We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plumbing not great, air conditioning noisy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn - Calais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Calais
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Calais
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Plumbing not great, air conditioning noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have been staying at this Holiday Inn for over 20 years. Now it is very tired around the edges. Our room 302 was the worst yet. The air conditioning was noisy and the toilet wouldn't flush. We were only there one night. Location is good for restaurants and the staff are nice but it is definitely time for a refurbishment.

Room Tip: Avoid room 203 it is awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice62100, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Sir.
Thank you very much for staying with us again.
I have noted and forwarded your comments which are very important to us. I do hope you will continue to use our hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Patrice Haultcoeur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    209
    68
    19
    12
See reviews for
136
183
13
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were here for work. - Small, simple hotel - but a great location.
Within walking distance to train station, & many restaurants. They had a nice happy hour from 5-7pm to unwind after work. -
I was very unimpressed with the breakfast, however the wait staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericaninNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice62100, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Calais.
I have noted your comments which are very important to us.
I hope you will stay again with us very soon !
Kind regards

Patrice Haultcoeur
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Great location in Calais for the restaurants, loads of free street parking.
Very comfortable, and quiet, we all had a great nights sleep.
Great view of the harbour,with the constant ferries and bad weather rolling in.
Would return when in Calais again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woztrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice62100, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for encouraging comments.
We look forward to welcoming you again !
Kind regards

Patrice Haultcoeur
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We normally stay in Coquelles but we chose this Holiday Inn for a change. There was ups and downs for both hotels. The rooms aren't as big as Coquelles but they operate the Priority Check In for Gold Members with a drinks voucher. There are no luxury toiletries like there are in Coquelles but the hotel is convenient for an array of restaurants in the area. I would say that a suite isn't as luxurious as in Coquelles but due to the location of this hotel I would use it again on ocassions and alternate between the two.

Although the room was clean there was a full ashtray on the balcony - which is very unpleasant for non-smokers, when I asked for it to be emptied it was removed the next chance they had. I would suggest that housekeeping start earlier, as when we went out for the day and returned late afternoon the room hadn't been serviced and she came to do it at 3:15pm.

There is a car park but the spaces are very small and I wouldn't attempt to use them for our Skoda Yeti but there is plenty of free on street parking on the main road.

The breakfast is adequate and I couldn't fault it in any way.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sa1gon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ffnet62, Directeur général at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for giving us the chance to have you as a guest in our hotel.
I have noted your comment regarding the housekeeping service. Next time you stay with us, please inform us when you leave the room so that the cleaning can be made before you return to your room. For your car, we also have individual garages available, that are bigger than the underground car park.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Patrice Haultcoeur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Point, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

This small Holiday Inn is a delight, not so much because of the accommodation, but because of the staff. My husband and I cannot praise these people enough. From Reception, Bar and Restaurant to the Housekeepers they are all delightful, efficient and helpful despite the language barriers.
Rooms were clean, beds comfy, pillows just okay, but overall more than acceptable. Just a personal thing as far as I'm concerned, I don't like the all in one shampoo/hand and body wash things in the bathroom.
Breakfasts were great and most enjoyable.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ffnet62, Directeur général at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for staying with us. Through your comments, I can understand that we have done our job well !
I will forward your remark regarding the bathroom amenities to our head office.
Kindest regards

Patrice Haultcoeur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The hotel is a perfectly good Holiday Inn. Pleasant & helpful staff. I will stay here again. The breakfast is ok but not in the English Breakfast league but for a continental breakfast is perfectly adequate. The evening set meal that I had in the Restaurant was appalling. The main course was meant to be a kebab and a UK take away shish kebab would have been far superior. It was poor and makes English catering far superior!!!! One of the worst meals that I have had in any Hotel world wide. Luckily local Restaurants don't serve such rubbish!!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice62100, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying with us.
I have read your comments with interest as it help us to improve our quality and service.
I hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Patrice Haultcoeur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed as a family of 4 on the way to Belgium. Arrived at 10pm and received a great, warm welcome. We parked across the road, which was free, though I do understand that the hotel has a payable underground car park.

Location is very convenient for the ferry terminal - in fact, you could see it from our bedroom window. Takes less than 5 mins to get there.

It's just on the edge of the town centre, but close enough to have shops and restaurants nearby.

Room clean and functional. Hotel was everything we needed for a quick overnight stop and great value too.

Would not hesitate to recommend and we will probably stay there next time we make a similar trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice62100, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and thank you for your review.
I am glad to read that you will come again.
Kind regards

Patrice Haultcoeur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calais
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#3 of 23 in Calais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre St Pierre
1.6 mi away
Ibis Calais
Ibis Calais
#5 of 23 in Calais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Calais Tunnel Sous la Manche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Calais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Calais

Property: Holiday Inn - Calais
Address: 6 boulevard des Allies, 62100, Calais, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Calais 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn - Calais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calais
Calais Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing