We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, average experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Location, average experience”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stopped in just for the night. Good location near the port for Ferry service as well as the square one block away that offers plenty of dining options. The hotel itself was nothing fancy and the staff greeted us with a tinge of annoyance due to the american tourist demographic that was well occupied. Small yet very clean rooms, beds were average.

Room Tip: Away from the breakfast room is the best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orngjuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pnouchi, Gérant at La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Google Translation
merci de votre passage dans notre petit hotel familiale
cordialement
pierre nouchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    13
    32
    18
    38
See reviews for
30
53
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulipfluffyglow72
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Myself, my husband and 2 friends stayed here over night before going on to Belgium, I personally thought it was perfectly acceptable for a short stay ! The room was basic but clean, the bathroom was the same but we did have to hold the shower as it did not fit into the holder on the wall and the plug area of the shower did fill up as if blocked a bit. A I said it is fine for a stop over and cheap, we did not have breakfast here and we did not use the hotel restaurant, we did not use the hotel parking either as the car park across from the restaurant was free ! The only bad point was that we had to wait until 4.00pm to check in and we got there at 4.30 and we had to ring the bell for about 20 mins before anyone answered.

Room Tip: We had rooms 11 and 12 which were acceptable but they are up several flights of stairs so not great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tulipfluffyglow72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Although well situated in Calais, the facilities within this hotel are dreadful. It is advertised as a 2 Logis hotel but it certainly is not. Although it had a bar in reception, we were told that it did not have a licence anymore.
We were in room 4 which looked extremely tired and the décor was in need of total refurbishment.. The shower looked dirty and uninviting, so we did not use it.
Considering this hotel is linked in name to the restaurant, it certainly does not live up to its standard.
I would not use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calais hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This hotel is well situated on the harbour at Calais next to some good bars and restaurants. We stayed there on route to Belgium as its cheaper to stay in France than belgium, the hotel room was basic but acceptable, service was good and friendly 3 males were in the group and each had a room room 7 was small but on the second floor over looking the air con for the local shops this was a benefit in two ways first not so far to climb as there is no lift and second no noise from adjacent bar till 3am as was in room 8 on the third floor over looking he black pearl the local late night bar, Room 12 was also on the third floor ( the breakfast room was on the first floor) this room was a family room with double and a single and a small balcony room of it, the price was cheap the room tidy and location fine each floor is two flights of stairs so you will keep fit

Room Tip: 1-7 second floor 8-13 third and 14 -23 seemed to be further behind the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

You can read the previous reviews about the state of the place (something that I omitted to do before booking!). All I will add is that my husband, two children and I were given a room on the second floor with doors that didnt lock and cracked glass on the balcony. this place is quite frankly a health hazard and should be pulled down. I refused to stay here, and demanded a refund from the receptionist which she gave with no hestiation, and encouraged me to write my experience up. Please do not stay here if you have kids, it is not safe.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night after travelling from Switzerland through France doing a little tour of cities. This was our last destination as we wanted a bed to sleep in before our early morning tunnel. This location was ideal for us, as it didn't take us long to get to the tunnel. The bed was okay, but at that point we were desperate to sleep in a bed so anything would have done. Lots of street noise, but the bathroom was okay and the shower was okay. Just okay in general really. However the woman behind reception was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rae-Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel is awful! We stayed in Room 3 and it stank of sewers. The toilet had an electric flush which didn't work properly hence the smell! The bed was reasonably comfy and at least the sheets were clean. The whole place is in dire need of refurbishment. I couldn't wait to get out of the place oh and the breakfast was awful too- cereal or bread for 9 euro. I can definitely say we will never stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winchcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calais hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#4 of 24 in Calais
680 reviews
1.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre Saint Pierre
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#3 of 24 in Calais
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Beffroi
Hotel du Beffroi
#22 of 24 in Calais
77 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Residence du Golf
Hotel Residence du Golf
#20 of 24 in Calais
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant

Property: La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant
Address: 1 boulevard de la Resistance, 62100, Calais, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Calais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sole Meuniere Hotel/Restaurant Hotel Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing