We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Residence du Golf
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Hotel rooms have self catering vacillities to save on costly breakfasts but the fridge can be a bit noisey. Shower not very good, bed very hard, pillows limp & lifeless. The room was waiting for a refit, the carpet tiles kept moving & were a bit dated. Good location on sea front with good restaurant next door at sister hotel, open 7 days a week. Would imagine very busy during French holidays when the price is high.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are more expensive for views of the channel ferries every 15 mins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Parking is on site.
Reception is in the adjacent hotel but there is someone in this hotel for check-out in the mornings. All the staff were helpful and friendly.
The rooms are basic but comfortable and we slept well.
The hotel next door has a restaurant serving until 22:00; we did not use this so can't comment on it.
Breakfast was plentiful and varied; more continental than French which gave more variety.
Calais Beach is the other side of the road and is a really nice beach!! Worth a walk.

We would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

night time on spec enquiry for staying overnight , reception very friendly, arranged the payment and we were in the room within ten mins
accepts dogs
room very clean and welcoming with more facilities than we had imagined
would stay again now we know its there
breakfast simple but clean and with a good variety of foods
breakfast room layout a little cramped.. rearraging the seating would be a good idea.
overall very happy

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salw70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We use this hotel pretty often when we are travelling back to the UK. It has good sized rooms (with tea and coffee-making facilities, fridge, microwave - like a mini apartment) It is clean and comfortable and absolutely right on the beach (15 yards away) You can watch the cross-channel ferries beetling back and forth, back and forth endlessly (if you want!) English Tv channels and free wifi. We were on the ground floor this visit in room 105, which I would prefer not to have again, as it is very echoey in the uncarpeted main entrance, and all sounds out there do echo and carry to the ground floor rooms. having said that we will definitely book again for future trips as it is next door to an excellent restaurant and literally 6 minutes to the ferry port - great to walk along the beach and blow the cobwebs away after a 6 hour drive through France too. I always book through booking.com, and this time the room was €55, plus €7.50 each for breakfast - plentiful and fresh continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms if noise disturbs you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebraKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This Hotel is good as an overnight stop before catching the ferry. No reception (this is in the Hotel next door) and no service. The rooms are clean but dated, could do with renovation. Close to the seafront and if you are lucky (as we were) you will be treated to an amazing sunset. I would stay here again when next traveling to the UK.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We have stayed at this Hotel several times now and once again it was a good experience. The location, being right next to the beach is excellent. With easy connections to Le Shuttle & ferries and road connections make this hotel an excellent choice for a break.

Room Tip: A sea view room improves the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanTizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We needed a break in the Easter holiday, so used Tesco vouchers for Le Shuttle & planned a little trip to Calais. This hotel was fab. We had seen that we needed to pick up keys from next door, and there are plenty of signs to let people know this. It is budget, and perhaps parts or our room were a little drab, but it was perfectly clean and just right for two adults & two teenagers. We had a room with a sea view, and fridge, hob & great shower. It is a moment from the beach, unlike any other hotels nearby, and we enjoyed fantastic walks on the beach. The restaurant next door is owned by the same family and was great for fussy teenagers and ourselves wanting the usual French menu. Note of caution.......great crazy golf course next door, but not open on Sundays, we will have to happily return to make this up to our kids!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calais hotels
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#4 of 24 in Calais
495 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#3 of 24 in Calais
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel De La Plage
Hotel De La Plage
#16 of 24 in Calais
412 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
2 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence du Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence du Golf

Address: 745 Digue Gaston Berthe, 62100, Calais, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Calais
Price Range: £35 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Residence du Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence Du

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing