We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not very Italian” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Chez Mario

Restaurant Chez Mario
Ranked #15 of 107 Restaurants in St-Quentin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not very Italian”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Saint Quentin quite late and opted to dine here as it was very near. On entering the restaurant we nearly fell down because of shallow step not identified and was then seated in back partition room. Service was pleasant enough but food was not representative of Italian fine dining. I think they have chosen very easy slush sauces to accompany pasta dishes and the choice of wine was again not representative of the fine Italian wines that are readily available. Overall an average dining experience I feel they could do a lot better.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine_Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    52
    26
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Isn't risotto the same the world over? I didn't expect a side order of Uncle Bens with the expected ingredients on my plate. Daughter's pizza was poor - worst we've had in France. Tiramisu and ice cream also sub par. Prices too high. Service slow and indifferent.

Helpful?
Thank bigbird314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Average with poor slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Food was OK at best - nothing too exciting - the pasta was very dissapointing. Starters didn't need a lot of skill in the kitchen either. They also refused to serve children's portions so we were forced to buy a full portion for the children with considerable waste. The service was slow and poor with continuous prompting required to get a carafe of water - then a glass etc etc. It was busy which surprised me as i certainly would not be rushing back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank slqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wish we had found this place the first night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Excellent italian style restaurant; went back a 2nd night. Pizza, pasta, been and veal. Pizzas thin, crispy with lots of filling. Try the Taglatelli Carbonnara - best I have ever had. We have small appetites these days so did not try the sweets but they looked delicious. The restaurant gets full of locals, so go early or book, to avoid being turned away which happened to others on our first night there. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felpham
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

This family run restaurant is located just a few minutes from the main square.
The staff are attentive and the chef produces wonderful food.
It is frequented by locals which is always a good sign.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mcall43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Chez Mario also viewed

 
St-Quentin, Aisne
St-Quentin, Aisne
 

Been to Restaurant Chez Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing