We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cottage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cottage Hotel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Calais
monmouthshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We returned to the Cottage after about 18 months, and whereas nothing had changed, the accommodation is still clean, and reasonably quiet, with rooms particularly small, the staff attentive.
The greatest change has been with the dinning arrangements.
Dinner was always served with a salad buffet starter, a main course chosen from the menu, and a buffet style dessert. It was always excellent value.
Now it has changed to a conventional menu routine, with it, appears less options, and more expensive.
It is reasonable value, easy to find, with secure parking

Room Tip: NO where to walk in the evening due to its location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clementMonmouthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    134
    72
    20
    7
See reviews for
50
142
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mitcham, surrey
Level Contributor
166 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in August 2013 while visiting some markets in Northern France. We wanted something cheap, clean and straightforward for this very short break. That is exactly what we got! It is a 10 minute drive from Eurotunnel - 20 minutes from the Car Ferry (?) It is one on of the main roads into Calais Centre (opposite the old abattoir - now an Arts venue). It is easy to find and has plenty of free parking out front. It is on two floors with about 20 rooms on each floor off of a quite gloomy central corridor. The rooms are compact as is the bathroom but it is clean, has a kettle, free Wifi and a couple of packets of biscuits and some sweets to cheer one up. No frills but spare pillows and some toiletries. There is a quaint step-in shower with plenty of hot water. Breakfast is as comprehensive as one would expect and at about the going rate of 9 Euros each. Throughout our stay there were a fair number of other guests, mainly from the UK, but we were never aware of noise from other rooms. All in all an OK stay at a really competative price and no surprises. Pretty it ain't but great value for money.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are less secure than those on the first floor - although windows are fitted with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekPMitcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is a good place to stay if you want a convenient place close to the ferry terminal. The rooms are small but clean, a little noisy thanks to some inconsiderate guest congregating in the hallway very early in the morning (who were Brits unfortunately). We would use it again though if we did a similar trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfiedog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Our granda needed a room due to unforseen circumstance, great welcome, great staff, late arrival, late bar no problem, which was a relief, granda was very pleased with the hotel, thank you to all for taking care of him

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samtranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Ugghh, I did not like the hotel this time around. Last year we stayed here prior to catching the ferry from Calais. The public areas are very nice and bright, and the bar and restaurant look attractive. The hotel staff are very friendly and efficient. However, the positive comments stop here.

I rebooked this hotel in order to enjoy again the buffet salad bar and deserts along with a good evening meal. Big disappointment. The buffet had disappeared and in its place a boring and limited menu. We ordered anyway as we were on our way home and did not want to go out from the hotel.

We both had chicken with a chicory sauce. We were served something that looked and tasted like yesterday's roast chicken slices with a plain gavy mix. The chips were crisp and good, but our salad was soggy and boring. Not French food at all.

The room was the same as the previous year, but grubby. The dressing table chair was filthy. The bathroom was in need of a good clean, and the shower curtain was disgusting. The linen was white and fresh.

I will not stop there again.

Room Tip: If all rooms are like the one we had, you won't find a clean one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaFrancesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calais hotels

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

if you want a basic, clean and friendly room for the night then you could do a lot worse than stay here. The rooms are small but ok with a ketttle, hair dryer etc. The bar and restaurant are both ok and the staff are very friendly. Plenty of parking and really close to the channel tunnel/ferry links. Rooms facing the road can be a bit noisy but for the price this is just fine, would use again.

Room Tip: Go for the odd numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almoradi, Spain
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

good location comfortable rooms, meal not bad, service good, would recommend for stopover
very near to ferry terminal, clean and friendly, easy to find, accepts pets stayed here on the way to dover, very good price, compared to others comes recommended, would definitely stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank residentAlmoradi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calais hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
1.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre St Pierre
1.1 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#4 of 23 in Calais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#3 of 23 in Calais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Calais
Ibis Calais
#5 of 23 in Calais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Hotel

Property: Cottage Hotel
Address: 648 rue de Tunis, 62100, Calais, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Hotel Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing