We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Calais
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stop over”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stopped at the Holiday Inn Calais as a stop over after travelling back from South West France. The hotel was excellent, friendly reception and lovely large bedroom ( we had a family room for 4). Just outside was a square with plenty of restaurants to chose from - perfect after a long, long journey.
Would thoroughly recommend for a stop over.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lisa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice62100, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review.
Hope to see you soon..

Kind regards

Doriane DEGUINES
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    214
    70
    19
    12
See reviews for
140
185
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My wife and I felt a bit sorry for the lady at reception as she welcomed us to Calais with the offer of a local map of interesting sights, knowing that the vast majority of guests are probably only stopping over in their journey to or from England and not really interested in the town at all! Despite that she was pleasant and helpful. After a long journey from Germany it was good to step into a fresh, sweet smelling reception area and be dealt with efficiently. Our room was at the front, large and with a small balcony over looking the ferry harbour. The double glazing kept most traffic noise at bay and the town was quiet at night anyway. The bed was fresh and comfortable and the bathroom had a good bath and shower. There were points to charge mobile devices and wifi was free and easy to connect.

Breakfast was more than adequate with a small hot selection though we found it unnecessary to proceed much beyond the deliciously fresh French bread!

The hotel's web site refers to a chargeable hotel car park which I booked in advance. However the receptionist in a matter-of-fact way told me to leave the car on the road at the front! She was right; come the evening there was plenty of space and we could keep an eye on it from our room.

By the way, Calais may just be a stopover point but the town does have a life of its own with a good selection of restaurants. We ate at the Cafe de la Tour just round the corner. As far as we could see all the other guests were French. Certainly the food was being served with enthusiasm and eaten with gusto. We had two great fish dishes.

Room Tip: Front rooms offer interesting harbour views and are larger (and more expensive). Request a higher fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice62100, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for your comment, we very much appreciate.
We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards

Doriane DEGUINES
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I found this a perfect stopover after a long day and with 400 miles to do the next day. A late check-in followed by a quick night-cap and then it was head down for a good night's sleep. I awoke refreshed, enjoyed the cooked breakfast and collected my car from its free parking place outside the hotel. It was good to be starting my long journey south from Calais rather than back home in England. Getting away the day before is the perfect way to start the holiday.

Room Tip: The low numbers on each floor are furthest from the lift. Not sure if the lift makes much noise as I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice62100, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your stay and for your comments.
We glad you enjoy your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Doriane DEGUINES
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel with my family on the way south and again on the way back from the south of France in July. The room was excellent, the location excellent and the staff facilitated us with an extra fold up bed in the room.

We unfortunately left some documents in a local restaurant in Calais on the way back and for various reasons failed to have them collected from the restaurant by a courier.

As a last effort to collect them I asked the staff at the hotel to help. They went to the local restaurant, collected my documents and organised the courier for me!!

So a huge thank you to Claudie, Haude and Patrice at Holiday Inn, Calais who all went out of their way to be helpful.

John M.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice62100, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your stay and for your comments. They are very important to us.
We hope to see you soon :)

Kind regards

Doriane DEGUINES
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

loveyly service, nice room, really nice buffet breakfast and a really good location. would defintily stay here if we were to come back to Calais.. thanks guys....
although a small note... may want to update your cots... but all g :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvfoodLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice62100, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your stay and for your comments. They are very important to us.
I have take notice and will update our baby cot.

Kind regards

Doriane DEGUINES
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel as a family of eight for two nights. We had 4 rooms which we upgraded. They were a good size with separate bathroom. The Rooms overlooked the ferry port which was ok. The hotel is clean but basic. No frills. We did not eat breakfast lunch or dinner at the hotel as there many great restaurants round the corner on the square. This hotel is good for a quick stay for shopping, sightseeing etc. parking is great on the road. The garages look a bit dodge. The service was excellent friendly nothing was too much trouble. Would stay here again if we came to calais again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice62100, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for staying with us and for your comments.
I am glad to read that you will come again.
I will forward your kind comments to our team.
Yours sincerely
Patrice HAULTCOEUR
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed here either side of a holiday in Normandy as it's handy for the Tunnel. Our family of four found the room neat and tidy and the beds were firm but comfortable with a choice of pillows. The bathroom was not quite of the same standard - it was clean and functional, but could have done with a bit of a spruce up as it was looking a bit tired.

The area isn't bad, nice view of the harbour if you get a front facing room, but it smacks of being a port town and looked a bit grey and functional (not to forget the copious amounts of dog mess littered around the place). Having said that, just around the corner was a lovely boulangerie where we picked up breakfast for a lot less than the hotel charged. We did have one evening meal in the hotel, and it was reasonably priced and decent quality.

It had the usual chain hotel fare - tea making facilities, TV, mini bar, etc so was comfortable in those respects. The staff were also polite and friendly, if a little rushed during the evening meal service.

If we were stopping over again I wouldn't have any qualms about staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ffnet62, Directeur général at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your night in Calais.
I am very glad you enjoyed your stay and will forward your comments to our team.

I appreciate your comments regarding your breakfast at the baker's but not sure he could offer you a full buffet ??? Next time you stay with us, you can also choose to have a continental breakfast at a lower price than the buffet.

See you again and kind regards.
P.Haultcoeur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calais hotels
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#4 of 24 in Calais
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
1.6 mi away
Ibis Calais
Ibis Calais
#5 of 24 in Calais
595 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cottage Hotel
Cottage Hotel
#7 of 24 in Calais
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Calais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Calais

Property: Holiday Inn - Calais
Address: 6 boulevard des Allies, 62100, Calais, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Calais 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn - Calais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calais
Calais Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing