no English channels, though it had a in-built DVD player). The bathroom is adjacent to the sitting room and had a huge bath and sink.

The place is so quiet and relaxing. Sandrine the owner is always smiling and helpful.

Breakfast was croissants, fresh bread, jams, nutella, kiwi fruit, yogurts, tea/coffee and orange juice, just enough to set you up for the day, all served by the lovely host. You can park right outside on a quiet residential road (if you go outside at night you are right underneath the lighthouse!)

The B&B is 2 mins walk to the centre of calais, the square has many places to eat and drink.Try out the bar (tabac) at the end of the road for pre-dinner drinks, proper french. Also great coffee.

I can't say enough nice things about the place. Sandrine has a great place here and I won't stay anywhere else when in calais.

Happy to take questions via the messaging system if anyone has questions!

Room Tip: Pick the Bombay/Agadir/Pekin if you like to soak in the bath.Phuket has a large shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dash_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Such a wonderful hotel,stayed here for one night. Suite Phuket was so relaxing total paradise. The owner was such a lovely lady so very helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was plentiful. Experience highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaz1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calais hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#4 of 24 in Calais
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#3 of 24 in Calais
713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
1.4 mi away
Ibis Calais
Ibis Calais
#5 of 24 in Calais
612 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Particulier Richelieu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuit d'Ailleurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuit d'Ailleurs

Address: 54 rue Berthois, 62100, Calais, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Calais
Price Range: £84 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nuit d'Ailleurs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing