We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal for 1 night”
Review of Hotel du Beffroi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Beffroi
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Arrived on Saturday pm and left by Sunday am. Although I booked on internet at eurobooking.com, my reservation did not reach the hotel and th receptionist told me that they were not partners with the website. Fortunatelly the receptionist rang her usual booking service to check and my name was there and was allocated room 205, second floor, no lift, road side opposite bars and restaurants. The room was small, but clean with towels and soap provided, small TV with French chanels, free parking in the street. Breakfast was 9 euro and was absolutly delicious, with continental and English bits, croissants, ham, cheese, fruits, cereals, homemade jam, etc. Golden sand beach only 10 minutes walk from the hotel. Downside was that the bar opposite the hotel was playing loud music until at least 5am and when it finally stopped some customer were arguing loudely on the carpark. Could do with double glazing windows.

Room Tip: ask for the arden view if you want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NuttyNat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Parking is the first problem. We arrived on a Friday night as there are lots of restaurants and cafe's nearby we waited until they all left and then got a park out the front. But if you want to go to bed early probably won't work for you. The receptionist did tell us that we could park in a large car park but they set up markets there on a Saturday morning so you will have to move your car. The room was fine - you walked in the door and then had a door left and right two rooms which had a bathroom each but I like having the door open so I could hear the kids which wasn't a hassle we used the chairs to keep open. The showers aren't huge but all was clean enough. We were there only one night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Only very central budget hotel (within easy walking distance of best 4 restaurants in town -see TA!). Pleasant reception/lounge/breakfast area. Free street parking but receptionist moved her car to allow us to park by the front door! Just adequate bedroom + ensuite, but with poor lighting. No UK TV channels, claimed broadband didn't work, and kettle (obtained from reception) required hair-trigger to be manually held 'on'. 9EU pp for good continental b/fast seemed a bit 'topside' but (perhaps shouldn't admit this!) we lunched for that too!
We like aforementioned Calais restaurants and dining/lunching in one of them is always a feature of our 'booze-runs'. This hotel provided perfect 'cheap and cheerful' back-up to that, but would pay more for better if we expected to have more time in our room.

Room Tip: There appeared to be 3 GF rooms and 2 x 8 on 1st and 2nd floors. 1st floor plan on bedroom door sugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rennatian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This was the second time in 2 months we had stayed here before taking the ferry to Dover. We booked through booking.com and got an excellent price - although paid 10 euros supplement for the dog which we arranged direct with hotel as booking site said they didnt accept dogs but we knew this was not necessarily the case. Plenty of on street free parking and right next to rows of restaurants which was very convenient, hotel was quiet and room was excellent for the price with attractive decoration and good en suite . Staff very helpful, particularly the cleaner who saw us out and was most helful (i was on crutches after a leg injury) . We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Downstairs room was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FelicityE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

A small and cheep hotel providing simple room accommodation. Although a general air of being in need of a good facelift. the rooms where clean and comfy. suitable for small families or couples. the hotel manager was friendly and helpful. the Hotel is situated close to the main road full of restaurants, yet was also quite at night

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluesmanphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We arrived after a 10 hour trip in the car, tired and hungry. The receptionist was talking to a friend and we stood for 10 minutes while they laughed and talked without even greeting us. The reception area smelt badly of toilets. When she finally gave us her attention there was no booking for us even though i had the confirmation in my hand! No apology at all. We had booked a family room but there were none available so she gave us reluctantly two rooms opposite each other. The corridors were dark and smelly, there was no lift. the rooms were small and the beds smaller! The shower in one room only had cold water. Oh yes - the "friendly" receptionist made us pay in full BEFORE giving us our keys even though she had credit card details. We did nt opt for breakfast here. Overall a very unpleasant stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jankesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

The hotel location is in the center of Calais towards the water front. The main busy street is just a 30 second walk away, so it's convenient but out of the way enough to not be noisy.

The hotel itself is a nice little hotel, the rooms are spread across two floors making a total of around 16-20 rooms.

The room is basic but most importantly clean. There is a little 13" TV with a few French channels on, a desk and phone, a single open wardrobe and big doors that open out to let lots of fresh air in. The bathroom is more of a small cupboard and is very compact. However everything that's needed is there and it's all clean. There is a single shower cubicle at on end of the narrow room. This gave good hot water and a good pressure. Fresh white towels, soap and shower gel/shampoo are all provided which surprised me at the cost of the room.

Breakfast is an extra 9 euro per person, this wasn't worth it as there was only a few pastries and coffee etc. My advice would be to go to one of the many cafe/restaurants down the main street away.

The staff at the hotel where friendly but be warned they speak very little English. With my partners good French vocabulary we where able to check in and pay etc. with no problems.

The hotel doesn't have it's own car park but there are plenty of spaces on the street in front and surrounding.

All in all I would highly recommend the hotel for an overnight stay. It's cheap, clean and positioned well. If you don't know much of the French language it's worth taking a phrase book.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adamsingleton1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calais hotels
173.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#10 of 24 in Calais
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premiere Classe Calais Centre - Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Metropol Hotel
Metropol Hotel
#9 of 24 in Calais
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
0.7 mi away
Brit Hotel Calais
Brit Hotel Calais
#11 of 24 in Calais
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Beffroi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Beffroi

Address: 8 rue Andre Gerschel, 62100, Calais, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range: £32 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Beffroi 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel du Beffroi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing