We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Calais
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Lovely room overlooking the harbour and ferries. We were very impressed with the large TV with integrated internet remote control etc. Parking was easy. Lots to see within walking distance. Nice and clean with a good continental breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: Recommend rooms overlooking the port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dean10102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ffnet62, Directeur général at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards

Patrice HAULTCOEUR
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

I have used this hotel many times over the years, and very seldom has there been a problem.
The rooms are comfortable, well laid out, although could perhaps now do with a refresh.
This was the first time that I was given a room at the back of the hotel, having always previously enjoyed the view over the port at the front.(despite emailing the hotel in advance, requesting a port facing room.) There was some noise at the back until very late, looked from the flashing lights that is was coming from a nearby nightclub.
Never had a problem parking the car out front, but decided this time to use the quite nifty underground car park (12 euros), as the car itself was pretty full, as was the free car park out front, and with the weather being atrocious.
Staff always friendly & helpful, lots of restaurants nearby, breakfast just about adequate.

Room Tip: Would always opt for a higher floor, port facing room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allertonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ffnet62, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for staying with us again and taking the time to write this review.
It is always pleasant to read positive comments about our staff and service.

Depending on the date of your stay, it is probable that you were given a room at the back of the hotel, because the weather was very bad at that period ?

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards

Patrice Haultcoeur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Externally, the hotel is rather dingy, but the ambience lightens inside. Easy parking on the street outside. My room was bright and clean with interesting views towards the port - industrial but interesting all the same. Staff was helpful and friendly. The town centre was about a 15 minute walk but there were plenty of shops and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leaforis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ffnet62, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Sir,

Thanks for your comments.
I appreciate your comments regarding the exterior building.
I am pleased to inform you that the front facade is due to be renovated in the course of this month.
Hope you will come again and see the results !
Kind regards

Patrice Haultcoeur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We booked a room for our family trip in December but when we received the confirmation for the booking we were informed of an additional charge for the car part. We were not happy with this as the car parking charge was not stated prior to making our booking.

So we immediately sent an e-mail requesting that they address this issue. Customer services responded politely and efficiently saying it would be forwarded to the General Manager. Then we received very patronizing e-mails from Patrice Haultcoeur, saying that the parking charges are on a sub-page of the website and he was not prepared to offer us a resolution to this issue. We politely replied back by saying we would like him to either waver the parking charge or refund our booking. At this point the manager responded with an exceptionally rude e-mail saying that this was the policy throughout Holiday Inn and some other brands.

It is not so much the point about the hidden charge but the very rude and discourteous way we have been treated by the Manager. I have never encountered someone in a customer service industry being so rude and condescending. After this we obviously will not be staying in this hotel but have as yet not received a refund.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Barney024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ffnet62, Directeur général at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

The reason of the issue is the parking charge of 12.00euros which you say Intercontinental Hotels Group has hidden on its official hotel website and that you do not want to pay for.
You have made your booking at a rate which is non refundable, as it is clearly stated in the rate description. Before confirming your booking, you need to certify that " I have read and understand the rate description and rate rules for my reservation". You have confirmed this. The rate description says: " Parking in the street free of charge. Secured spaces at 12.00eur per day. Pre booking required". In addition to that, daily secured parking fee is clearly indicated in the "parking field" on the main page of our website. How could that be more clear please ?

I do not think there is a lack of respect from my part. I have just explained you that this is the way parking fees (where payable) are presented on all IHG hotels websites, throughout the world.

Although your booking is not refundable,and to convince you that I am not as rude as you say, I have decided to refund the 72.00eur that you have prepaid !!

Regards

PH
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed there for one night, we had a family room and they put an extra bed in so we could have all five of us in one room.

The room was ideal, and the location was really nice.

Breakfast was basic, but fine all in all it was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ffnet62, Directeur général at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your kind comments.
I am glad you enjoyed staying with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards

Patrice HAULTCOEUR
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We live in Switzerland and stay here often when we travel back to the UK. Stayed twice in the last 10 days. Staff are always very friendly and helpful. Reception, bar and dining room areclean and look new. They sell good beer and have a happy hour from 5 to 7 pm.
The rooms are all comfortable but look tired now. But we always have a good night sleep. last time there we did use the €12 parking for the first time only as our car was full of stuff. Normally we park on the street and not had any problems.
Had breakfast there but not eaten dinner there.
Would not think of staying anywhere else in Claias

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_PaulaCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ffnet62, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your loyalty to our hotel.
Thank you very much also for writting this review. No doubt other guests will appreciate as you ar a regular guest of Holiday Inn Calais.

See you again soon !
Kindest regards

Patrice Haultcoeur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Downside first... If you are in a car, it will cost you 12 Euro for secure parking and it is worth it as the area is not exactly salubrious. The underground carpark is tight and don;t expect to get a family saloon size car in the lift. I was unfortunate enough to be booked into their Duplex Room.. Not a good idea if you need to get up for the toilet in the night as access is via a very tight spiral staircase. he bathroom is not exactly in line with what we expect today, it was tired, rusty and the shower was over the very small bath.

Now for the good.. The staff are fabulous, very helpful, terribly polite and most helpful. The bar and restaurant are well stocked and the food, even the simplest of dishes cooked to perfection. Drinks are a tad on the pricey side for a run-of-the-mill 3 Star hotel (more like 5 star prices). Only had the one night unexpected stop but wold not like to stay any longer than that

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the port as the rear of the hotel all you see is tower blocks. Avoid the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ffnet62, Directeur général at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying with us.
I have noted your comments regarding our duplex room.

I am glad you liked our service and I will pass your comments on to our Staff.

Kind regards

Patrice Haultcoeur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calais hotels
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#3 of 24 in Calais
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ibis Calais
Ibis Calais
#5 of 24 in Calais
616 reviews
1.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
1.3 mi away
Cottage Hotel
Cottage Hotel
#7 of 24 in Calais
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Calais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Calais

Address: 6 boulevard des Allies, 62100, Calais, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range: £62 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Calais 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn - Calais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calais
Calais Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing