We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for Families, excellent food and atmosphere at good price”

Les Grandes Tables Du Channel
Ranked #34 of 150 Restaurants in Calais
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Waitstaff
Bexley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for Families, excellent food and atmosphere at good price”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We were travelling as 2 families (9 of us in total) and stopped off for a late lunch here, after reading some good recommendations about the food. Whilst the choice on the menu is not extensive i.e. approx 4 choices of starter, main and dessert each, the food is absolutely outstanding and the portions are sufficient even for large appetites. All the food is cooked and prepared fresh and it shows, and although the staff spoke little English, they were very accommodating and we were made to feel comfortable. I would say that the main course I had was one of the best meals I had in a long time, and everyone in our group agreed on the high quality of the food. C'est magnifique!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BexleyMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    21
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"2nd visit and well worth it'”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We called again on our return to Calais, is it is still 'the place to visit'
the house red was sublime!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank graemerchorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“The sensitive touch!”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Saturday lunchtime, grim as only the Pas de Calais can be when the wind howls cold and wet from "Le Manche". The restaurant is joined with a bistro in a large dilapidated warehouse which is accessed via acourtyard. You see the building clearly as you head into Calais Centre from the motorway, on the Rue Verdun - a large polygonal tower on the right hand side.
Austere surroundings, but clean and welcoming. Amuse bouche of beautiful salami, followed by a soup of chestnuts and foie gras; next came whelks with a persillade; monkfish with romanesco,, mashed and raw grated with wasabi. Duck confit with a celeriac dauphinoise, and as a pudding, icecream with pistachios. Coffee and calvadosfinished the meal, which with a few generous pichets of crisp white plonk came to about 90€ for two.
Flavours are immediate and clean; cooking is executed with both precision and panache- the kitchen is open, and you can watch the chef preparing your next course, which can be an education in itself. We both thoroughly enjoyed dining here, and look forward to our next visit.
I find French food is often formulaic and disappointing, food passed off to be better than it is.
If you have had the same experience, I warmly recommend a visit to this inspiring and generous hostelry

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“TOP Quality at not a top price”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We happened upon this restaurant by chance looking for an out of town pleasant atmosphere and we certainly dropped lucky!!! Its a little out of town but worth the search.
Our french is very basic but we got along well with staff who didnt speak english well but tried their best. Fortunately our understanding of culinary terms is a little more than basic.
The food was fantastic with a chef who obvioulsy knows his 'stuff' and thinking out of the box with fantastic flavours - black radish and shrimp starter was excellent followed by mains of duck with celeriac with flavours that pounced upon the palate - divine!!
Only one of us had dessert - ice cream with pistachio nuts I'm told was delicious.
A typical business type luncheon venue with a difference.
Chef came to talk to us after the meal - if you go there and mention 'Gavroche' you can claim a free coffee or tea after the meal, we discussed this restaurant so I asked him if he would do this and he said Yes!! Menu courses go from 2 courses @ 18 euros to 32 for the full monty.
Please try this great food for yourselves and if you dont like any of it I'll buy you a drink when we meet?
Graeme

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank graemechorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Grandes Tables Du Channel also viewed

Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 
Bleriot-Plage, Calais
Bleriot-Plage, Calais
 

Been to Les Grandes Tables Du Channel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing