We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Clean, has everything you need.”
Review of Cottage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cottage Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is our first review on having stayed somewhere, we felt it was important to ffedback to fellow travellers!

This was a superb little hotel just 5 minutes away from the Eurotunnel.

We arrived the night before our actual booking with the hotel. So my fiance and I strolled into the hotel on the off chance they might have a spare room. Luckily they did, not only did they hand us the keys straight away, they gave us the same rate as our booking for the following night (52 euro) rather than the 89 euro walk in price. We thought this was very kind and were impressed.

Room has everything you need, bed wardrobe, dresser, kettle, teas, flatscreen telly, decent bathroom and very clean.

The only down side was the wifi - only seemed to work on our devices when we were in the lobby. Not a big enough issue for us to not stay there again.

The staff were polite, efficient, friendly and helpful in recommending places to visit.

Food was good enough, nothing superb but what do you expect when staying in a £40 per night hotel?!

For the price, it was really great. We will stay there again at Christmas. 10 mins from the beach and Calais village, 1 hour from Bruge, 2.5 hours from Paris, and 5 minutes to Cite Europe etc.

Great location, great price!

Nia

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NiaCollymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

this is clearly a hotel catering for people in transit to or from the channel tunnel so don't expect bells and whistles. the wifi worked perfectly. it is all a bit impersonal but the staff are friendly enough. plenty of parking spaces. the hotel is not easy to find, st the very beginning of tunis street, and not in the sat nav map. good enough for 1 night

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank jmt12london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Easy to find
Paid €66 for twin for one night
room had twin beds, ensuite shower. Also had Kettle and TV, wifi was a bit iffy. Lots of TV channels including English.
Ate in the restaurant, it was nice, could have done with a bit more choice but it was fine.
Did not have breakfast
Staff friendly and helpful
Would stay again

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellerIndependent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a clean but somewhat tired Hotel close to the Ferry and Euro tunnel link to the UK. The staff are very friendly and the bar is a welcome sight after a drive through Germany, Holland and Belgium to get there. The rooms are basic but comfortable and the bathrooms are functional.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at the Cottage Hotel for one night following a shopping trip. It is in a very convenient position in Calais between the Auchan Supermarket and Euro tunnel which is why we chose it. The property has a large car park and a restaurant which we booked for our evening meal.
The room although a little small (the bathroom especially) was adequate and nothing to complain about. The hotel on the whole is a little dated but comfortable. The staff generally were very friendly. The restaurant on a Saturday evening was fairly busy with a nice atmosphere. The food was nice. We had one steak and a sole. These were served only with fries. A little over priced and slow service. We would stay here again but only as a brief stopover.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are in the same area - a long corridor adjacent to car parking so none to specify a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A simple family run hotel which does everything you would expect.rooms clean but spartan,bathrooms tiny but function
The restaurant tries and sometimes is very good but often feel food a bit prue cooked,but for the price,it is great value
Not for romantics but for sheer pleasure of a comfy bed,clean up and hearty fare,you can't go wrong

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A reasonable hotel within easy reach of the tunnel and ferries and this is obviously what it is used for. Always full but I think most people only stay one night. Service is erratic we asked for a early morning call and a packed breakfast as we were getting the shuttle at an early time. Neither materialised so it was a good job we set our alarm.
The restaurant in the hotel is adequate but not a great dining experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John-Kaye5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calais hotels
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
1 mi away
Premiere Classe Calais Centre - Gare
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#5 of 24 in Calais
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Campanile Calais
Campanile Calais
#12 of 24 in Calais
272 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Calais
Ibis Calais
#4 of 24 in Calais
623 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#3 of 24 in Calais
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Hotel

Address: 648 rue de Tunis, 62100, Calais, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range: £42 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Hotel Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing