We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food, cold baths”
Review of Campanile Calais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campanile Calais
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The room was very comfortable and just right after a long days driving. The first room I was given, the electrics for the lamp, kettle and TV didnt work. I was given a second room which was fine. However there wasnt enough hot water to run the bath, nor shower in the morning.
The dinner: the potatoes were overcooked and uneatable! It was so overcooked it should have been clear to the kitchen and the waitress. On raising the issue, they brough me a plate of chips instead.


  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Campanile.com - Louvre Hotels Group
Thank MikeLuana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

After driving from Scotland, it's great to get to a hotel. The staff are not the friendliest and the rooms are not the best. But it is on your route - close to the ferry port and the tunnel. Free parking and not too bad meals available on site. Reasonable value for money. We have stayed at least five times and will stay again but only because of the location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RonnieAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Dirty shabby old fashioned generally awful room that smelt damp ! Shame the money spent updating reception wasn't used on rooms on arrival you think very nice until you get to your room ! Good position let down by rooms very dissappointed will not return and would recommend you don't stay if you don't want to be disappointed

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carla g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stopped overnight on the way back to the ferry. The room was the usual Campanile - we have stayed in quite a few and they are all much the same. Clean, comfortable, plenty of hot water, heating/aircon in the room, tea and coffee and parking right outside.

What sets the Campaniles apart from other motels is the quality of the food - outstanding and better than half of the Michelin star restaurants in the UK. Confit de Canard and Filet de Merlu with 2 Café Gourmand and Cognac and a carafe of Red all for 40 pounds ????

Fresh tasty and served with a smile - why cant we do this in the UK ???

Will always stay here when in Calais.

Room Tip: Bit difficult for those who cant make the stairs with a suitcase ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyblueConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

When travelling on France we usually stay with Campanile. Yes it is a cheap chain but it is always clean, they always have free off street parking, staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is plentiful with good choices. We did not eat dinner this time as we just went to shop at Citie Europe but the Campanile Restaurant is fine for a simple meal when on a long journey. We had very comfortable beds so had a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

...of Campanile. Represents good value.
Staff are excellent - friendly and welcoming. The starter buffet on the night I stayed was a delight (in sharp contrast to the previous evening in Peronne). My room was spotlessly clean and warm & cosy. Great location for an early morning ferry.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Campanile.com - Louvre Hotels Group
Thank irishclaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Just stayed here. Like most people, the hotel is the last stopping off point before exiting France.
The place is in serious need of a little more than TLC. The place could be so nice.
My advice would be to try another budget hotel.
Mould on the bathroom walls,limited luke warm shower water,peeling paint and carpets that need changing. It's TIRED.

On a positive great location. The staff were superb,very helpful and attentive.
My advise would be come only after it's had a revamp.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calais hotels
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
171.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
0.1 mi away
Ibis Calais
Ibis Calais
#5 of 24 in Calais
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#4 of 24 in Calais
487 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
1.3 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#3 of 24 in Calais
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Calais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Calais

Address: 35 Rue De Maubeuge Zac Du Beau Marais, 62100, Calais, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Calais
Price Range: £38 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Calais 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Campanile Calais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Hotel Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing