We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for an overnight stay”
Review of Hotel De La Plage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel De La Plage
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Reviewed 18 July 2012

The location is good in a quiet part of Calais near the beach. There is a good private car park, which is an asset in Calais. The rooms are clean and reasonably furnished, with functional, if not very modern, bathrooms . On this visit the free Wi-Fi worked, this has not always been the case on previous visits. The ground floor rooms do not have windows, but a door that opens on to the car park. If you like to have fresh air in your room this not ideal, ask for one of the upper rooms.

This is not the cheapest of it type in Calais, but all in all an OK overnight stop. To get the best rate book on-line.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed at this sea front Hotel for 1 night, as part of our recent shopping trip, having previously stayed once before when under Kyriad management. Our room was clean and simply furnished, the bed comfortable, shower room aging but adequate. There were in room tea making facilities. The outlook (looking east) toward the port/beach from our room very pleasant, with a nice view of the sunrise. Booking by telephone, check in and out were efficiently handled. Parking is within the Hotel grounds. Room cost was E68 including E3 Friday night supplement. Buffet breakfast is available and looked OK but at E7.5 we decided to give it a miss. It is quite easy to get to, from either the Eurotunnel/ferry terminals and the hotel is within walking distance of several restaurants (and also has a restaurant itself (separate review).

Room Tip: A room on the first floor facing east, towards the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikefromSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Pat465
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We've used this hotel many times before when it was the Kyriad Plage and is now under new management and it's as good now as it was then. Restaurant/bar area has been refurbished and is now a lot brighter. The staff were familiar and welcoming and the food was as good as always and the bar has a better range of good belgium/french beers. The rooms are clean and comfortable with the required tea/coffee and kettle supplied. The hotel is right on the beach which is ideal for the kids as there are good play areas along the front. Also an easy walk into Calais where there are a good range of shops and restaurants. This hotel is ideal for a short break or just a night stop.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the staircase on the first floor can be a bit noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squiffy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Very nice, friendly, informative staff who deliver excellent service in a very comfortable setting, with excellent food and hospitality. Rooms comfortable with tea and coffee, bathroom toiletries provided with towels. All rooms sufficient for a stop over or few days sight-seeing, clean and well presented. Plenty of parking around the hotel where you could park your car and be able to see it, in most cases.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie_deb_Coventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We've used this hotel in Calais twice and will certainly do so again. It's a two-star budget hotel, unpretentious, but excellent value for a no-frills stay, and you can't get nearer to the beach anywhere in the Pas-de-Calais.

Rooms are quite small and the windows are also small, so the room is a bit gloomy, but clean and well-maintained with laminate floors and bright decor. The bathroom is functional with hot water at good pressure, an over-bath shower and complimentary toiletries. Plenty of nice white towels and crisp white sheets on the beds. No bidet.

The hotel supplies complimentary tea and coffee in the room and an electric kettle. There's a flat-screen TV with 8-10 French channels and two UK channels.

We had no noise problems, house-keeping was efficient and unobtrusive, and reception was courteous and unfussy. There's plenty of free off-street parking adjacent to the hotel.

We didn't use the restaurant but it was well-frequented and the menu seemed very reasonably priced. There's an outdoor terrace for fine-weather dining.

We think this is nice hotel, very French and excellent value for a short stay, and for exploring the region. The A16 autoroute is close at hand, a ten minute drive via Bleriot-Plage to Cite d'Europe and the channel tunnel.

We recommend it strongly.

Room Tip: There isn't a lift to the first floor, so some might choose the ground floor to avoid the short...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pgoble6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Three or four minutes from ferry.Beds comfortable, Bathroom clean. Even had kettle etc etc.If you want to make a late crossing and an early start this is perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calais hotels
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
0.0 mi away
Hotel Residence du Golf
Hotel Residence du Golf
#19 of 24 in Calais
259 reviews
173.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#4 of 24 in Calais
488 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#3 of 24 in Calais
715 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cottage Hotel
Cottage Hotel
#7 of 24 in Calais
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Plage

Address: 693 Digue Gaston Berthe, 62100, Calais, France (Formerly Kyriad Hotel Calais Plage)
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range: £43 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel De La Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyriad Hotel Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing