We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfully restored old home and charming host”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palmier sur cour

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rochefort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palmier sur cour
Ranked #2 of 6 Rochefort B&B and Inns
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfully restored old home and charming host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

This a charming B&B in Rochfort on the Atlantic coast of France. Helene, our host, is as charming as her home and they both radiate warmth and welcome We were driving from Britanny to the Dordogne and this was a lovely way station for us to spend the night. It was only unfortunate we had the 1 night as it could be a perfect place to settle and explore Bordeaux (without paying big city rates) and the many close-by wine areas such as the village of St. Emilion.

It is a large townhouse just off the village square wonderfully restored. There are 3 large rooms and a large common room for guests with sofas and television. Antique furnishings and sumptious fabrics abound in all the rooms. Next to the common room is a small kitchen for guests' use with refrigerator and microwave. Guests are welcome to use this and eat in the beautiful little garden. We were a couple but a family could be very comfortable there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
50
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Excellent hospitality in a lovely house. It is one of the few bed and breakfasts that I have stayed in that manages to be grand and stately as well as very warm and welcoming. Mme Coulon is as helpful as possible (having forgotten computer cables and gone to great lengths to return them to us!), with good suggestions for sites and restaurants. Breakfast is also comprehensive - bread, pastries, fruit, yoghurt, etc. If ever in Rochefort again, this is most definitely where I will be staying!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shadowtrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in the Palmier. It is a beautiful home with high ceilings and beautiful architectural details. Our room called the Corderie was very spacious and so lovely with a charming French atmosphere and wood flooring. The bathroom was also very generous. The proprietor Helene is lovely and we felt immediately welcomed. Breakfast came with homemade jams and yoghurt as well fresh bread and tea. ( coffee as well). If a 4 or 5 star hotel were to open in Rochefort, they would still face tough competition from Helene in my view.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Stayed for three nights in the biggest room at the B&B. Madame was very kind to us, informative, helpful and prepared delicious breakfasts with a new cake and homemade yogurt each morning. There is a small kitchen for the guests and we had dinner at home one evening. Madame only speaks French, but we got by with our school-french. There is not much to see in Rochefort it self, but as a base for exploring the west coast it is great. We easily spend the three days in Rochelle, I'le d'Oleron and in the small villages in the area. We did not have great weather though, so no beach time for us - they looked good though. Can highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikkelbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

New owners, change of style but still the same high standard of attention to detail. Breakfast of a very high quality with home made preserves and yoghurt. Bread from the local artisan baker was a real treat for us bread lovers, with a plentiful supply of excellent coffee. Bedrooms and guest sitting room spacious with high ceilings. A small kitchen area with a fridge, microwave and hob for those preparing their own snacks. Overnight street parking safe and free. The new owners are interested in their guests, approachable and interesting to converse with. A very relaxing and enjoyable 7 days - they even came to listen to our choir. Would you believe we thoroughly enjoyed our stay?

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkTabTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed for three nights. The room was lovely, the bathroom immaculately kept and presented, and the little kitchen adjacent to the room was a great place to make a cup of tea or coffee. Breakfasts were good as well. I was able to store my wine purchases in the cellar! Our hosts recommended 'Cap Nell' for an evening meal- it didn't disappoint.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penderpete60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

Palmier Sur Cour is everything a French B+B should be and certainly exceeded my expectations. Perine and Jean-Francois are friendly, helpful and gracious hosts and provided lots of good information on restaurants and things to do in the local area. We stayed in a family friendly room- portacot provided and a kids bed separate from the main bedroom. The rooms are large, light and tastefully decorated with many home touches. While being central to everything in Rochefort, Palmier sur Cour is on a quiet street.
We were made to feel very welcome with our baby and 2 year old, who was very happy with the toys available to play with in the conservatory.
We would not hesitate to recommend a stay at Palmier Sur Cour to our friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie_0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochefort hotels
1.7 mi away
ibis budget Rochefort
ibis budget Rochefort
#3 of 11 in Rochefort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Citotel de France
Citotel de France
#1 of 11 in Rochefort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Rochefort
Ibis Rochefort
#4 of 11 in Rochefort
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rocafortis
Hotel Rocafortis
#2 of 11 in Rochefort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Fayette
Hotel La Fayette
#5 of 11 in Rochefort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Corderie Royale
La Corderie Royale
#7 of 11 in Rochefort
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmier sur cour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmier sur cour

Property: Palmier sur cour
Address: 55 rue de la Republique, 17300 Rochefort, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Rochefort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Rochefort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcomes you in a mansion in the heart of the historic town of Rochefort and Charente-Maritime.The guest house has three rooms in a singular and traditional style . All elements of modern conveniences are included in services : each room has a shower or a bath and toilet. Free Wi-Fi is also available on request.Common rooms are available to you : reading room, kitchenette and dining room. A shaded garden contiguous to the property allows you to relax. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing