We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay as usual !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Residence du Golf
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Calais
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay as usual !”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We've been already 3th time in this hotel and every time was ok ! It is cheap 2 star hotel, but it offers a quality of some 4 stars hotels. Very nice stuff, clean rooms and always fresh bedding ! The only negatives are: NO English TV channels and poor internet speed. The Hotel Restaurant offers great food too ! Hotel location bit out of the city. Very good for short stays in Calais.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Agnieszka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    80
    73
    38
    40
See reviews for
108
72
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We decided last minute to go and we found a good deal on the internet: 75 euro for the family room, breakfast for 4 included.
The hotel looks a little bit tired on the outside, but inside they have renovated a bit (espacially the staircade). The room was on the small side (but not too small), seperata toilet, bunk beds for the kids. There was a little kitchen unit but no pots, pans, plates, glasses.... but I guess the fridge could be easy if you're staying a bit longer. One of the cabinet doors in the kitchen was broken. Breakfast was ok.

Location: good. If you're arriving with the ferry from England and you're arriving at night, then this is a good choice. You can see the ferries from outside the hotel. It's also on the coast road to the both Caps.
In summer location is perfect to go to the beach: the hotel is at the beachfront. A big playground is just two minutes away and there's a miniature golf course almost next to the hotel . I would have wished there were more restaurants in the surroundings but there was one next door which was alright.

Conclusion: simple but decent hotel with a good location. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GKCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed overnight on New Year's day with our 2 little ones. The room was nice, containing a kitchenette, fridge, TV and dining area, which however narrowed the space for manoeuvre somewhat. There were also tea/coffee making facilities. There was a single bed as you went in, which was quite wide. Other rooms had a bunk bed. You can also request a cot. The room was clean. The hotel overlooks a beach and is in a quiet area several miles from the shopping complex and ferry terminal. Wifi is free. There is plenty of parking within the premises (but you are not locked in). We had to get the keys from the hotel right next door as we got there after 10 pm. The staff were lovely, if a little overstretched for breakfast, which was french (obviously- I say that, but you still find grouchy Brits whining about the tea).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank studiousbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Some reviews complain about old-fashioned decor, which it is, but if it is clean - and it is - and the price is right, (which it was) - who cares? In a few areas it needs some fresh paint and some refurbishment but we were more than happy for what we paid and we'd return happily. We had a family room (215) which consisted of 2 bunk beds in its entrance area, ( a long adult would not fit comfortably) and a good-sized double bedroom. There is a refrigerator (large), electric kettle, microwave and 2 electric cooking rings. So, if you intend to cater for yourself you must take your own pans/cutlery/plates/cooking utensils etc. We like those facilities and may use them another time. The bedroom has a sink and drainer which is in addition to the bathroom washbasin etc.
4 disposable cups with coffee/tea/pretend milk/sugar were provided, as were 4 towels, 4 sachets of shampoo, and soap.
The bathroom and lavatory are separate, all hot and cold water ran efficiently, and the room heater was effective; the beds were comfortable and there were plenty of pillows. Check-out is 11 a.m., breakfast is until 10 a.m.
There are 31 rooms, a mixture of single, double & family.
The staff were all very helpful. If you arrive after 7 p.m. you may have to check-in at the next door restaurant/hotel building (very close) and you need to phone ahead if arriving after 10 p.m. Credit cards are accepted, including Amex.
Breakfast (pay extra - children under 12 free)) is buffet-style with plenty of choice and quantity, it is served on the ground floor of the hotel just to the right beyond reception as you enter the front doors. The next-door restaurant we found to be of good value, and offers plat de jour as well as a reasonably extensive menu. 4 of us ate and drank well (including 1 kid's meal) at 8.30 p.m. for 48 Euros total. It closes around 10 p.m. but some late arrivals were fitted in by accommodating staff, also the bar stays open later if customers are drinking - locals use the place, so that is a good sign.
Parking is off-road and plentiful and the location, in a quiet residential area, is just across from the sea and beach; yet, it is relatively close to the main front of Calais with its seafood restaurants etc. near the ferry terminal. You could walk that distance, but you'd need a car to get to the channel tunnel terminus (5 mins driving) or to the Auchan hipermarket (similar distance)...ask at Reception.
I'd imagine that on a hot day the beach proximity is useful, but we were there in January 2012.
There is no lift to upper floors but the stairs are wide and handrails are on both sides.
We found it quiet and comfortable, ideal for those who pay their own way and want to be a step up from F1 etc. If the price is right, we recommend it. Steve Riches, Northampton, UK.

Room Tip: If you want to see the sea, ask...only a few rooms do. On a short stopover, who cares? If you are us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveRichesRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saundersfoot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Stayed overnight on Sunday 27th November,en route to the U.K.Double access room with views over the beach.Very big room,double and single bed.Big bathroom,plenty of towels,free wi-fi,telephone and flat screen satellite t.v.Dog was welcomed and only paid 5euros for her stay.The hotel did not offer an evening meal,but the menu for the hotel next door was displayed and recommended.We enjoyed a very good meal there at very reasonable prices with excellent service.Breakfast in the hotel can not be faulted,Will certainly stay again.Hotel is wonderfully situated for access to the ferry.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed here for one night a while back when we simply need a bed for the night. We had little time in Calais and thus were either out having some food or just wandering around. This hotel is extremely basic but for the price and fantastic location, you can't really complain. Yes, it isn't an establishment you visit for a luxurious night away but if what you need is a handy hotel to lay your head, then I'd definitely recommend this. Basically, you get what you pay for and we got what we expected from what we paid!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redlady23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Stayed over for one night in a double room facing away from the sea. The room was very clean, the bedding crisp and fresh and the bed, although a little firm for my liking, quite comfortable. The bathroom was quite modern, with a very powerful shower.

In terms of location, it is just across the road from the sandy beach, and a short walk to some local eateries.

The staff was very friendly and very helpful. There is plenty of free parking all around the building.

Pros: On the beach, clean, coffee making facilities, microwave, friendly staff.
Cons: Laminate flooring probably done by a beginner, some fittings need refixing, our toilet was too high off the ground

All in all quite a good place to put your head down for the night.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geldeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calais hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel De La Plage
Hotel De La Plage
#16 of 24 in Calais
401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#3 of 24 in Calais
470 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
1.4 mi away
Cottage Hotel
Cottage Hotel
#7 of 24 in Calais
291 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#4 of 24 in Calais
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence du Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence du Golf

Property: Hotel Residence du Golf
Address: 745 Digue Gaston Berthe, 62100, Calais, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Residence du Golf 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Residence du Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence Du

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing