We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop and enjoy”
Review of Hotel Meurice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Meurice
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Stop and enjoy”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Traveled France for over 20 years always by passed Calais, DONT,
PLEASE stay at this hotel you wont be let down, right in the middle of Calais, easy to find and what a gem, our room wasn't massive but for an overnight stop what do you need, spotless clean, lashings of hot water, comfy beds, TV which came in handy for hubby's footie. Smashing nights sleep and a breakfast second to none, with plump dried fruits, nuts cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, cooked breakfast, hams cheeses, pastry's, fresh squeezed juice. The list could go on. The staff are fab, and the bar is very comfy, and very reasonable. I will stay again as a short walk to loads of places to find a good meal, Calais is really lovely so take a look
Extra bonus water machines on corridor

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deev123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    319
    94
    40
    21
See reviews for
129
393
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Devon
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were recommended to this hotel as our first choice was full - and we were pleased it was.
We arrived to request a room and Natalie was the receptionist. You could not wish for a more helpful person and she had only been there a few weeks. They welcomed our dog who was travelling with us from the U.K. Our room was large and very clean. Bed very comfortable. If I had one minus it would be the hairdryer in the bathroom. It was one of the first old style hairdryers in hotel bathrooms and was very slow and very ancient. Apart from that everything excellent. It is a very old hotel and you did expect Poirot to come walking down the stairs. If they had told me there was a ghost in the hotel, I would definitely have believed them!! It is a very short walk to bars and restaurants although their bar at the end of the evening, with Natalie serving the drinks as well, was very welcome with some good wines and lagers. Would definitely stay there again when we are in Calais next. The rate was very good and although breakfast is included, we did not have it so cannot comment on food.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for the better rooms which are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiniMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here fo one night only, but it was most enjoyable. The hotel is in our opinion ideally located for exploring Calais, approx 15 mins walk from the Port, and less than 10 mins from the train station. The staff do their job very well and nothing is too much trouble.

The breakfast, in the breakfast room is brilliant, plenty of options, freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee on demand, choices of breads, cheeses and cooked meats, there is also bacon, sausages, scrambled egg and tomatoes, fresh fruit salad and cereals.

Very quiet location, a beautiful park to walk through 2 mins from the hotel door.

A thorough and unhurried relaxing atmosphere.

We shall be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel_and_Paul_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Not a very impressive hotel from outside, but very clean and comfortable and holds a wealth of interesting furniture, paintings etc. Staff are welcoming and polite. Breakfast buffet, including hot food, was great and we were not rushed in any way. No restaurant in the hotel, but this did not make a difference to our stay as it is so centrally situated and we had the choice of numerous restaurants nearby. A comfortable bar area in the hotel made it a good place for a 'nightcap'.

No problem parking either in this locality. Would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I chose this hotel because of the picture of the amazing staircase, it didn't let me down. It is very old fashioned but that added to the stay and the staff were all very friendly even the resident dog made am appearance. The room was very spacious and the shower was hot and powerful. Beds were very comfy. The hotel is situated very close to the centre which is full of lovely cafe and bar!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Euro tunnel trip planned so last minute decision to stay over, picked this hotel because we didn't want , Modern tower block with no character. This hotel fitted the bill. In a quiet residential area with a wealth of cafés , fine dining or just a snack. 10 minutes walk to the beach and a few minute from the square where there is a market some days apart from that for car parking.
The hotel was clean and furnished in shabby chic and typical French white furniture.
The bed was so comfortable I had a great night's sleep.
No view from the window but you cannot have everything.
Breakfast was plentiful and no one is rushing you.
If you are thinking of having a day trip , think again, one night stay costs the same as same day. This way you get to relax and enjoy plus shopping if you want that to.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

we stayed in this hotel in february although i am only writing this review now.
It was a great stay and I took my mum here for her birthday which she thoroughly enjoyed. Breakfast was extensive and they had a great range. Staff are friendly. Great interior. Very quiet! we felt like we were the only ones there. 10 minutes walking distance from the beach. Close to restaurants and city centre.
We arrived by eurostar at Calais Frethun which costs around 25euros for a cab/taxi. If you can, it will will be best to arrive at Gare Calais-Ville station or by ferry- which is 5 minutes walk away.
Also avoid going to Calais on a Sunday as all the shops were closed and there wasn't much to do.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tolsfash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calais hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#2 of 24 in Calais
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ibis Calais
Ibis Calais
#5 of 24 in Calais
601 reviews
1.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
1.1 mi away
Cottage Hotel
Cottage Hotel
#7 of 24 in Calais
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meurice

Property: Hotel Meurice
Address: 5 rue Edmond Roche, 62100, Calais, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meurice 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meurice hotel, the first one of the name, is situated right in the heart of the city of Calais, in the middle of his animations, bars and numerous restaurants. Every room is provided with a classic, sophisticated decoration and personalized in whom were able to stay numerous personalities such as Charles de Gaulle, Antoine de Saint-Exupéry or Sydney Bechet. Meurice de Calais is close at the same time to the station and in 5 min of the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Meurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meurice Hotel Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing