We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Seafood”
Review of Aquar'Aile

Aquar'Aile
Reserve with
Aquar'Aile is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 155 Restaurants in Calais
Price range: US$30 - US$57
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Exceptional sight on the range English dimensions - 500 boats per 24:00 pass in front of the restaurant locates on the last floor of a panoramic residence 40 m of bays vitrees enable you to see this spectacle impressing - speciality the fish - lobster St Jacques - sin local some meats and game in season the seafood are very present too. Direct information on our site.
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This truly was one of the best seafood meals I have ever had in a restaurant, as both courses for both of us who were there were truly outstanding. I had the “hot oysters” which were in a warm saffron sabayon, my friend had the lobster espuma soup which had the most delicious flavour I have ever tasted in a lobster soup. For mains I had sole meuniere - beautifully cooked and presented, and just the freshest flavour. My friend had the seabass cooked in a salt crust - which was just melt-in-the-mouth. The chef obviously has both a love for seafood and knows just how they should be treated. Exceptional restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mulqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latourFL, Propriétaire at Aquar'Aile, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014
Google Translation

Un grand merci à vous pour vos compliments!
La fraîcheur des produits est notre priorité..
A bientôt!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
There are newer reviews for Aquar'Aile
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 131 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

We enjoyed a nice meal here with very fresh seafood and a lovely sea view table. We had a bad start when we were told that the several free window tables were reserved but after making a fuss we were moved (and indeed not one of those tables was filled when we left at 10.30pm). So overall pretty good but don't let the staff push you around

1  Thank paulm2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latourFL, Propriétaire at Aquar'Aile, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014
Google Translation

Merci pour votre commentaire,
Il est vrai que certaine fois cela peut être surprenant de ne pas être placé près des baies vitrées mais les premiers réservés sont les mieux placés!
et surtout quelques fois, malheureusement, des réservés qui ne viennent pas et ne prennent pas la peine de nous prévenir...
Mais nous sommes là pour vous chouchouter...
A bientôt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We lunched at this fabulous restaurant yesterday, just the two of us with high expectations. We were not disappointed, easy to find, easy to park, fabulous views even though a dull day; seated in the window in very comfortable seats the menu with a lovely Kia Royale arrived. It was rude not to indulge, so we did! Firstly an amuse bouche arrived smoked fish - scrumptious. I started with hot fois gras with rhubarb, my partner had a platter of local cured wafer thin meats......my partner then gorged on a simply splendid whole hot lobster with lobster butter sauce to dip in, and plenty of it too. I had a simply grilled sea-bream which was enormous and stuffed with fresh herbs literally melted in the mouth, I confess to being able to finish all of it!! Cheese platter from an enormous trolley heaven sent for a cheesey person, then although we declined dessert a further amuse bouche arrived; creme brulee to perfection!! A bottle of chilled Chablis and a Coffee and Vanilla tea completed our thoroughly enjoyable escape on our own lunch........service impeccable, food presented beautifully and excellent. We shall return, maybe to watch the sunset this time. A Fabulous find. Expensive from La Carte but they do offer other menus which were just as appealing

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kasieharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latourFL, Propriétaire at Aquar'Aile, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014
Google Translation

Merci pour toutes vos éloges!
Toute l'équipe vous remercie...
cordialement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I think I've now been to L'Aquar'Aile seven times, four times with this companion. For once we went with the more expensive Gourmand Menu and were not disappointed. The delicious sea food platter was followed for me by an exquisite monkfish tajine.

The view of course is wonderful. There's a theatre to the entrance from the lift, finding yourself facing this dramatic view of Calais Port and the English Channel, but the restaurant must also take credit for superb attentive service. Fully deserving of its No 1 status in Calais.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latourFL, Propriétaire at Aquar'Aile, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014
Google Translation

Merci pour votre commentaire positif,
Au palisir de vous servir à nouveau chez nous,
Cordialement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My friend and I went for a dinner to this lovely restaurant.

By aware - the entrance from the side of the building opposite to the ocean, dont waste your time climbing the stairs in the opposite side - deadend )) - if you go there by foot.

The restaurant resides in residential house (separate entrance). Use a lift to the third floor.

We took set menu, and was gladly susprise by all the dishes - fish was stunning (they catch it themselves as far as I understood), wine - fantastic, for desert we chose cheese plate - it came with all different "additions" like jams, fruites indeed - the degustation was great!

We do recommend this place! Definitely!! ))

P.S. Great view over the ocean!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank Marina_Ivashina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latourFL, Propriétaire at Aquar'Aile, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014
Google Translation

Merci pour commentaire délicieux!
Au plaisir de vous revoir chez nous,
Cordialement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aquar'Aile also viewed

Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Aquar'Aile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing