We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky hotel with excellent breakfast close to ferry port.”
Review of Hotel Meurice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Meurice
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Quirky hotel with excellent breakfast close to ferry port.”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel for 1 night stop over based on previous reviews. What a wonderful discovery! Quirky furniture and grand staircase feature in this hotel, which from the outside looks quite austere. Reception staff spoke very good English and were pleasant. Our room had lovely comfy bed with separate bathroom and toilet. French style furniture and tea making facilities. Breakfast superb- excellent choice to suit all tastes. This hotel certainly has a charm which you to experience for yourself. Good value and would definitely use again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 52Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    309
    91
    35
    18
See reviews for
120
379
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coulsdon. Surrey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just got back from a weekend in Nord pas de Calais and stayed once again at the Hotel Meurice. As usual a great room, comfy bed, friendly service, good breakfast, great location.
Don't be put off by the outside look of the hotel, inside it's all faded elegance, which I think is the style they were going for. The Restaurant attached to the hotel is 'La Diligence' which is being renovated but a new Chef starts beginning of July, could be worth a try.

Room Tip: The Hotel offers British guests option to pay in Sterling (GBP). Well worth doing, you often get an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cymag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Ideal location near centre of town - good for restaurants and bars. Had a nice room and really comfortable bed. Receptionist friendly and helpful on arrival but after that...what happened to the importance of customer service? This place has lost its way. Breakfast in a room far too small for the number of people made worse by sour unfriendly service. This followed by a check out that so lacked any sense of the value of customer relations that they might just as well not have bothered. Sorry but poor service does have an impact

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lauren1ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Traveled France for over 20 years always by passed Calais, DONT,
PLEASE stay at this hotel you wont be let down, right in the middle of Calais, easy to find and what a gem, our room wasn't massive but for an overnight stop what do you need, spotless clean, lashings of hot water, comfy beds, TV which came in handy for hubby's footie. Smashing nights sleep and a breakfast second to none, with plump dried fruits, nuts cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, cooked breakfast, hams cheeses, pastry's, fresh squeezed juice. The list could go on. The staff are fab, and the bar is very comfy, and very reasonable. I will stay again as a short walk to loads of places to find a good meal, Calais is really lovely so take a look
Extra bonus water machines on corridor

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deev123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Devon
Level Contributor
118 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were recommended to this hotel as our first choice was full - and we were pleased it was.
We arrived to request a room and Natalie was the receptionist. You could not wish for a more helpful person and she had only been there a few weeks. They welcomed our dog who was travelling with us from the U.K. Our room was large and very clean. Bed very comfortable. If I had one minus it would be the hairdryer in the bathroom. It was one of the first old style hairdryers in hotel bathrooms and was very slow and very ancient. Apart from that everything excellent. It is a very old hotel and you did expect Poirot to come walking down the stairs. If they had told me there was a ghost in the hotel, I would definitely have believed them!! It is a very short walk to bars and restaurants although their bar at the end of the evening, with Natalie serving the drinks as well, was very welcome with some good wines and lagers. Would definitely stay there again when we are in Calais next. The rate was very good and although breakfast is included, we did not have it so cannot comment on food.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for the better rooms which are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiniMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here fo one night only, but it was most enjoyable. The hotel is in our opinion ideally located for exploring Calais, approx 15 mins walk from the Port, and less than 10 mins from the train station. The staff do their job very well and nothing is too much trouble.

The breakfast, in the breakfast room is brilliant, plenty of options, freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee on demand, choices of breads, cheeses and cooked meats, there is also bacon, sausages, scrambled egg and tomatoes, fresh fruit salad and cereals.

Very quiet location, a beautiful park to walk through 2 mins from the hotel door.

A thorough and unhurried relaxing atmosphere.

We shall be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel_and_Paul_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Not a very impressive hotel from outside, but very clean and comfortable and holds a wealth of interesting furniture, paintings etc. Staff are welcoming and polite. Breakfast buffet, including hot food, was great and we were not rushed in any way. No restaurant in the hotel, but this did not make a difference to our stay as it is so centrally situated and we had the choice of numerous restaurants nearby. A comfortable bar area in the hotel made it a good place for a 'nightcap'.

No problem parking either in this locality. Would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calais
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#4 of 24 in Calais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre St Pierre
1.4 mi away
Ibis Calais
Ibis Calais
#5 of 24 in Calais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
3.1 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meurice

Property: Hotel Meurice
Address: 5 rue Edmond Roche, 62100, Calais, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meurice 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meurice hotel, the first one of the name, is situated right in the heart of the city of Calais, in the middle of his animations, bars and numerous restaurants. Every room is provided with a classic, sophisticated decoration and personalized in whom were able to stay numerous personalities such as Charles de Gaulle, Antoine de Saint-Exupéry or Sydney Bechet. Meurice de Calais is close at the same time to the station and in 5 min of the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Meurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meurice Hotel Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing