We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal stop over”
Review of Metropol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metropol Hotel
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Calais
charlbury
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal stop over”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed here on our way to and from holiday - a great place to break a journey and one of the few with a 24 hour concierge so we could check in at mid-night when our ferry docked. Staff very friendly, all speak English if your French is a but rusty. Secure parking is a real bonus.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayeLeggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    44
    21
    6
    9
See reviews for
21
36
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holt, Norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I have stayed here many times over 15 or more years. It is very convenient and the owners are very helpful. It has a garage which is great and saves unloading at night. Rooms are basic and not big but very clean and comfortable and there is always a good breakfast. Some may call it old fashioned, but I call it classic. It is an old style building with a great location and five minutes walk to restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fotofinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandy
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

the hotel seemed fine when we arrived, reception and bar nice staff efficient.
but when we went up to our room we where disappointed very tired looking and old fashioned and basic.
would not stay there again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandysandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I found the Metropol, convenient, pleasant, comfortable.
Convenient for Calais centre with a short walk, not in the main centre so nice and quiet, large carpark out the front so no parking issues, secure parking available at an extra charge if you require it (we didn't)
Everyone we dealt with at the hotel for our overnight stay was pleasant and helpful, we didn't do breakfast so can't comment on the quality of food or service in the restaurant.
The beds and bedrooms were basic but comfortable, bathrooms were ok if a bit dated with hand held showers, powerful but without a fixture so you couldn't stand under it, and the lack of coffee making facilities was a little annoying, but the whisky selection in the bar was fantastic if a bit pricey.
All-in-all as an overnight stay or maybe for a couple of days you couldn't really complain.
I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gatorloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I first stayed in this hotel 6 years ago when I was touring around France, at that time it was the first hotel that I called that day with a suitable room in a convenient area.

So when I was in the area again last year I went back, its been polished up a bit - some may say its lost wee bit of charcter and I noticed another reviewer saying they expected someone from allo allo to appear - you should have went a few years back !

Seriously though this hotel is great value and in a perfect position and I have met lots of people that use this place every year, almost all the staff are multi lingual although they do like guests to try and speak a little bit of francais. Safe especially if you are on route somewhere with a car load of things as they have their own garage, small daily charge around 10 or 11 euros per day to leave your car in this and gives good peace of mind.

Rooms are not terribly modern but they are clean, comfortable and have everything that you will need, a variety of options as well from single through to various family rooms. Food was good and snacks and drinks available all day - I have noticed as well that some UK based tour companies appear to use this place so do not be surprised to see crowds of Brits at the bar and then dissapearing first thing in the morning.

Location wise its handy for shopping in Calais, not far from the City Hall and also the local train station, some nice walks along the rivers and a short walk from the harbour area or resistance square - A few minutes in a taxi from ferry terminal and short drive to most of huge shopping malls or smaller hypermarkets.

Room Tip: Never had a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bordon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We have been staying here 2/3 times a year for over 5 years and have never had cause to complain.The rooms and bathrooms have been comfortable and clean.The staff have been friendly helpful and competant.We do not understand some of the other reviewers comments about the breakfast provided - it has always been a typical comprehensive continental buffet
but an english style (bacon and eggs) will be provided as well if required. I suspect you wont get baked beans and black pudding but who on earth expects such things in foreign country?

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEGBordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calais hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#4 of 24 in Calais
700 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#2 of 24 in Calais
477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
0.9 mi away
Cottage Hotel
Cottage Hotel
#7 of 24 in Calais
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropol Hotel

Property: Metropol Hotel
Address: 45 quai du Rhin, 62100, Calais, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Metropol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropol Hotel Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing