We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Calais
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We use this hotel about 3 times a year, location is very good! Easy walking distance to local restaurants. Never had a problem with parking on the street or car park opposite as a previous review has mentioned.
The rooms are nothing special but clean and ideal for a stopover.
We found the weekend staff (same person each time we visit) friendlier than the Friday staff, but that's just an opinion.
This time as a platinum member we were upgraded to a room with a separate lounge, disappointed with this as we lost the view of the harbour. We were also given a voucher for a free drink, but when went to use it was told we could only have small wine or small beer. Wish I had taken the voucher for extra points.
My brother who was travelling with us (no status) was given a very large room over looking the harbour, we have never had a room of that size.
All in all this was a good stay, just shame about the view.
We will stay again next time visiting calais.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George8052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ffnet62, Directeur général at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments. They are very important to us. I appreciate your comments regarding parking.

I suggest that next time you stay with, you require a room with a view, if available of course.

Yours sincerely

Patrice Haultcoeur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    218
    72
    20
    12
See reviews for
144
189
15
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We checked into this hotel with no expectations but it was actually nice. It was nice because its location. It was easy to find parking, close to shops and restaurants, and our view of the port was fantastic. There was also a local street market near by that was trading, which was very nice. Another big plus is that it is just a short drive to the ferry port.

Our room was ok and the beds were big. Although the room was clean, I found that the furniture was a bit used or maybe little old.

The breakfast was a boring continental buffet and could have been a little better, but otherwise it was ok.

Overall, because of its location, we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyoffour400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ffnet62, Directeur général at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.
I am glad to read that you will come again. This is what we expect from all our valued guests.

Kind regards

Patrice Haultcoeur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I love staying here, feels like home, rooms are great, very clean and the staff are always helpful and friendly. Calais really is a fantastic town which some people don't appreciate, the beach is lovely restaurants are plentiful, we always enjoy our stays here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clcclc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ffnet62, Directeur général at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your kind review. Consistency is our main goal. I am glad we have met your expectations.

Kind regards

Patrice Haultcoeur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ixworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I travelled to this hotel at the end of last week and stayed here with a colleague. It is ideally located to the Docks and Channel Tunnel terminal but it's located a short distance from where a lot of immigrants are camped out which concerned us about leaving our car parked on the street. The garage the hotel offers is very small and overpriced for what it is. The room was a twin bedded room and it looked tired. The furniture was dirty and smelly too. The bathroom was basic and again could do with renovating. For a Holiday Inn brand, it was disappointing to see this although the staff were very helpful and friendly!

Room Tip: Go to the rear of the hotel as a front room could ensure you hear the horns of departing and arrivin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSpeedbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ffnet62, Directeur général at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments, which will be forwarded to our owners.

I would like to assure you that even if there are migrants around the city, there has never been damages caused to guests or local people cars.

Kind regards


Patrice Haultcoeur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aabenraa, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We - family of 4, two teenagers - spent a night here on our way to England. The staff were very kind and helpful, the room - a family room - was well equipped, and we had a nice view over the harbour. Good high speed internet. There are plenty of restaurants just round the corner. The Eurotunnel and the large shopping centre Cité Europe are only a short drive from the hotel. We will definitely be back next time we are staying in Calais.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view over the harbour. 3rd floor room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eva_marie_moeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ffnet62, Directeur général at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We have done our job well !!
I am very glad to read that you will come again to our hotel.
Kind regards

Patrice Haultcoeur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have stayed at a number of Holiday Inns and find them a very good standard of hotel. This hotel was up to that standard on a number or points.
Location- Very Good
Parking-Very Good
Bedrooms- good standard and comfortable.
Staff-Friendly
But I am afraid the breakfast was very poor and not up to Holiday Inn expectations. For this reason only I cannot give it a very good rating. The bar prices are a little high but its a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank infast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ffnet62, Directeur général at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review. I can see you are a regular user of our hotel brand.
I am glad to read that in general you were happy with your stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with our breakfast. I can assure you that our breakfast service meets the Holiday Inn requirements. I know that some hotels offer a choice bigger than ours. I would be interested to know from you what you think was missing to meet your expectations.

Kind regards

Patrice Haultcoeur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed here one night before getting an early tunnel crossing the next day. It was our second stay at this hotel. Good value and the rooms are very comfortable. Staff are friendly and welcoming. It is also very well located for a number of local restaurants. There is plenty of safe street parking opposite the hotel, although the hotel does have a private car park at a cost. We didn't have breakfast this stay because last time we were here a couple of months ago we were quite disappointed with the breakfast. However, that is really the only negative for this hotel and there are lots of restaurants/cafes close by where you can get breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ffnet62, Directeur général at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying a second time with us. I am glad you enjoyed your time.
I suggest you try our breakfast when you come on your third time !!

Kind regards

Patrice Haultcoeur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calais
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#4 of 24 in Calais
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
1.6 mi away
Ibis Calais
Ibis Calais
#5 of 24 in Calais
600 reviews
3.2 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Calais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Calais

Property: Holiday Inn - Calais
Address: 6 boulevard des Allies, 62100, Calais, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Calais 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn - Calais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calais
Calais Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing