We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Les Roches Noires
Certificate of Excellence
Costa del Sol, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We spent a week at this great hotel 18 - 25 June having booked via Brittany Ferries. Parking was no problem, there are plenty of free spaces nearby and and there is an area directly outside the door where you can park for 20 minutes whilst unloading. We had a corner room with a balcony on the third floor where the sea views were superb. Neither the room nor the bed were small. It was clean and very well appointed with air con, tea making things, telephone, TV and wi fi, There were electric shutters on all windows so the room could be darkened or shaded from the sun. The bathroom too was well appointed with hair dryer etc. There was also an efficient laundry service and there was an iron and ironing board available on request.
Breakfast was plentiful and of a high standard being served until 11.00 am in the dining room which has a large picture window looking directly onto the sea. For no extra charge a fully laden breakfast tray can be brought to your room.
Checkout is up to 12 noon on the day of departure.
The real jewel in the crown here is the staff - reception, dining room and cleaning staff were all pleasant, friendly and most helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel is well situated on the seafront within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants banks etc.
We would definitely return so to our friends there I say, " à la prochaine! "

Room Tip: We paid a supplement for room 303 which we felt was well worth it for the view alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rnoires, Directeur général at Best Western Les Roches Noires, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Madam and Sir POTTER,

Thank you for taking time to give us your opinion on Tripadvisor.

In order for us to carry on improving our service day after day, we forwarded with great pleasure your message to all the team.

Hoping to see you again in Les Sables d’Olonne and even more at the hotel Les Roches Noires.

Best regards,

Annabelle & Jean Etienne
Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    271
    53
    12
    4
See reviews for
78
331
22
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Room ok. Clean, small and fairly basic. View was fantastic however and more than made up for any downside. We were on 2nd floor and opened our window to a small balcony just in front of the sea. Wifi worked fine. Right on the quay and fairly easy to find. Parking is an issue since they have no garage. However if you ask they will recommend a sister hotel on the same quay that offers paid parking. Very close to everything there is in the Sables.

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view ... Worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcjctrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les Lucs-sur-Boulogne, France
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I booked the highest priced room in the hotel and the view from the corner room and its wrap-round balcony at sunset was fantastic.

The room was freshly decorated and bright, but s-m-a-l-l. The double bed was small. The bathroom was small. The price was not small.

The wifi connexion "wasn't working since the storm(!)"; the receptionist supplied a bit of ethernet cable, which did the trick for my laptop, but not for my phone.

Breakfast and staff were efficient, but not friendly (sometimes a blessing?)

It was too expensive for an off'season break.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zenit3m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

The hotel was quite dated and the rooms small, but it is right on the beach-front and in a reasonably convenient location. There is a laundromat, supermarket and variety of cafes and restaurants within a 5 minute walk and only a 10 minute walk down the promenade to the main part of town. Unlike many French hotels, it had a lift – even if it was small and slow.
While the rooms were a bit dowdy, they were clean and air-conditioned and had free wi-fi. The staff were helpful and had enough English for us all to manage decent communication. There is no parking with the hotel, but parking along the beachfront is free and we found plenty of parking spots close-by as long as we waited until after day-trippers had gone home for the day.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StanandAgnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2010

I had booked a first or second floor room some weeks before my arrival. What greeted me was a cross receptionist and a ground floor room. It was the most awful hotel bedroom I have ever seen. It was located next to the lift (very noisy) and the room was dark, dank and most depressing. the window looked out on a tiny tiled area. There was no sun or light at any time of day. The bathroom was the best area though it had a shower curtain which stank and looked disgusting. Twice I asked to be moved and was refused. Never again.



was refused.



twice I was refused.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elspeth75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2009

We picked this hotel with a Brittany Ferries deal. Thanks to good weather it was in the perfect spot overlooking the beach. Parking was freely available, but guess this may be a problem in high season because Les Sables d'Olonne is an attractive town.

Very clean and quiet, perhaps a little quaint. Excellent breakfast in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sid_Severn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Requested a low floor room but not given one. Staff friendly and polite. Rooms small and hotel did have a smell especially on the stairs. Described as comfortable by Best Western but we wanted something better for the price. Sea view very good but no balcony so what was the point?
Kettle had to be collected from reception if you wanted a hot drink. Breakfast very expensive 20 euros per couple when you can buy it for much much less.
Parking was a huge problem and parking on main promenade was very risky as others parked within millimeters(!!!! ) of your car.
We had our bikes damaged : when someone tried to steal them and couldn't break the locks - they just kicked the wheels off.
We will return to Les Sables but not to this hotel.
We did spend 3wks in France at other hotels and they were much better - shop around!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noddy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Sables-d'Olonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#3 of 29 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
553 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cote Ouest Hotel Thalasso & Spa les Sables d'Olonne MGallery Collection
Cote Ouest Hotel Thalasso & Spa ...
#2 of 29 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
920 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel les Embruns
Hotel les Embruns
#1 of 29 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kyriad Les Sables D'Olonne - Plage
Kyriad Les Sables D'Olonne - Pla...
#7 of 29 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Calme des Pins
Hotel Calme des Pins
#8 of 29 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
356 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Les Sables d'Olonne Centre
ibis Les Sables d'Olonne Centre
#9 of 29 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Les Roches Noires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Les Roches Noires

Property: Best Western Les Roches Noires
Address: 12 Promenade Clemenceau, 85100, Les Sables-d'Olonne, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Les Sables-d'Olonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Les Sables-d'Olonne
#4 Business Hotel in Les Sables-d'Olonne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Les Sables-d'Olonne
#6 Family Hotel in Les Sables-d'Olonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Les Roches Noires 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western FR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Les Roches Noires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Les Sables-D'olonne
Les Sables-D'olonne Best Western
Best Western Les Roches Noires Vendee, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing