We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Stopover ”
Review of Hotel De La Plage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel De La Plage
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Convenient Stopover ”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

With being only 10-15 minutes from the Tunnel is really helpful. Didn't use the cafe, so can only comment on the comfy rooms. Only one small idea - we had 2 rooms and in the triple the third single has no reading light, which would better so not to disturb the kids.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DaveNunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    133
    121
    51
    47
See reviews for
75
193
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night upon our return from our European tour early this month; we were able to park both motorcycles easily and it felt like they would be safe.

Friendly check in and able to book breakfast. We chose not to eat here (looked good mind) but found it a pleasant enough walk back to the market square for a few beers and food.

Room was simple but well appointed with the unexpected extra of tea/coffee making facilities and also importantly for two very achy bikers a bath!

Breakfast was good and lots of choice. Will definitely use this hotel again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
113 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

To be honest I wasn't expecting much as on paper it seemed like a stopover hotel for people using the ferry. Upon arrival it didn't look like much either, but its location was quite good: almost on the beach (as the name suggests) with nice views across the sea.
Staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was clean and tidy. What else do you need? Good value for money. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voelser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This was our first time doing the tunnel to Calais, found this hotel on late rooms and for £47 we didn't expect much....and didn't care because how much time will you spend in your room anyway? The first receptionist was a but arrogant and rude and told me and my mum we were having a large bed to share when I ordered a twin room!!! I didn't argue because he was very rude.

However the room was pleasant and clean with a door directly into my car (21). We dumped our stuff and went out. Came back later to get changed and sat in the bar for the evening. Didn't eat but the food looked scrumptious and we were sorry we'd eaten elsewhere while out. The service wasn't amazing but they were very busy and friendly. Went to the room literally to sleep.

The walls are thin and we could hear everything a lot if the night but tough! There is no shower curtain but that didn't really bother us there is a door after all! The breakfast was good and well worth the €7.50. Check out was painless and we'd definitely use the hotel again. People complaining about aspects of this hotel need to remember its a budget hotel, you get what you pay for. If you'd payed upwards of €70 then complain but for €55 it was a gem. I don't go away to sit in my room. It's the place I lay my head!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank venusbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We've stayed here a few times, it's reasonable value and very handy for ferry crossings from Calais and Zeebrugge. Nice position on the promenade. The restaurant compares favourably with others in this region( there isn't much competition.) I guess the best you can say is that it's OK, Prices vary considerably depending on what time of year you travel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and always find it worthwhile.
Located on the beachfront, very close to the ferryport, it is great for an overnight stay or for a few days on the French coast.
Our room (number 18) this time was on the ground-floor and had been recently redecorated. It was clean and comfortable but a little small. It has parking immediately outside the room which is very useful.
Breakfast was good - buffet-style with a good choice of cereals, fruit, cheeses, ham, jams,yoghourts, etc.
Staff were friendly and spoke good English

Room Tip: A ground floor room with parking immediately outside your room is very useful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silversurfer6550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for somewhere close by the Eurotunnel or Calais Ferry port, the Hotel de la Plage should fit the bill for an inexpensive stop-over. For a start it is well located at Bleriot Plage so you can have a pleasant/ bracing stroll by the beach to blow away the cobwebs. The rooms have been recently decorated in vibrant colours and have all the usual facilities including teamaking and free wifi access. The beds are comfortable and for a few euros extra you get sea views. This is by no means luxury accommodation but it is clean and fit for purpose. The added bonus of a good restaurant on site and vfm breakfast, pleasant staff, free parking all add up to my recommendation. I should add that we have stayed here on average ten times a year for several years and although we try other places at regular intervals we tend to return to the Plage.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CaroleinStaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calais hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#4 of 24 in Calais
680 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Residence du Golf
Hotel Residence du Golf
#20 of 24 in Calais
245 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#3 of 24 in Calais
460 reviews
2.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Plage

Property: Hotel De La Plage
Address: 693 Digue Gaston Berthe, 62100, Calais, France (Formerly Kyriad Hotel Calais Plage)
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De La Plage 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel De La Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyriad Hotel Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing