We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming rooms, friendly hosts”
Review of La Filature

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Filature
Ranked #1 of 3 St-Quentin B&B and Inns
Basye, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Charming rooms, friendly hosts”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We spent just one night here and wished we had had more time to spend in this interesting city. Claire and Patrick have turned an old spinning factory into a trendy, modern B&B with luxurious bathrooms and comfortable accommodations. If you stay, be sure to get good directions, because although it is in the city center, it was not easy for us to find (we didn't have satnav in our rental car), and our printed Google map directions did not work at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire f, Propriétaire at La Filature, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your appreciation.
Your journey of remembrance is moving.
Greetings.
Nous gardons un excellent souvenir de votre passage.
Claire and Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
20
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This B&B is one of the best I have stayed at. Claire and Patrick our hosts couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. They were very patient trying to communicate with us with our very limited French. The room was very comfortable with an extremely comfortable bed. The location was quiet for sleeping but conveniently located in the centre of town. The bathroom was very luxurious. The breakfast was superb but we wish we had stuck to French breakfast, it would have been more than sufficient. The themed rooms are very tastefully done. Our family of 4 were so comfortable here we wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 660DebP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire f, Propriétaire at La Filature, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your appreciation.
We keep a great souvenir of your visit with us.
Too bad you are so far away!
But the memory has no mileage limit
greetings and friendly
Claire and Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Don't be put off by the front of the B&B, go in and be welcomed by the owners who do not speak much English, but enough to get by. We had the ground floor room that opens on to a courtyard. The room is very modern in style, quiet and the oversize single beds pushed together were very comfortable. We had a great night's sleep and breakfast the next day was excellent, with bacon and eggs available as well as traditional French style foods. A range of home made jams was on the table of which the lady takes great pride to offer. We just loved this place. A tip though, if you like tea, take your own and milk, we did not use what was on offer and I am sure they would have provided milk if asked, but we have our own brand preferences.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire f, Propriétaire at La Filature, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions pour votre avis.
Nous tenons compte de votre remarque pour le thé.
Je vais maintenant mettre plus de choix pour le thé...
Avec toute notre sympathie.
Claire et Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
414 reviews
283 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Located in a tastefully renovated small former spinning factory in the centre of Saint Quentin the pleasant B&B La Filature is family owned and operated.

We chose La Filature chambres d'hôtes as at booking.com it had a customer satisfaction rate of 9.5 on a scale of 10. We found that rating entirely correct.

The B&B guesthouse is very comfortable, well maintained and quiet. An excellent place for a relaxing stay. You can discover Saint Quentin on foot, the town is worth a visit. At walking distance you find restaurants and shops.

The owner Mr Dupont is one of the founding fathers of La Confrérie du Sabre d'Or and will gladly introduce you into the art of Sabrage of a bottle of Champagne.

Nicely furnished and decorated, our room at the first floor had a good double bed, a small private terrace with table and chairs, a TV set, desk & table and wardrobe. Coffee & tea making facility in the room. Free Wi-Fi Internet. Separate toilet and private bathroom with double washbasin, large bathtub and individual shower. The room had an extra level with another double bed and a children's bed. Windows can be opened. Room and bathroom were impeccably clean.

Breakfast is excellent with eggs cooked to order.

Overall we had a nice time. We would recommend this charming guesthouse to anyone who seeks great comfort in a quiet environment.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPiket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire f, Propriétaire at La Filature, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Google Translation
Je vous remercie pour votre avis.
Cordialement
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

After a long and tiring drive from the Côte d'Azur I approached the subdued entrance to be amazed at this designer interior. The inside is simply stunning & the rooms are superb. Our hosts were wonderfully organized waiting for our arrival with a warm welcome.

We were completely unprepared for the beautifully thought out rooms from fabulous art to subtle and exciting lighting. Efficient luxurious bathing and delightfully beds and linen amongst serene Buddhas.

Our hosts produced a delicious and sumptuous breakfast with home made cakes and confiture.

La Filature is in easy walking distance of the town centre and an easier last drive back to London.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire f, Propriétaire at La Filature, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Google Translation
Je vous remercie pour votre avis.
Nous tenons compte de tous les avis, pour essayer de faire toujours mieux
Cordialement
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The outside of this hotel does not suggest what its inside.
You need to stay here it is a great place to stay.
We had the superior room which sleeps four. The kids had the upper floor, we had the lower with private balcony.
The owners speak English like I speak French but pointing at things works well.
Right on the edge of the town centre, a great location.
You can park outside for free if you arrive early and it is only two and a bit hours from the tunnel.
Book it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire f, Propriétaire at La Filature, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Google Translation
Je vous remercie pour votre avis dans Tripadvisor,
C'était un lieu industriel : une usine de filature, d'où son nom, qui a beaucoup changé... ( sauf la façade extérieure... avec quelques arrangements..) mais ce lieu a une âme...
Nous tenons compte de vos remarques.. merci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

The owners of this amazing B&B also have a really lovely gite available for couples or small families. We have just had a fantastic week in the gite which was just great. We have stayed in French Gites many times before and this one, for comfort was the best I think. The owners, Patrick and Claire could not have done any more to make us feel any more welcome. They were discreet but available of we had any questions or queries. The accomodation was very clean and most comfortable. My only slight issue was that there is no conventional oven in the property although there is a combination microwave provided (which proved to complicated for me!) and there is only a table top dishwasher which gets full very quickly! However; the gite couldn't be better placed for the town centre where there is a plethora of cafes, bars and restaurants not to mention several fantastic artisan boulangeries! Patrick and Claire have invested a lot of time, effort and care into both their gite and their B & B rooms (which they proudly showed us when we asked about them) and if you are looking for a little piece of luxury in a convenient place in France I don't think you'll go wrong giving either the B&B or the Gite a try!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcintheplacetobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire f, Propriétaire at La Filature, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Google Translation
Merci pour votre avis sur Tripadvisor.
Nous tenons compte de vos remarques,
cordialement
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St-Quentin hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis budget Saint Quentin
Ibis budget Saint Quentin
#2 of 15 in St-Quentin
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Florence
Le Florence
#1 of 15 in St-Quentin
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Saint Quentin Basilique
Ibis Saint Quentin Basilique
#4 of 15 in St-Quentin
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kyriad Saint Quentin
Kyriad Saint Quentin
#3 of 15 in St-Quentin
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Memorial
Hotel Memorial
#6 of 15 in St-Quentin
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in St-Quentin
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Filature? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Filature

Property: La Filature
Address: 12 Rue Arthur Gibert | Porte A, 02100 St-Quentin, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Aisne > St-Quentin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St-Quentin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in an old spinning mill, comfort 4 **** (City Break premium) luxury. 4 Bedrooms including two suites. 1 Serviced apartment (4 ****) (1-4 people) Private bathroom and toilet. Free wifi. Flat-screen TV. Courtesy tray, and an electric kettle. Secure underground parking. Cardio room. Restaurant near (150 m) near the town hall of the three museums Basilica Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Filature reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing