We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient but expensive given the average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Calais
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Certificate of Excellence
Ixworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Convenient but expensive given the average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I travelled to this hotel at the end of last week and stayed here with a colleague. It is ideally located to the Docks and Channel Tunnel terminal but it's located a short distance from where a lot of immigrants are camped out which concerned us about leaving our car parked on the street. The garage the hotel offers is very small and overpriced for what it is. The room was a twin bedded room and it looked tired. The furniture was dirty and smelly too. The bathroom was basic and again could do with renovating. For a Holiday Inn brand, it was disappointing to see this although the staff were very helpful and friendly!

Room Tip: Go to the rear of the hotel as a front room could ensure you hear the horns of departing and arrivin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSpeedbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ffnet62, Directeur général at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments, which will be forwarded to our owners.

I would like to assure you that even if there are migrants around the city, there has never been damages caused to guests or local people cars.

Kind regards


Patrice Haultcoeur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    211
    68
    19
    12
See reviews for
138
184
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aabenraa, Denmark
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We - family of 4, two teenagers - spent a night here on our way to England. The staff were very kind and helpful, the room - a family room - was well equipped, and we had a nice view over the harbour. Good high speed internet. There are plenty of restaurants just round the corner. The Eurotunnel and the large shopping centre Cité Europe are only a short drive from the hotel. We will definitely be back next time we are staying in Calais.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view over the harbour. 3rd floor room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eva_marie_moeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ffnet62, Directeur général at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We have done our job well !!
I am very glad to read that you will come again to our hotel.
Kind regards

Patrice Haultcoeur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have stayed at a number of Holiday Inns and find them a very good standard of hotel. This hotel was up to that standard on a number or points.
Location- Very Good
Parking-Very Good
Bedrooms- good standard and comfortable.
Staff-Friendly
But I am afraid the breakfast was very poor and not up to Holiday Inn expectations. For this reason only I cannot give it a very good rating. The bar prices are a little high but its a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank infast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ffnet62, Directeur général at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review. I can see you are a regular user of our hotel brand.
I am glad to read that in general you were happy with your stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with our breakfast. I can assure you that our breakfast service meets the Holiday Inn requirements. I know that some hotels offer a choice bigger than ours. I would be interested to know from you what you think was missing to meet your expectations.

Kind regards

Patrice Haultcoeur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed here one night before getting an early tunnel crossing the next day. It was our second stay at this hotel. Good value and the rooms are very comfortable. Staff are friendly and welcoming. It is also very well located for a number of local restaurants. There is plenty of safe street parking opposite the hotel, although the hotel does have a private car park at a cost. We didn't have breakfast this stay because last time we were here a couple of months ago we were quite disappointed with the breakfast. However, that is really the only negative for this hotel and there are lots of restaurants/cafes close by where you can get breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ffnet62, Directeur général at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying a second time with us. I am glad you enjoyed your time.
I suggest you try our breakfast when you come on your third time !!

Kind regards

Patrice Haultcoeur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We used this hotel as a stop before we went to the slopes. The rooms were clean and of a good size. We had a meal that was very good quality and the kids enjoyed it. The staff were helpful and friendly and a credit to the hotel. Recommended

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ffnet62, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this review.
I am glad you enjoyed staying with us and we will be happy to welcome you again soon !

Kindest regards

Patrice Haultcoeur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Well managed, and convenient both for the ferry and for the town, we have stayed here many times en route to or from our holiday home in Burgundy. The restaurant is not its strongest point, and we usually eat elsewhere

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ffnet62, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for staying with us again.
We wish you a Happy New Year.
Kind regards

Patrice Haultcoeur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

we enjoyed our stay at holiday inn calais. the chain is oned of our prefferables. the same layout, furniture, amenities and service. wehighly impressed by the politeness and kind attitude of the majority of the staff. this is making the difference

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ffnet62, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for your nice review.
I am glad to read we have done our job well !

I wish you a happy New Year and hope to see you again in 2014.

Kind regards

Patrice Haultcoeur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calais
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#4 of 24 in Calais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre St Pierre
1.6 mi away
Ibis Calais
Ibis Calais
#5 of 24 in Calais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Calais Tunnel Sous la Manche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Calais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Calais

Property: Holiday Inn - Calais
Address: 6 boulevard des Allies, 62100, Calais, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Calais 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn - Calais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calais
Calais Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing