We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vent d'Est

Vent d'Est
Reserve with
Vent d'Est is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$35
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We dined at Vent d'Est two nights ago, and had one of the best meals we've had anywhere in France. We were a party of eight, including six college students, and they accommodated us easily and with a smile. The food was amazing and the staff was helpful and friendly. We couldn't rate this any higher and will visit again next year when we return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventdest85, Propriétaire at Vent d'Est, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Many thanks and we hope to see you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    626
    263
    52
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We went with friends to celebrate their ruby wedding. What a wonderful restaurant with friendly and attentive staff. We had the 26.50 euro menu which was mainly fish and seafood, but with several choices for all courses. The langoustines and prawns were all fresh and wonderfully presented. Brochettes of gambas and chorizo were beautifully presented as was the duo of fish. Good sized portions. Cafe gourmand had a rich chocolate brownie the likes of which we had never tasted. Meringue glacee had two scoops of tasty ice cream, cream and meringue. All in all a wonderful evening enjoyed by us all. Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontenay-le-Comte, France
Level Contributor
119 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very Welcoming, Good Value for Money, Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Happily we booked a day in advance because the place was heaving. The proprietor was welcoming but slightly flustered - all his seasonal staff had finished at the end of August and he wasn't expecting such a crowd. He apologised repeatedly the service would be a little slow, but no-one seemed to care much because the Vent d'Est is a nice place to be.

I admit that the notion of fusing food from the far east of France (Alsace) with the far west (Vendée) struck me as a little, well, curious, but it all worked very well. Full advantage is taken of the location a few hundred metres from the fish market of Les Sables, so I'd recommend sticking to the fish.

Desserts are very much influenced by the Alsace - sweet, dense & not short on cream.

Overall, with three courses, and opening drink and a bottle of muscadet (the wine list reflects the eclectic mix of cuisine and leans heavily towards the Loire and the East) the bill came to a little over €100 for three of us.

We were amongst the last to finish lunch. As we left a young lady came in for an interview. If the Vent d'Est continues to produce the goods then the owner is going to need the help.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon_Doust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
714 reviews
448 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
“Good food and nice owner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at Vent d'Est and we had an excellent evening. The food was very good and the starters were particularly tasty. The set menus are reasonably priced and the food is homemade. The owner is very nice iand friendly if you take the time to engage with him. A good address in this touristy spot. Recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank new_world_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

I knew that this restaurant was rated at the top of TripAdvisor's list for Les Sables, but I decided to go there because it was recommended to me by the hotel where I was staying. Its reputation is well deserved. I had a fish menu, and the quality was extraordinary: fresh, perfectly cooked food, and in big quantity. A "bravo" to the owners, please go on like that!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claudia6902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vent d'Est also viewed

Les Sables-d'Olonne, Vendee
Les Sables-d'Olonne, Vendee
 
Les Sables-d'Olonne, Vendee
Chateau-d'Olonne, Les Sables-d'Olonne
 
Les Sables-d'Olonne, Vendee
Les Sables-d'Olonne, Vendee
 

Been to Vent d'Est? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing