We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good brasserie, good value, wide menu” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe de la Tour

Cafe de la Tour
Ranked #19 of 149 Restaurants in Calais
Cuisines: French, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Good brasserie, good value, wide menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Cafe de la Tour does not offer fine dining but it is an impressive Brasserie with a very wide menu and it offers good value for money.

We ate there on the evening that France played Nigeria in the World Cup - and France winning 2 - 0 set the scene for an impromptu street party in the north of Calais.

Through all this, the staff - especially the kitchen staff - kept their noses to the grindstone and served platefuls (and I mean platefuls) of piping hot food to a busy restaurant.

We were shown to and seated in the 'British Sector' which seemed to be an area towards the back where most of us spoke Franglais. That did not suit everyone and our neighbours chose to emigrate to the front of the Cafe for that authentic French experience. On another visit I think we would too, although our countrymen seemed a friendly bunch.

It was busy and they coped. The service was brisk and friendly. We had no complaints and ate for England - no light meals here. Large plates with large portions - (perhaps our reputations precede us?)

A very reasonable 'l'addition' capped off a speedy wine and beer afternoon visit to our former possession. The Cafe de la Tour has a large capacity and even though it was busy, perhaps it was only half-full. I would probably choose to eat a little further out of town during the height of the season. On our day though, it was fine and I'd give it 8 out of 10.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CurtisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    156
    41
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“treated disgracefully”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

sunday pm 29/6/14 wonderful street display throughout CALAIS bands, dancers, baton twirling, beautiful sunny day, wonderful trip to Wimereux for a long weekend ,we thought we would go to a cafe we had used at least twenty five plus times over the years.perfect also to watch the parades..then we were met with the insolence of Jonathan the waiter, it was obvious he had been scolded earlier, either by management or by a previous customer, as he was banging and crashing about the place like a spoiled child, perhaps.he was the same to french and english alike.. he was exceptionally rude to an older well dressed french couple on the table next to us.which brings me back to the actual meal.beef bourgignon and lamb chops ,with a note that the meals would take approx 25 mins to prepare..we were in no particular hurry as the spot was good to watch the entertainment .the time went on and we watched monsieur Jonathan perform his magic on others ...the wait went on and on and not once did he come back to check on us..my wife went to the counter as he had no intention of coming our way..we were told four times that the meal would be ready in two minutes..as if we were bothering them .we even ran out of drinks. the meal eventually came one hour and five minutes later..no apology at all, not even any recognition of the fact .the finished product was standard, the wait i think, had spoiled the whole experience for us..Calais has improved over the years.GREATLY.But we will not be stopping off on the way back from now on . as there are numerous places on the way into town..the better restaurants are brilliant..by the way. but the two main cafes next to each other at the square have simply lost the plot..i think that they rely on their position and ease of access to keep customers coming back ..probably OK for quick drink or two and a snack, but not for any dining experience at all ...I have not enjoyed writing this review, as we are an easy going couple.and love Calais very much.we stay at least four times a year in and near to it .but this was one shabby experience too far ... even in a burger bar in England we would have got an apology or the meal subsidized in some way. cafe d la tour..you've had your chips..

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank roberolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant, never been disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was a good little find for us, and we keep going back every time we find ourselves in Calais.
They make the loveliest chips ( nothing like the awful frozen type). The portions are quite big ( good if you have a large appetite, and very good value).
The service has always been very quick and effecient and very friendly.
Perhaps the wine could be a little better quality, but generally we are happy to continue going there to eat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank clientfromhell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Poor experience but service OK & food nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We arrived at 8.30pm hoping for a couple of hours of grazing but were chucked out at 10pm when they closed.

Leaving at 10pm wouldn't have been a problem, except that about 9.30pm we ordered another pichet of wine & a plate of cheese - would have been nice if the waiter had told us at that point that we only had 20 mins to eat and drink it. If he had, we wouldn't have ordered and therefore been in a position to happily leave them to close up for the night. We weren't even allowed to finish it all outside at the tables, they wanted us off the premises completely. Plus the 'chucking out ceremony' by the boss was not even an apologetic one, he was rude and made it out to be our fault for ordering / taking so long to eat.

Apart from that, the service from the waiters was friendly enough. The food was ordinary. Needless to say I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cvinsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great Calamari and beer , drop of wine what more can you want, try this cafe youll love it, as we did

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank deev123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe de la Tour also viewed

Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Cafe de la Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing