We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rudest receptionist. Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campanile Saint Quentin
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in St-Quentin
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Rudest receptionist. Ever”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Look. I wasn't expecting a lot. Just a room and a decent bed which I got. But the receptionist was dreadful. She didn't want to serve drinks (that was part of her job), she didn't have enough beer glasses (and was reluctant to wash any up), she didn't want us to drink in the reception/restaurant area and didn't mind telling us! The next night, the bar didn't open until 7 (she told us in no uncertain terms) and no, she didn't know where the nearest bar was.

So if you don't care about service but just want an adequate room with a comfortable bed, this is the place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budjuggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPA02, Directeur général at Campanile Saint Quentin, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Google Translation
Merci d'avoir pris le temps d'apporter votre témoignage suite à votre passage dans notre établissement.

Je suis navré du désagrément que vous avez eu avec notre réceptionniste et vous présente mes excuses au nom du Campanile de St-Quentin.

Par contre, elle aurait du vous dire tout simplement que nous avons seulement la LICENCE Restaurant ce qui correspond à ne pouvoir vendre des boissons alcoolisées que pendant nos heures d’ouverture du restaurant, ni avant, ni après.

J’espère avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau dans notre établissement.

Cyrille B.
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    46
    29
    17
    4
See reviews for
22
40
4
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed one night in the Campanile Saint Quentin on a recent trip to France. The room and hotel was clean, close to the station and shops. Saint Quentin isn't the most attractive place in the Paris region but this hotel at only 65 Euro per night including a continental style breakfast served us well.

The rooms are basic, but very clean and the shower was great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pontecarloblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPA02, Directeur général at Campanile Saint Quentin, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Google Translation
Tout d'abord, nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de poster votre avis.

Cependant, je tenais à vous signaler que notre hôtel est situé dans l'Aisne (dépt 02) en périphérie de St-Quentin (à 3 kms du centre ville et de la gare) et non en région Parisienne.

Je pense que votre commentaire était destiné au campanile de saint Quentin en Yvelines (dépt 78).

J’espère avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir dans notre établissement quand vous serrez de passage en France facilement accessible depuis l'autoroute A26, sortie N°10.
Vous pourrez visiter la Basilique, la place du centre ville, le musée des Papillons...

Cyrille B.
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

As many others have mentioned this place is a very good stopover mid journey. However, at roughly E70+ not including breakfast the cost could be driven up for families requiring two rooms as the rooms are so small it would be near impossible to share a room with children for example.

For me, it wasn't what I expected on my stopover in France. It reminded me of the kind of motel you see in an American movies... all it needed was a flashing neon light. I joked with my partner not to answer the door in case someone had a air pressure gun (Country for Old Men...)! : )

The lime green and white colour scheme was a bit disturbing; as was the plastic coffee cups. However, functional and exceptionally clean; plus comfortable bed.

As for the dining that is another matter.... Approximately E34 pp offers a 3 course dinner/buffet. The buffet, which is a salad starter is a selection of 'juliennes'; basically budget ham and cheese chopped into strips. Bowls and bowls of every salad item cut into strips, which is okay... edible but uninspiring. For my main I had a salmon burger; which was more salmon fishcake... didn't taste of fish at all; smothered in watercress sauce;. so over powering that I had to scrape it off. You can hear the ping of the microwave.

My husband's steak was inedible, so he sent it back and stuck to the juliennes of salad. Dessert was a select of previously frozen miniatures.

One member of staff acts as reception, waiter etc, which means do your own luggage etc.

So all in all it was okay, that is all; the food filled a hole after a long journey and the room was a safe place to rest. I think the motto here is... you do get what you pay for and also, if you likened it to a truck stopover you cannot expect silver service dinner for example, but good practical service nonetheless.

One plus point is that you can see your vehicle from the room, which is handy if you have some luggage still inside... though not advisable I guess. Plus lower room floors (2-storey) are good for those with mobility problems as the rooms face directly opposite the car park slots; though two spots are reserved for those with mobility problems.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPA02, Responsable réception at Campanile Saint Quentin, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hello,

Following your stay at CAMPANILE SAINT QUENTIN, our entire team thanks you for your visit and your time to tell us about your stay in our hotel.

We are truly sorry that delivery and service levels were not up to your expectations, and we ask you to please accept our apologies.

Your comments and suggestions help us to improve our services, so your feedback is very important, especially in this type of situation.

Please believe that all necessary measures will be implemented quickly to improve the quality of the service mentioned.

Again we thank you for your comments and hope to convince you in a future stay, the inconvenience you've experienced were isolated incidents.

Waiting to welcome you soon in one of our facilities, please accept, Madam / Sir, our sincere greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Its so easy to get to from the motorway and the parking is easy, more or less outside your room, perfect for a one night stopover.
Rooms are clean and tidy and the price is very reasonable.
No air con but how often is that needed this far north?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billcro90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPA02, Directeur général at Campanile Saint Quentin, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time for writing this review.
We are delighted to be able to meet your expectations during your stay, we hope to see you soon in our hotel.
The team Campanile Saint Quentin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stopped over on our return home via Calais. The hotel has been recently refurbished and is of a modern standard. It is next to a busy intersection so it is a bit noisy. Staff were generally very helpful (the younger gentleman), although on check out a "thank you/merci" would have been appreciated (from the female receptionist). We booked the half board but the main course selection is from a poor menu. Keep your options open with the a la carte or nearby Chinese and steak restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPA02, Responsable réception at Campanile Saint Quentin, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Sir / Madam,

Following your stay at CAMPANILE Saint Quentin, our entire team thanks you for your visit and your time to fill out our questionnaire.

Our teams are always at your disposal to improve their home and hosting services to best meet your needs.

Your comments and suggestions help us to improve our services, so your opinion is very valuable. Rest assured (e) your opinions and comments will be duly transmitted to the relevant teams.

Waiting to welcome you soon in one of our facilities, please accept, Madam / Sir, our sincere greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I was a bit disappointed with this hotel having read previous reviews. On the plus side the staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good as was the shower. The bed was comfortable and everything was clean. It was very accessible from the main road but
I had not realised I was basically booking into a motel with a 2 story row of rooms facing into a car park no distance from a freeway. there was no air conditioning and as we were next to a large road we needed to keep the window closed to keep the noise out. My twin room was not particularly large. The free Wifi was not working in the evening but ok next morning.
Overall I think the staff were trying very hard but no air con in August is a big turn off.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollyLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPA02, Responsable réception at Campanile Saint Quentin, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Following your stay at CAMPANILE SAINT QUENTIN, our entire team thanks you for your visit and your time to tell us about your stay in our hotel.

We are truly sorry that delivery and service levels were not up to your expectations, and we ask you to please accept our apologies.

Your comments and suggestions help us to improve our services, so your feedback is very important, especially in this type of situation.

Please believe that all necessary measures will be implemented quickly to improve the quality of the service mentioned.

Again we thank you for your comments and hope to convince you in a future stay, the inconvenience you've experienced were isolated incidents.

Waiting to welcome you soon in one of our facilities, please accept, Madam / Sir, our sincere greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel is just off the AutoRoute A26 and it very modern. It's probably Frances version of Travelodge / Premier Inn but much better! There is free parking outside! The rooms are a good size and a very comfortable king-size bed! The bathrooms are also a good size and very good shower!

Check-in is good and efficient - staff also speak good English! Only down-side was that our room didn't have air-con and the outside temperature was 46 degrees when we were there!

There isn't much around the area, but there are at least 2 restaurants in easy walking distance - the one past the Chinese one is much better (unless you eat in the hotel - this wasn't open for evening meals due to it being the French holidays).

Breakfast was good and had quite a variety. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Book in advance as it's very popular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazz-1416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPA02, Gérant at Campanile Saint Quentin, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur

Merci d’avoir choisi de séjourner chez nous et d’avoir pris le temps pour la rédaction de cet avis.

Nous sommes ravis d’avoir pu répondre à vos attentes durant votre séjour, nous espérons vous revoir prochainement dans notre établissement.

L’équipe Campanile de Saint Quentin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St-Quentin hotels
0.4 mi away
Kyriad Saint Quentin
Kyriad Saint Quentin
#3 of 15 in St-Quentin
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Saint Quentin
B&B Hotel Saint Quentin
#8 of 15 in St-Quentin
62 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis budget Saint Quentin
Ibis budget Saint Quentin
#2 of 15 in St-Quentin
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel balladins St-Quentin / Gauchy
1.4 mi away
Ibis Saint Quentin Basilique
Ibis Saint Quentin Basilique
#4 of 15 in St-Quentin
320 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in St-Quentin
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Saint Quentin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Saint Quentin

Property: Campanile Saint Quentin
Address: rue Charles Naudin, 02100 St-Quentin, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Aisne > St-Quentin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in St-Quentin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Saint Quentin 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Campanile Saint Quentin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing