We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Camping du Port de Plaisance
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Misleading ”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

It was a nice swimming pool and bungalow. On the website it advertises volley ball but it doesn't have volley ball and there are all the facilities that they advertise on the website. Which is very annoying as we choose this site especially for that.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexizatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This was my first camping trip with my two older children (13 & 11). On arrival at the site, the office was closed (they had informed me about the office hours) but there was a very friendly sign asking us to 'find your pitch, and check on later'! This allowed us to wander around the site and find the pitch which was perfect for us. We chose plot 70, as it was in the middle of all of the facilities (toilet block, playground, swimming pool, reception) although nothing is far from anywhere on the site.
The ground was grassy and free from obstacles making pitching the tents easy. The pitch was large enough for a big family tent, a pup tent, and our car stayed on the pitch too. When the office opened at 3pm (it had been open earlier in the day) there was quite a long queue to check in, but the staff were very friendly, and spoke perfect English. We also ordered bread and croissants for the next morning to be collected from the bar.
The toilet/shower blocks were functional and served the purpose. There were separate areas for washing up and washing clothes and everything was clean and well serviced (although I don't have a lot to compare with).
The kids enjoyed the pool, which was small but enough to let them let off steam and have some fun in the evening. It was actually open until 10pm which was a bonus.
Locally Peronne has plenty of shops/bars etc in the town which is a 20(ish) minute walk from the campsite. There is a Lidl about 500m from the campsite (the bread and croissants here are cheaper and I thought fresher than at the campsite). There is a hypermarket on the outskirts of Peronne but not open on Sunday afternoons (although there is a small shop in Peronne square open from 3). I hope this review gives some of the information which I needed to find out before I went. I would definitely use this site again as it is in a perfect location for visiting the battlefields/war graves, and was perfectly adequate.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
410 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This proved to be a great little site to stay. The staff went out of their way to fit us on and I had an electric hookup from Tony's residence for one night. There was a takeaway kitchen open when we stayed in June. The site is very handy for exploring the Somme region and battlefields. Our pitch was more than adequate for an 8m long M/H. Wouldn't hesitate in using or recommending this site

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Selected this site of the internet due to its location upon the Somme and within its Circuit of Remembrance. Was not disappointed.

Tony the on-site manager was very friendly, helpful and could not do enough for us. Thank you Tony. The site on the most was very peaceful; a chorus constantly from wildlife and birdsong but that is something we come to miss about many parts of the UK. A bit of back ground noise from traffic but that is acceptable and balanced out by the perfect location of the site. The one thing that destroyed the tranquillity was the 7am wake up call during the week by the plant and lorries across the canal. An aggregate supplier is set up there and have early starts which can be noisy but they ease off by 10am. In a way this is good as there is so much to do and see in this region so this early weekend ensures that precious excursion time is not wasted. Lidl's is 300 metres to the south, a bar/café just before that and an excellent takeaway kiosk 400 metres north. Delicious French stick steak sandwiches. Peronne town is a 15 minute walk or 2 minute drive with ample parking.

Facilities on site are sufficient and clean although the pool and shop were not open due to season. My only observation is that the main shower/ ablution blocks should have been open as the small communal area was sometimes over crowded, especially with families and random children.

All in all a very enjoyable stay on a petit island on the Somme albeit the canal. Would recommend Camping du Port de Plaisance to anybody wishing for a well placed location within the Somme region with good facilities and helpful staff.

Merci Beaucoup to Tony and all at Camping du Port de Plaisance

Room Tip: By the canal for views and the bird life but be aware of the plant across the way and of the occasio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JayR0gers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed there last year and we will be going again this year. It is almost mid-way between Calais and Paris and a good central place to launch day-long trips. We went to Belgium, to Paris, the West, and followed the Great War Trail.

The campground is a very nice and tranquil area where kids can run around and chase the rather healthy rabbits. The river is nice for walks and the town centre is close by with some really nice restaurants and a weekly market.

The swimming pool was still closed when we visited. Please make special arrangements if you plan to arrive or leave early or late as there is a gate and it is closed at 10:30 p.m.

Room Tip: The cabins are almost identical and just about comfortable enough for a good holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

My children [daughter aged 15 years, son aged 20] and I stayed here for a week in August 2012 using the site as a base from which to tour the World War 1 battlefields of the Somme. We rented one of the four bungalow-cabins that the site operates. Our overall impression of our cabin was that it was good if a little basic. Everything was clean but just a little dated. That said, I would not wish to put anyone off; it was perfectly adequate with a nice little balcony area in front and had all the kitchen and other equipment that you would expect: shower, microwave, 'fridge, three hotplates - even a TV and 'DVD' player [not that we used it]. One minor gripe however: no eggcups! Why do French [and Spanish] apartments/bungalows never have eggcups? Note that the site does not provide bedding so you will need to take your own. The quality of the site itself more than made up for any minor deficiencies in the cabin. The man on reception was friendly and helpful [can't comment on reports of rude reception staff - we never encountered the lady in question!] and there is a useful little shop next to reception which can be handy if you have forgotten anything basic like butter or marmalade! Adjacent to the shop is a pleasant bar with TV and pool table. Next to the bar is a very nice swimming pool with loungers. The 'pool isn't exactly olympic in size but big enough to have a swim and a splash around in [we had very hot sunny weather whilst we were here so it was very welcome]. There is also an area where you can play volleyball etc. About 300 meters down the road from the campsite, going south out of Peronne, is a Lidls, Very handy indeed! An added bonus of this site is that it seems to be a transit site for Dutch families on their migrations to and from their summer camping grounds in the south of France; this means that the site only becomes busy in the evenings and around breakfast time; during the daytime the site is relatively empty and you can have the 'pool area pretty much to to yourself [once or twice we shared it with the nice English family staying in the cabin next to ours].
We spent half our time enjoying the 'pool and relaxing and the other half visiting World War 1 sites. We ate in every night [barbecues, because of the weather] but Peronne itself is a pleasant little town with a good range of restaurants if that is what you want. If you are visiting the Somme battlefields, our recommended highlights are: Lochnagar Crater, Thiepval Memorial and Beaumont Hamel. There is a lot more, I know, but if you have limited time those are what I and my son and daughter would recommend as our 'top three'.
At over 400 euros for one week this was not a cheap rental but it included electricity and was in high season - and in fact, of course, compares very favorably with what you would have to pay in England at the same time of year. We had a great time here. Although the cabins could probably do with a bit of a makeover, I would recommend this site

Room Tip: Before you book, check by e-mail that the 'pool is open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank paddleboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We had booked breakfast included but site had no idea we had booked breakfast and had not ordered breakfast for us.
THe lady was very rude and told us it was impossible to book breakfast on-line. But she did not understand that we booked through booking .com which included breakfast.
Also no where to leave key after 10.30am as reception is shut, no letterbox.
Luckily we only had one night on route to Calais.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Peronne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peronne
0.9 mi away
Auberge des Remparts
Auberge des Remparts
#2 of 2 in Peronne
30 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Claude Peronne Centre
13.2 mi away
Ibis Albert
Ibis Albert
#1 of 4 in Albert
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Ibis budget Saint Quentin
Ibis budget Saint Quentin
#2 of 15 in St-Quentin
342 reviews
4.7 mi away
ibis Styles Peronne Assevillers
6.0 mi away
Hotel le Prieure
Hotel le Prieure
#1 of 1 in Rancourt
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping du Port de Plaisance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping du Port de Plaisance

Property: Camping du Port de Plaisance
Address: Route de Paris, 80200 Peronne, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Peronne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Peronne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Camping du Port de Plaisance 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and PitchUp so you can book your Camping du Port de Plaisance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing