We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stop off Point after Channel Tunnel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Really good place to stop either way on journey to/from the continent. Service was very good, room service breakfast order was collected and delivered on time. Facilities are really good.
Recommend this to all travellers especially those with young children.
Swimming pool with sauna and fitness gym on site.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (946)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 946 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Travellers used to the large rooms in Holiday Inns in the USA will be disappointed at the small cells on offer at this hotel - not that unusual in European Holiday Inns. So our stay started off with a feeling of being let down, but it got better. The room was quiet and efficient with an excellent adapted bathroom for my disabled wife, and the restaurant dinners were of a much higher quality than one would normally expect in a standard chain hotel.

Finding somewhere enjoyable to stay in or near Calais has been a challenge for decades, but with this hotel I think I've cracked it! Perhaps the best thing is that it is set in its own extensive grounds out in the countryside, well away from the dismal town that is Calais. The autoroute is quite near and may cause noise problems for some rooms, but not for our cell.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Spend 3 nights here having a shopping break. Stayed before quite a few years ago but in last 10 years have stayed at the Cottage mostly. It is a 4* and therefore I would expect better quality than The Cottage. Some things are but others let it down. Good points - beds are very comfortable, best nights sleep in ages. rooms have bath and not just shower and there is a fridge in the room. Breakfast tasty, cooked breakfast as well as continental.

Bad points. 1st day breakfast so disorganised they ran out of food. People were waiting around for croissants and pastries etc and they kept running out of items of cooked food at different times. this shouldn't happen as they have list of how many people in hotel having breakfast and should replace as running down not once run out. coffee on 2 out of 3 days cold, but not sure if this because French like it luke warm rather than very hot. Ate 1 evening meal in hotel. it was Ok. But service not the best. Some staff were lovely but the attitude of others lets the place down. We chose this hotel this time as took daughter and partner with us and they wanted to relax in pool. Unfortunately this only open at certain times and was so busy with families it would be difficult to have a proper swim. Gym OK lots of different equipment. Would I go again, maybe if price was right. It was a good nights sleep which is often not the case in hotels in Calais and there was good choice of breakfast. Its nice having a restaurant in the hotel where you can have nice meal and bottle of wine together, other nights it was soft drinks as drove out to restaurants. seems to be a good hotel for those who want to travel with their pets as we saw several sitting in the bars or out being walked in grounds with their owners

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheena-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Sheena-Steve,

Thank you for writing us a review of your experience. We are very glad that you had the best nights sleep in our hotel. We pride ourselves in providing guests with a comfortable and safe environment and we’re glad you were able to experience this with us. On the other hand, it is very troubling to read about your experience at the restaurant during breakfast. We have taken note of your comments and we will certainly work on the issues you have raised to improve guest satisfaction for your next stay and for future guests as well. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the pleasure of having you again on your next trip to Calais.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Location is great - well placed for the tunnel and shopping yet out of the way and very peaceful in the extensive grounds.

Room was clean, comfortable and had nice quality bedding etc. The only thing missing was a fridge which would have been useful.

In the bathroom the toilet seat kept slipping around and the grab handle over the bath was loose so a few small details that needed to be fixed but nothing too major.

The room we had was underneath a huge extractor vent for what I think is the kitchen - ran until very late and on again at 5am prompt so this did affect sleep quality quite a bit but as least the room had tea and coffee making facilities so II was able to make a nice cup of coffee and watch the sun rise.

Reception staff helpful and efficient, restaurant staff were mainly good although one chap was a little surly.

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and the food quality was good - sadly there was only one vegetarian choice on the night we stayed which was a bit of a disappointment.

Overall it was good value (book your breakfast when you reserve your room for the best price), we had a very pleasant stay in a nice clean and comfy hotel, but next time I would choose a different room.

Room Tip: Room 218 is beneath the extractor vent and above the kitchen entrance for staff so if you are a ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyIsabellaGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I had stayed at this hotel before and have noticed over the years that standards are dropping a little. Rooms are looking tired now.

Reception staff were excellent. Very quick check in process and staff very polite and professional. Impressed.

Not so impressed when I got to the room and found a dirty toilet so Im not really sure what happened there - possibly the cleaners had missed by mistake. General cleanliness of the room was average.

Quiet and comfortable in fairness but nothing to get excited about. Not worth the price paid which did not include breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidwL5102WH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear David W,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review of our property. I am pleased to know that you found our staff to be highly commendable. I am sorry that your stay was negatively affected due to the condition of your room and the cleanliness of the bathroom. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. I have taken note of your comments and we will address these points to improve upon our service

Again, thank you and we hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back Calais.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We last stayed here in August 2011. The hotel was only average then, and unfortunately it still is, but its better than the Holiday Inn in the centre of Calais, and is conveniently located 2 minutes from an A16 exit.

IHG Rewards Club seems to be unknown here - no upgrade on check-in, and we were given a standard room on the noisy A16 side of the hotel rather than one of the quiet rooms at the front. Didn't sleep well due to party noise, but possibly not the hotel's fault.

Service in the bar and restaurant is not that proactive. Breakfast OK.

Pool not that clean; changing room lockers still broken. Good steam room / sauna.

Overall, prepare to be slightly underwhelmed and you'll avoid disappointment!

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the top floor, to the front, facing away from the motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craigvassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear craigvassie,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the common areas of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We saw the reviews and decided to use it as a stopover. BIG MISTAKE.

It was shabby on appearance, the room was old looking. The fridge was really disgusting inside really dirty, the washbasin cracked, the bath didn't drain properly. The towel bath mat was covered in mildew!

The restaurant I've reviewed separately and was awful.

We had breakfast here, the bread was very nice and fresh, the staff infinitely more polite. The cereal was either stale or cheap, shame as the breakfast was the only redeeming feature of this awful place.

I intended to tell them on check out, but they never asked about our stay, just grunted whilst taking payment.

Holiday inn is a brand that to me usually provides an assurance of quality not this place, it's a dump avoid at all costs!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank 186400Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear 186400Caroline,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calais
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#4 of 24 in Calais
495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
364 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hotel  La Matelote
Hotel La Matelote
#2 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#3 of 24 in Calais
721 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
13.8 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 5 in Wimereux
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles

Address: 2099 Avenue Charles de Gaulle, 62231, Calais, France (Formerly Hotel Copthorne Coquelles Calais)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range: £64 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Calais Coquelles is located 2 minutes from Euro Tunnel, Cite Europe Shopping centre, Eurostar station, main Motorways to European destinations and Calais harbour. Surrounded by a peaceful park with an INDOOR SWIMMING POOL, private car park, Bedrooms with air conditioning during Summer period, a fitness centre with extended facilities (Sauna, Steam Room...), meeting rooms with day light, possibility of cocktail and dinner until 350 people and just 3 minutes from the White Cliffs of Cap Blanc Nez and the sandy beaches of the Opale Coast.. !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles Hotel Calais
Calais Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing