We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to rate”
Review of Hotel Pacific

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pacific
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hard to rate”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Where do I start?
Location is OK but price is OK only if you are alone as the price is PPPN. As soon as you come as a couple and have to decide for a better hotel just a fraction higher in price it puts everything into perspective.
Rooms can be better with some painting job and minor improvements. Would I stay again if I am alone? maybe due to the price. As a couple? Nope. there are much nicer hotels in the same street just a bit more expensive.

Room Tip: There is no lift so... up to you if you want to climb two floors with your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    6
    15
    8
    28
See reviews for
14
20
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Great value hotel in central Calais. My single room even had a balcony to soak afternoon and evening sun! Plenty of free roadside parking outside and nearby or secure garage parking available if preferred at a modest cost. Clean, comfortable with excellent free wifi. Friendly helpful staff - strongly recommended. Handy for local shops, restaurants and park - I will come back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Second time I've stayed at this hotel, this time at the bargain price of 37.50 euros pppn. It's basic but clean and tidy, as you might expect. We booked a garage as well which, at 7 euros per night, was very handy. The breakfast buffet is good – my child was enchanted at cooking her own bacon on a nifty little hotplate, boiling eggs in the boiler and using the little egg timers. And there are plenty of baguettes, waffles, toast, pastries etc, plus continental cheese and salamis. The staff are always pleasant, and will book restaurant tables, and stamp and post postcards for you – as well as letting you use the coffee/chocolate machine for free (if you ask nicely). As a top tip, try to speak whatever French (no matter how bad) you have when you first arrive – even if it is just "Bonjour madame" – it seems to break the ice, and they will then happily speak English for the remainder of your stay. The only real minus, if you have anyone elderly or disabled in your party, is that there are no ground-floor bedrooms and no lift. Otherwise, this hotel is a perfect "cheap and cheerful" for the budget traveller.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the first floor. It's a lot of stairs to the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exlondongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We were not expecting a huge amount from this place given its unprepossesing exterior, however we were pleasantly surprised. While it is by no means the Ritz, the rooms and bathrooms were clean and airy and the beds extremely comfy. The staff were friendly, giving each a double ensuite rather than the two single rooms we’d reserved, and recommending a local fish restaurant for dinner. The hotel was in a great location- close to a large square with tons of restaurants and bars- but far away from them so that it was not noisy. We has the buffet breakfast at the hotel in the morning, which was very generous, if not a little souless as there were not many others staying in the hotel. Overall, a really good value stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marmiteandmerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Cold rooms with inadequate heating. Unhelpful staff. Very poor breakfast. We've voted with our feet. I fell in the bathroom, hurt myself quite badly and the staff asked me what I wanted them to do about it - couldn't care less attitude. Reception not open on arrival. Receptionist smiled but unhelpful at all times. Far too many stairs for a frail member of our party and no lift.

Room Tip: Very cold on the top floor and no room offered on a lower floor in spite of having an 82-year-old in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calais hotels

England
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Make sure you arrive when the hotel is actually open!
We have used this hotel for about the last 12 years as a final stop on our French travels .As a sea port Calais is obviously not the nicest of places, however in recent years it has slipped further with more and more undesirable types wondering around the town. The main issue we have with the hotel is that seemingly there is never anyone at the hotel before 4PM to let you have your room. On our latest visit we did not manage to access our rooms until 5.20PM.(Website does not mention this restricted access). Looks like after all these years we will be now looking for new lodgings in the area.Shame really.

Room Tip: Hotel has fairly steep stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTH EASTUK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

The hotel is centrally located and handy for bars and restaurants. It is clean and tidy and the staff were very helpful. However it is very much a two-star place - a little dated and quite cramped. There is (limited) secure parking across the street for which a small charge is made, but well worth it for peace of mind for those with full cars. Takes dogs with no fuss.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAJNorthEastuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calais hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#11 of 24 in Calais
45 reviews
1.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Beffroi
Hotel du Beffroi
#22 of 24 in Calais
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
0.8 mi away
Hotel De La Plage
Hotel De La Plage
#16 of 24 in Calais
402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Metropol Hotel
Metropol Hotel
#10 of 24 in Calais
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pacific

Property: Hotel Pacific
Address: 40 Rue du Duc de Guise, 62100, Calais, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pacific 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Hotel Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing