We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient overnight stop”
Review of Hotel du Beffroi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Beffroi
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Convenient overnight stop”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Don't be fooled by the uninviting look from the front of the hotel or the dark brown paintwork up the stair case. or even be put off by the fact that you cannot check in before 5pm . The room we stayed in was basic, decent furniture but clean and we got what we payed for . That is a budget overnight stay that we will use again. Parking was easy and free. Didn't bother with breakfast
,at 9 euro for basic continental breakfast too expensive. chris

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPSait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    25
    23
    14
    9
See reviews for
10
46
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calais
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

pleasant and friendly and even humorous personel, good organization, immediate assistance and help, clean room, comfortable bed, clean sanitary, delicate and well composed breakfast, easy to find and short way to shore and city centre

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Georg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
316 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We booked for 38 Euros a night through Booking.com so was very sceptical at the quality we were going to receive and went with the intention we would have to move. However we were very surprised at the cleanliness and quality of the accommodation. From the outside you do wonder, especially as there is a lot of work being undertaken in the area (Place D’Armes is currently a building site), but you are put at ease once inside. If you are looking for 5* facilities you will not get them, if you are looking for somewhere basic and clean you will be happy with your choice. The hotel has no lift but has 3 rooms on the ground floor (Rooms 1,2 and 3). I would recommend room 2 mainly as it does not face the street and has an area to sit outside. Parking is available in a garage for 10 Euros if you don’t want to leave the car on the street and the free Wifi worked well. I would stop again and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhooseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

No check in until 4.30 which is strange and a little annoying. The corridors were small and dark and reminded me of a brothel. The room itself was a good size and very clean if a little basic. The bathroom was the smallest bathroom I have ever seen, the shower door wouldn't open fully because it was so small! The hotel would be great if you had a ferry to catch, but not if you wanted a lazy morning! The strangest part of our stay here was being woken up and kicked out of our room by an angry french cleaner at 10am even though checkout wasn't until 11.30!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I must start by saying please don't be put off by the facade. Inside is homely, incredibly clean and very friendly staff. We had a wonderful continental breakfast and a lovely room.

We were in room 2. Clean, cosy, warm and had lovely french doors out onto a small patio/ outside space.

It is very central to many restaurants and a short walk to the small boat marina.

It is made very clear you should not check in before 5pm this is because as in most part of france they have the afternoon off. This did not bother us in the slightest. We were given the door and wifi code. We payed a very basic price and in honesty didnt expect much but on a budget this place provides everything you need and more.

Room Tip: I really enjoyed room 2. Door out onto patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassy Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I stayed for few days in this hotel to attend a business meeting. I felt being in a home away from home. Rooms are very clean, spacious and well-appointed with all needed things. Bed was wonderful and pillows were large. Room service was very attentive and food was great. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Very central, free parking nearby so no need to drive to find places to eat. Easy walking distance for beach, bars, town etc.

Rooms were a little small but ok for a 1 or 2 night stay.

Check in was closed in the afternoon so you couldnt get in before 4pm.

Room 201 was a better room as it is a corner room.

Room Tip: Room 201 was a better room as it is a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CovDemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calais hotels
1.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre St Pierre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#3 of 24 in Calais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#4 of 24 in Calais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
0.6 mi away
Hotel De La Plage
Hotel De La Plage
#15 of 24 in Calais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Beffroi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Beffroi

Property: Hotel du Beffroi
Address: 8 rue Andre Gerschel, 62100, Calais, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Beffroi 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Beffroi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing