We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Convenient and great value”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We wanted a short break. We had stayed at this hotel before and decided to stay again. Not disappointed. The hotel is very well located. Friendly, helpful, clean and fab value. The food is good and the general service is too. I am sure you will like it. The health club/pool manager has been there for 20 years and is really nice. He is chatty and friendly.
Al in all we will definately return and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    455
    165
    49
    22
See reviews for
227
421
32
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We arrived at the Holiday Inn after approximately 10 mins from the tunnel. It is easy to find on the outskirts of Coquelles and is in its own grounds with large car parks, although due to the ignorance of (mainly) British drivers who don't want to risk their Audis being damaged there are less car parking spaces because they believe they have a right to use two spaces. Service is polite. They explained that although we had booked a suite, we would instead have to have 2 interconnecting rooms, which was perfectly fine. The rooms are good sized, clean and well presented. There is a good pool, towels are free, although I am not sure if the lockers actually work as I tried several without success. The hotel is quiet, although there was a wedding on, we were not aware of any entertainment.
Breakfast is extra, it is 10 euros (plus tax). It is reasonable; there is a good continental breakfast plus bacon, sausage and beans etc.
We didn't eat in the main restaurant, so can't comment on this.
In short, a good hotel and recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
361 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Very close to tunnel but still only a 10 min drive to Calais seafront restaurants. Indoor pool, gym, steam room plus extensive grounds for dog exercising are a big plus. Rooms a little tired but perfectly adequate. Book ahead and prepay for much better rates. Very good option for overnight before trip into UK.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank paulm2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_Coquelles, Responsable commercial at Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Paul M,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor following your stay at the Holiday Inn Calais-Coquelles.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.
You can contact anytime directly our reservation service by email or by phone who will apply best rates of the moment.

We look forward to your future stay,

Best regards,

Edwige Kosmala - Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

It's difficult to add anything new to previous reviews. Perfect location for ferry or tunnel. Very comfortable, clean and relaxing stay on the last night of our holiday. Very friendly staff on reception and in the restaurant, English speaking, good parking, easy to find, free wifi, we will definitely stay here again when next in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_Coquelles, Responsable commercial at Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Catherine,

Many thanks for your delightful review about our hotel.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the reception team, the restaurant and the location.

Your acknowledgments are our best rewards so please be sure that everyday we work on a better quality of service.

We all look forward to your next stay in Coquelles,

Warm regards,

Edwige Kosmala - Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

You won't want to bring your children, judging by the number of dogs relieving themselves on the lawns outside the rooms and in the fine gardens at the front of this hotel. It's quite an insult to a hard-working staff team and particularly creative kitchen (which now rivals Cote d'Argent and other top Calais places). Why would any hotel in this bracket make such a crass error for the sake of a minority of dog owners...? Still, it made for entertainment as a smart Saturday wedding party discovered unwanted extras as they strayed across the grass in their exquisite shoes and children were hurriedly retrieved.

Room Tip: Avoid 15 and surrounding rooms, which appear to be sited under a service zone that gets going at 061...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear NickUK2007,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles for one night on the return journey of our 8 week trip to Charente Maritime. This was an ideal place for us to stopover before taking the Eurotunnel shuttle back to the UK early the next morning.

The rooms are spacious and very clean and the bathrooms are much better than other places we have stayed in. We had dinner in the restaurant, had a fabulous meal and the wine prices were comparable to other restaurants we had eaten in during our trip.

We will definitely stay here again as it is so convenient for the tunnel either going to France or coming back to the UK.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gallopinggoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_Coquelles, Responsable commercial at Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Holiday Calais-Coquelles.

Your satisfaction is exactly what we are searching for, therefore your compliments are a great reward for us.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Edwige Kosmala
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The great benefit here, as other reviewers have commented, is its location. You can be checked in within ten minutes of driving off the EuroTunnel shuttle, or perhaps fifteen from leaving the ferry port. The downside is that almost everyone else seems to be staying the one night on their way to or from a ferry crossing so the place has something of the transit lounge about it. That is perhaps a bit ungracious as the staff are welcoming and helpful, the rooms are of an adequate size if not spacious, the shower works and the place is clean. The complimentary buffet breakfast is plentiful and of average quality. In summary, as a stop-over difficult to beat but as a base for a few days exploring the area perhaps not the first choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calais
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#3 of 24 in Calais
462 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
3.1 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#4 of 24 in Calais
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
313 reviews
2.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
3.8 mi away
Hotel l'Escale
Hotel l'Escale
#1 of 1 in Escalles
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles

Property: Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
Address: 2099 Avenue Charles de Gaulle, 62231, Calais, France (Formerly Hotel Copthorne Coquelles Calais)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Calais Coquelles is located 2 minutes from Euro Tunnel, Cite Europe Shopping centre, Eurostar station, main Motorways to European destinations and Calais harbour. Surrounded by a peaceful park with an INDOOR SWIMMING POOL, private car park, Bedrooms with air conditioning during Summer period, a fitness centre with extended facilities (Sauna, Steam Room...), meeting rooms with day light, possibility of cocktail and dinner until 350 people and just 3 minutes from the White Cliffs of Cap Blanc Nez and the sandy beaches of the Opale Coast.. !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles Hotel Calais
Calais Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing