We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel balladins Calais Car Ferry
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Arrived late so used the key machine, no problems. Easy to find from ferry port, even without satnav. Room was tiny and looked dirty and outdated, hotel looks dirty and outdated. but once got in bed the sheets were clean and bed was comfy. Bathroom was tiny and shower panels were dirty, very basic. There was dirt/food in the leaflet display thing on the table.

There was noises being made like furniture moving early in the morning, and maids are up and cleaning the rooms quite early too.

Overall it was pretty horrible and grotty looking but was fine staying there for one night, would never stay any longer than that, and if I had the extra money I would pay to stay somewhere better, there is an Ibis hotel right next door.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

Basic but ok for overnight stop shower very small and bathroom in general bed ok just basic no staff there 24-7 so if u arrive late u have to get ur key from a machine but then if u need anything like extra pillows your stuffed lol

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstylouisex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

we stayed at the above hotel for two nights. We saw the room was small , but we didnt mind. The very small bathroom had a leak in the wash hand basin and the toilet was not secure to the floor which meant the toilet moved every time you sat down on it.
On the positive side we asked for more pillows and got decent pillows which pleased us. The tv is great as you have most UK freeview channels which is great as French TV isnt great.

We thought we might skip the continental breakfast as it is 6 euros but we saw the price of coffee in shops is almost 6 euros each that we decided to pay for the breakfasts as it made sense. Ok it isnt fantastic but cereal, french bread, croissants did the job.
We feel this poor hotel needs a bit of TLC as it desperately needs a repaint outside and maybe a bit more decoration to liven up the place a bit. It is situated ideally very near the port and you do not see any refugees hanging around outside the place like in other parts of the town. If you want something cheap and cheerful then this is your place. Would be nice if there was more than one member of staff on site , but there again, you cannot have everything. Room is cleaned everyday.

Room Tip: ask for room that looks over the car park so you can check your car is okay as there are no locked g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Used Balladins for an overnight stay to travel on through France. Due to a delayed ferry crossing we got there late, the overnight key machine was not working and no phone numbers posted to contact. Ended up paying another 85 Euro's to stay elsewhere. Spoke to the duty manager the next day who said that the machine was indeed broken and that I would get a refund. 4 months later still no refund. Would never use this hotel chain again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TomMar203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Now updating hotel, looking better already, they need to change policy about changing a date for your booking, had some problems but sorted in the end, they must realise they are a Ferry hotel so must cater for this. The 'Director' must upgrade the rooms to include tea/coffee facilities, the redecorated rooms are looking better already, GET RID! of those horrible light shades at the side of the bed, get with it !! go modern you are no longer in the 80's, start acting like a business who needs customers, not the other way round, we went next door to the 'Ibis' for a meal, excellent service and food was good, might stay here next time if the rates are right.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arturo1140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is a very basic B&B. Room was small with twin narrow beds. No tea/Coffee facilities and it is a long way from the town or anywhere to eat. Okay for a cheap overnight booze cruise. They do serve breakfast but we didn't try it at 8 euros each. If you use this B&B take a picnic.

Room Tip: Very basic B&B, okay for a booze cruise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel in November 2012 and November 2011. We usually do a boy's booze cruise at this time of year. We found the hotel to be perfectly fine for an overnight stop over. We stayed here so that we could extend our weekend to a night out, going for a meal and drinks in the town.

It is a bit of a walk to the town (around 2 miles) but the price reflects that. In our experience the rooms were clean, the parking was free and the reception staff pleasant enough. There was an issue last year where I was overcharged (online), but in fairness this wasn't all of hotel's fault - some of our group had changed their minds, and we had to cancel and rebook a different size room. The amount was refunded, but this has to come via their head office in Paris and took a few weeks.

I do accept that my last stay here was nearly a year ago, so perhaps it has gone down hill. I have stayed in a variety of hotels and do have standards. However, for this kind of trip, and for what we paid, we could only ask that it was clean and warm - and it was.

We didn't eat at the hotel, so cannot comment about breakfast.

We have chosen not to stay at this hotel this year, but not because of any issue's. The dynamics of the group have changed and my partner said that she'd prefer to be closed to the town centre and in somewhere a little more up market.

If I was returning with the lads, I see no reason why we wouldn't consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyM_and_IanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calais hotels
1.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
0.0 mi away
Ibis Calais
Ibis Calais
#5 of 24 in Calais
616 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#4 of 24 in Calais
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Campanile Calais
Campanile Calais
#12 of 24 in Calais
271 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premiere Classe Calais Centre - Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel balladins Calais Car Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel balladins Calais Car Ferry

Address: 126 rue Salvador Allende, 62100, Calais, France (Formerly Balladins Calais Universite)
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range: £38 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel balladins Calais Car Ferry 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Calais balladins hotel is an ideal stop on the way to England: the ferry crossing takes an hour and the Channel tunnel brings you there in 30 minutes. Its comfortable rooms are the perfect place for a pleasant, restful stop. The staff's warm, friendly welcome will help make your stay enjoyable. We have 40 rooms with all the comfort you need: TV, internet jacks, alarm clocks and extra beds if necessary. We also have a restaurant, private car park and key distributor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel balladins Calais Car Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balladins Calais
Calais Balladins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing