We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice without breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Calais
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Certificate of Excellence
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice without breakfast”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had a great view of the port. The room was nice with and slightly dated feel but it looked nice. The windows didn't have the typical British latches on them and they opened all of the way. The kids were tempted but we distracted them with the T.V. Expensive breakfast though. Park across the road for free.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACSholmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice62100, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review, be aware the breakfast is free of charge for the children and we offer a continental breakfast at 10.00€.

Waiting for the pleasure to see you soon.

Kind regards

Doriane DEGUINES
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    214
    71
    19
    12
See reviews for
140
186
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed here for one night in August for a trip to Calais. Easy to walk to from the ferry terminal which took about 10 minutes. Room was a little tired, and bathroom was in need of updating but for one night it was perfect. The bed was very comfortable and we had a room with a view over the little harbour. Breakfast in the hotel was very good. We had free Wi-Fi, but not sure if this was due to me being an IHG reward club member. Location was perfect. Calais is not big by any stretch of the imagination, but hotel very close to everything we wanted. Bar had a buy one, get one free offer which was a little different to BOGOF's I have seen before. You buy 2 drinks and pay for both. The next round is the free one. If we go to Calais again, would definitely look to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice62100, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for your review, it is much appreciate to read we done our job.

Waiting for the pleasure to see you next time.

Kind regards

Doriane DEGUINES
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
95 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Holiday Inn Calais. Good location overlooking the ferry port and close to bars and restaurants. Rooms are modern and clean. Free wifi. Do not bother with the hotels parking (12euro) as free safe parking is available on the street out front. The building is typical 1980 french.. neo classic it isn't. My room was at he the back, overlooking what looked like the yard in Alcatraz. The front rooms overlook the port. Breakfast at 15euro was ok with a selection of hot and cold. A beer at 9.80euro a tad expensive..(tip between 5&7pm it is happy hour you get your second drink free which makes a beer affordable). My room for a sunday night cost 158euro again a tad expensive. Staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: for views choose front rooms but you may be disturbed by traffic. Rear rooms no views but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mudgedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice62100, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for your review.
We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards

Doriane DEGUINES
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the family room before the Chunnel the next day. Good sized room with helpful staff and free wifi. Only negatives 12 euros prebooked car park when free parking out side everywhere plus breakfast very average for 15 euros but children eat free.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lally05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice62100, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment, we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Doriane DEGUINES
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Room 311 was spacious, well decorated and modern. The rubbish views were overlooked by excellent walk in shower and large bathroom. Bed was comfortable and big enough for our impromptu picnic. The built-in fridge was a pleasant surprise and meant we could chill our wine. We will be returning

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice62100, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Customers,

Thank you very much for your review
See you soon

Kind regards

Doriane DEGUINES
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stopped at the Holiday Inn Calais as a stop over after travelling back from South West France. The hotel was excellent, friendly reception and lovely large bedroom ( we had a family room for 4). Just outside was a square with plenty of restaurants to chose from - perfect after a long, long journey.
Would thoroughly recommend for a stop over.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lisa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice62100, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review.
Hope to see you soon..

Kind regards

Doriane DEGUINES
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My wife and I felt a bit sorry for the lady at reception as she welcomed us to Calais with the offer of a local map of interesting sights, knowing that the vast majority of guests are probably only stopping over in their journey to or from England and not really interested in the town at all! Despite that she was pleasant and helpful. After a long journey from Germany it was good to step into a fresh, sweet smelling reception area and be dealt with efficiently. Our room was at the front, large and with a small balcony over looking the ferry harbour. The double glazing kept most traffic noise at bay and the town was quiet at night anyway. The bed was fresh and comfortable and the bathroom had a good bath and shower. There were points to charge mobile devices and wifi was free and easy to connect.

Breakfast was more than adequate with a small hot selection though we found it unnecessary to proceed much beyond the deliciously fresh French bread!

The hotel's web site refers to a chargeable hotel car park which I booked in advance. However the receptionist in a matter-of-fact way told me to leave the car on the road at the front! She was right; come the evening there was plenty of space and we could keep an eye on it from our room.

By the way, Calais may just be a stopover point but the town does have a life of its own with a good selection of restaurants. We ate at the Cafe de la Tour just round the corner. As far as we could see all the other guests were French. Certainly the food was being served with enthusiasm and eaten with gusto. We had two great fish dishes.

Room Tip: Front rooms offer interesting harbour views and are larger (and more expensive). Request a higher fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice62100, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Calais, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for your comment, we very much appreciate.
We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards

Doriane DEGUINES
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calais hotels
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#4 of 24 in Calais
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
1.6 mi away
Ibis Calais
Ibis Calais
#5 of 24 in Calais
595 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cottage Hotel
Cottage Hotel
#7 of 24 in Calais
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Calais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Calais

Property: Holiday Inn - Calais
Address: 6 boulevard des Allies, 62100, Calais, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Calais 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn - Calais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calais
Calais Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing