We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably Priced Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Reasonably Priced Excellence”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We organised a celebration trip for 20 people to visit Calais to take advantage of their great restaurants and chose this hotel as we had stayed once before when travelling through France. The hotel is a little way out of Calais, standing in its own peaceful gardens and has a good indoor swimming pool and gym. The rooms are pleasant and well appointed, especially the suite we had which was a very good size with a most comfortable large bed. It's a nice place to come back to and relax after a hard day's shopping and is only a ten minute taxi ride into Calais city centre and the Cite Europe etc. We had Sunday lunch in the restaurant before returning home and it was a delightful end to our short break. Service is helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

Room Tip: Book a suite it is well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJV60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    455
    165
    49
    22
See reviews for
227
421
32
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I work in Calais from time to time and like to stay in this hotel. The price is reasonable, the staff are always freindly and helpful and the reastaurant serves up to ten o'clock. Plus the bar serves food later. There is a nice gym and pool to relax in the evening. Calais city centre is a €20 trip away if you want to eat out where there are always restaurants to suit all tastes.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jumbo1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We've stayed at this hotel annually for many years. We find it has a certain standard which is more than acceptable. It is also very convenient for travel to most of the Nord Pas de Calais region as well as Belgium. It is pleasantly sited in countryside, yet near enough to Cite Europe, etc. Our one complaint (most people might not agree) is that their evening meal menu tends to be too exotic for our British palette as well as being quite expensive. Therefore, we have yet to 'dine in'.

As for bar prices - aren't they all the same in France?

Free WiFi - which worked well, was a bonus on this occasion.

Room Tip: We've stayed in many rooms - they're more or less on a par with each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyweln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed here on the 7th-8th November booked by my mum for my birthday. The room was a standard room with a huge bed and a big style bath. The hotel was well situated near Citie Europe and from our bedroom window we could see the english coast very clearly. Hotel itself has some good facilites including gym, swimming pool, steam room and sauna that can all be used free of charge. Only expensive thing was the beers at the bar 2 large beers 15 euros, free nuts and olives on the bar though which was pleasant. Breakfast was on top and at 10 euros a person was well worth the money. The food catered for all needs and tastes from cooked option of bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, tomatoes and beans. To cold meats and cheeses, croissants, pain au chocolat, fresh fruit, juice extractor, toast french stick etc. The staff were really friendly and extremely helpful, they had a good understanding of english and even coped with my pigeon french. Overall a great stay a little pricey for drinks but you it was nice to sit in the bar for a while, 2 euros for the pool table a little steep but hey thats inflation. Worth a visit nice and relaxing for a break away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the channel its nice to look out and see the UK so close!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigerladyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This is such a sad story - great hotel superb location, excellent room, good food good reception staff, everything you could wish but such terrible service in the restaurant and bar, they treat you like fodder rather than clients and are dismissive about complaints. They are of course surprised when they do not get a tip, but when you tell them why they look at you wondering why - such a shame. But they have a monopoly with many people coming here who will continue to accept the appalling service, well not me sir, I will find somewhere to spend my earned Euros.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Randancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

The hotel is in a very good position close to the Channel Tunnel. We stayed in an executive room for 3, which was very spacious. However, the fold out bed was very old and dipped in the middle so I had to sleep with my legs raised in the air and springs in my back. The swimming pool was ok although the changing area could do with some updating (not least to protect the modesty of those changing when the door to the poolside opens...) Breakfast was good with a big selection. No lights in the car park at night meant it was very dark coming in after 5pm and it was difficult to see where you were walking.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma_m_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the holiday inn coquelles for the first night of our road trip in northern Europe. Absolutely nothing negative to say about this hotel whatsoever.
Easy to find, lots of parking, excellent check in service from the young man on reception.
Great room, very large and clean with huge bed and comfortable bedding. Superb shower!
We decided to eat in Calais after exploring for a while, and chose the rather delightful cafe de Paris (recommended)
The following morning we thoroughly enjoyed our continental breakfast - why come to France if you want an English breakfast...? Then a 5 minute drive to Auchan to stock up on some fab food and drinks for our stay in the Netherlands.
Would I stay here again? Absolutely!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madison_Stargate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calais
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#3 of 24 in Calais
462 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
3.1 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#4 of 24 in Calais
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
313 reviews
2.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
3.8 mi away
Hotel l'Escale
Hotel l'Escale
#1 of 1 in Escalles
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles

Property: Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
Address: 2099 Avenue Charles de Gaulle, 62231, Calais, France (Formerly Hotel Copthorne Coquelles Calais)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Calais Coquelles is located 2 minutes from Euro Tunnel, Cite Europe Shopping centre, Eurostar station, main Motorways to European destinations and Calais harbour. Surrounded by a peaceful park with an INDOOR SWIMMING POOL, private car park, Bedrooms with air conditioning during Summer period, a fitness centre with extended facilities (Sauna, Steam Room...), meeting rooms with day light, possibility of cocktail and dinner until 350 people and just 3 minutes from the White Cliffs of Cap Blanc Nez and the sandy beaches of the Opale Coast.. !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles Hotel Calais
Calais Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing