We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient location for the Eurotunnel”
Review of Metropol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metropol Hotel
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Powys, Wales
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very convenient location for the Eurotunnel”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Staff and owner extremely helpful and friendly. Room and bathroom were very small but clean and tidy, we had a good nights sleep with no disturbances. Breakfast was fine with a good selection. We parked our car outside the hotel and did not have any problems. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance to the hotel. It takes about five minutes to get to the Eurotunnel and we found the location convenient.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCPowys_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    44
    21
    6
    9
See reviews for
21
36
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Just come back from spending 3 nights at this hotel. Room comfortable and clean with linen changed daily. Staff friendly and helpful even apologising for a bit of refurbishment. Despite previous reviews we were not disturbed by any noise at all.
Was able to park outside the hotel so didn't need to use paid parking but useful after a day of shopping for return. Thoroughly recommend

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor but unable to comment on anywhere else within hotel as only stayed a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

A cheap stop-over but the rooms are not very big and are a bit tired. The bar area was nice and the owner very helpful. The curtains didn't fit over the windows properly and we were woken early by the tannoy announcements from the very nearby railway station. It's ok for one night before an early ferry but I woud not stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelsmithHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I had a chance to sleep in this hotel twice. To be honest I was expecting more for over 100E. Garage should be in price. Rooms are very small. Even Superior room small as well.. If you compare 3stars hotel in France and in Germany there is huge difference.

Room Tip: There's not big difference between superior and normal room. Better to choose standard one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SebPl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed here for one night as Calais train station was closed and we couldn't continue our journey till the following morning.

The good points first;
1. Friendly staff (both receptionist and barman with great sense of humour)
2. Suprisingly, our room was very clean
3. Adjacent to the train station

Now the bad;
1. Surrounding area is a bit desolate, and no amenities nearby
2. The whole establishment is in urgent need of modernisation (see photos)
3. Prices at the bar are very high

Room Tip: Avoid room with TV in the ceiling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HandI_SouthCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calais hotels

Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

What a luck to find 24hr before going a room accepting 2 adults and 2 kids and a room with space not a room with extra bed.
We got the suite Opale for £153 on a Saturday evening.
Staff friendly, breakfast with some choice, very happy overall

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed at the Metropol hotel for one night as a stop-over before taking the Eurotunnel train to England early the next day. For this purpose, the Metropol is in an excellent location, only a few minutes drive from the Eurotunnel terminal. This is the main reason we chose to stay here. Like some other reviewers, we found the hotel to be dated and just a bit shabby, but it was also comfortable and clean. The public areas, including the breakfast room, were quite charming with their dark wood panelling and old-fashioned windows. The staff were genuinely very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was hot and cooked to order - what a rarity! If you don't mind staying in a hotel that probably has seen better days but still retains some characterful old-world charm and you need to be close to cross-channel transportation, we recommend the Metropol. If you are hard to please or prefer generic chrome, glass and a modern look, find a different place to stay. We would happily stay here again on our next trip across the channel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baroque-boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calais hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#4 of 24 in Calais
699 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#2 of 24 in Calais
477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
1.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
1.4 mi away
Ibis Calais
Ibis Calais
#5 of 24 in Calais
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropol Hotel

Property: Metropol Hotel
Address: 45 quai du Rhin, 62100, Calais, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Metropol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropol Hotel Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing