We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good lunch time meal”
Review of Histoire ancienne

Histoire ancienne
Ranked #7 of 161 Restaurants in Calais
Price range: US$22 - US$49
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Histoire Ancienne restaurant in Calais is a classic bistro with 1930���s art deco d��cor, fresco painting that recalls Toulouse-Lautrec, Mucha prints, traditional zinc bar, tables laid in white linen, harlequin floor and open fireplace where local fish and meats are grilled. So far, so intriguing. Patrick Comte is a fourth-generation chef who trained in some of Paris��� most superb restaurants, including Le Crillon and Prunier, and here uses the finest local ingredients in inventive dishes like duck tartare with comfit tomatoes and parmesan shavings, grilled sea bream marinated in lemon, coriander and ginger. Order the warm chocolate cake with molten interior with pistachio cream at the beginning of your meal. There���s a proper vegetarian menu, too.
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We ate here recently during a short trip to France to collect our car after a breakdown. We had an excellent lunch at this small restaurant in the Rue Royale. It was a very hot day and the air conditioning was most welcome, though it sprung a leak just above my husband and poured cold water over his shoulders - very quickly and charmingly deal with by the restaurant staff, with many apologies. This did not detract from the delicious food, especially the beautiful lamb fillet for the main course. The wine list is on the expensive side, but there are plenty of half bottles available which is good to see. Well worth a repeat visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JanHWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123ht123, Propriétaire at Histoire ancienne, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Cher Janhwigan,

Thank you very much for your review posted on tripadvisor, yet we apologize for this problem of leaks! We are delighted that you had good time in our restaurant,
see you soon,
kinds regards

Claire Comte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (887)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 211 of 887 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

we stayed in calais for 2 nights
This restaurant was literally on the doorstep of our hotel what a find
Both nights the food was.superb we wasn't rushed at all
The staff spoke English and we're welcoming friendly
We would highly recommend this restaurant

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank claire7171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123ht123, Propriétaire at Histoire ancienne, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Claire,

We are delighted you found our restaurant and you love it,
thank you so much for your kindly post, it we'll be share with allour staff,

kinds regards

Claire COMTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We saw this restaurant recommended on Trip Advisor and fortunately it turned out to be just round the corner from the Hotel Meurice.
Good menu, excellent food and a good wine list. Efficient, friendly service. What more can you ask?

Thank RonP365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123ht123, Propriétaire at Histoire ancienne, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014
Google Translation

Cher Ron,

Merci beaucoup de votre avis, qui sera partagé avec toute notre équipe.
Nous sommes en effet situé en plein coeur du centre de Calais,
Nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir lors de votre prochain passage dans notre ville,

Cordialement,

Claire COMTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were taken by friends on the first stop of our trip to Holland, we had the most delightful lunch and it was a lovely start to our trip. The atmosphere, food and service were all impeccable and it was a lovely experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Icesk8terglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123ht123, Propriétaire at Histoire ancienne, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Sorelle,

Thank you so munch for your kindly post on tripadvisor,
We are happy to know that you had appreciate our restaurant, and we hope that you had good time in Holland,

kinds regards
Claire COMTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

On a recent trip to Calais my wife I had the good fortune to discover this superb restaurant on the Ru Royale in Calais. We had the Plate de Jour and were not disappointed. The meal was an absolute joy from start to finish. Good service, pleasant atmosphere and excellent food make a return visit to Calais a must for us in the near future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kayak22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123ht123, Propriétaire at Histoire ancienne, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Kayak22,

We are delignted that our restaurant you've enjoyed,
your satisfaction we'll be share with all our staff,

kinds regards

Claire COMTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Histoire ancienne also viewed

Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Histoire ancienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing