We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn - Calais
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Calais(Calais)(Great Value!)
US$61
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
ibis Styles
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$98
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
159
230
84
21
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
230
84
21
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecure parkingferry terminalfamily roomfree on street parkinggood sizereception staffan updateenglish channelsarrived latebeds were comfortableside streetsmall barstayed here for one nightshort breaknight's sleepcar parklong journey
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stopped at the Holiday Inn Calais as a stop over after travelling back from South West France. The hotel was excellent, friendly reception and lovely large bedroom ( we had a family room for 4). Just outside was a square with plenty of restaurants to chose from - perfect after a long, long journey.
Would thoroughly recommend for a stop over.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Lisa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice62100, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review.
Hope to see you soon..

Kind regards

Doriane DEGUINES
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My wife and I felt a bit sorry for the lady at reception as she welcomed us to Calais with the offer of a local map of interesting sights, knowing that the vast majority of guests are probably only stopping over in their journey to or from England and not really interested in the town at all! Despite that she was pleasant and helpful. After a long journey from Germany it was good to step into a fresh, sweet smelling reception area and be dealt with efficiently. Our room was at the front, large and with a small balcony over looking the ferry harbour. The double glazing kept most traffic noise at bay and the town was quiet at night anyway. The bed was fresh and comfortable and the bathroom had a good bath and shower. There were points to charge mobile devices and wifi was free and easy to connect.

Breakfast was more than adequate with a small hot selection though we found it unnecessary to proceed much beyond the deliciously fresh French bread!

The hotel's web site refers to a chargeable hotel car park which I booked in advance. However the receptionist in a matter-of-fact way told me to leave the car on the road at the front! She was right; come the evening there was plenty of space and we could keep an eye on it from our room.

By the way, Calais may just be a stopover point but the town does have a life of its own with a good selection of restaurants. We ate at the Cafe de la Tour just round the corner. As far as we could see all the other guests were French. Certainly the food was being served with enthusiasm and eaten with gusto. We had two great fish dishes.

Room Tip: Front rooms offer interesting harbour views and are larger (and more expensive). Request a higher floor. The area is reasonably quiet at night but for ultimate quietness rear rooms would be the best choice
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice62100, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for your comment, we very much appreciate.
We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards

Doriane DEGUINES
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I found this a perfect stopover after a long day and with 400 miles to do the next day. A late check-in followed by a quick night-cap and then it was head down for a good night's sleep. I awoke refreshed, enjoyed the cooked breakfast and collected my car from its free parking place outside the hotel. It was good to be starting my long journey south from Calais rather than back home in England. Getting away the day before is the perfect way to start the holiday.

Room Tip: The low numbers on each floor are furthest from the lift. Not sure if the lift makes much noise as I was in room 102.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice62100, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your stay and for your comments.
We glad you enjoy your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Doriane DEGUINES
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel with my family on the way south and again on the way back from the south of France in July. The room was excellent, the location excellent and the staff facilitated us with an extra fold up bed in the room.

We unfortunately left some documents in a local restaurant in Calais on the way back and for various reasons failed to have them collected from the restaurant by a courier.

As a last effort to collect them I asked the staff at the hotel to help. They went to the local restaurant, collected my documents and organised the courier for me!!

So a huge thank you to Claudie, Haude and Patrice at Holiday Inn, Calais who all went out of their way to be helpful.

John M.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice62100, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your stay and for your comments. They are very important to us.
We hope to see you soon :)

Kind regards

Doriane DEGUINES
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

loveyly service, nice room, really nice buffet breakfast and a really good location. would defintily stay here if we were to come back to Calais.. thanks guys....
although a small note... may want to update your cots... but all g :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank luvfoodLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice62100, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your stay and for your comments. They are very important to us.
I have take notice and will update our baby cot.

Kind regards

Doriane DEGUINES
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews