We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners working hard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Citotel des Messageries
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Saintes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The new owners have spiffed up this hotel. The rooms are small but nicely decorated. Breakfast was delicious. We had two problems. For a part of the weekend WiFi was not available, and the person in charge spoke no English, a small problem for our 48 Americans who did communicate via sign language.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TandemCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
There are newer reviews for Citotel des Messageries
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

This was a perfect location for a stopover, we arranged to park at the hotel in advance and this was a good move (didn't see anywhere else close by). The road into Saintes is busy but straight out of the back door of the hotel and your in the pedestrianised centre. The room was clean, quiet but basic and with a good shower. The staff were welcoming and helpful and breakfast was one of best we had in France!

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the courtyard, which was good.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimH82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We had an overnight stop at this hotel on our journey south. Saintes is a lovely place, its Roman artifacts are very well presented in a museum/park across the river and this hotel is ideally placed to explore it as well as the rest of the city. The hotel setting is charming but I think many travellers might have some difficulty finding the hotel, tucked as it is down the narrowest of side streets. Although the hotel has a secure parking area, it is limited and on our visit no space was available to us (a charge is levied), there is on street metered parking nearby but we parked in the Q-Park multi-storey (6 euros for overnight) in Rue Eugene Pelletan just a 5 minute walk across the river from the hotel, we preferred this as it is locked at night, clean and well lit. We did not eat at the hotel, preferring to experience more of this lovely city during our short stay by eating out. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, the two rooms we booked were spacious and clean but the decor did not appeal. The rooms did have AirCon. but a charge is made for its use.

Our stay here was pleasant enough and I would stay here again as the pros outweigh the cons.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c0lby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Hotel was easy to find using the signs kindly placed by the town council. A warm welcome from the receptionist was appreciated after a long day. She upgraded us to a junior suite at no extra cost even thought the hotel was almost full (we booked through"Booking.com"). This had pleasant but strangely furnished rooms --- which we think used rejuvinated fishing equipment!
Very helpful in garaging our car & recommending a nearby restuarant (she said she never gets a free meal!). Easy walking to the tourists bits of the town.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a junior suite
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Saintes was a natural place to stop overnight after leaving Cherbourg mid morning en-route to Spain. Our party consisted of 2 couples in our 60's and we needed off road parking, not too far from the motorway, and near cafe/restaurants. Small hotel roadsigns assisted our navigation as we entered the old quarter but we were glad to have our satnav and that we had reserved a parking space. The receptionist spoke good English and made us very welcome. Set in an old building with a small courtyard the hotel enjoys classic French provincial charm, our room and en-suite although not air conditioned was clean and more than met our expectations for a comfortable night's rest. Within a very short walk we discovered the quiet narrow flagstone streets with their shops, restaurants and bistros. In the morning there was a good choice of meats, cheese, fruit, cereal, bread, pastries etc. Per couple with car parking we paid about 85 euros. If we ever need to stop in Saintes again this is where we shall book.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank makapaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Stayed here overnight while travelling on holiday, and we fell in love with this place. The hotel is set back from one of the main streets in Saintes, but once we got the car parked in the garage and walked through the court yard, it was really peaceful. The 'back' of the hotel actually leads out into the centre of the pedestrian area in the older part of Saintes, and there's some great restaurants tucked away in alleyways and side streets, and down by the river. The hotel itself has been really nicely done up and decorated, and our family room was really quirky – a dog-leg shape with a double bed at one end and two twins at the other, but plenty of space and very clean. I think all the rooms open out into the enclosed courtyard, so it's really nice and quiet. We only had breakfast at the hotel, but that was fine, and the staff were very friendly. It's worth booking the parking – very secure and much easier than trying to find a space on the road. We definitely hope to come back, and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: If you've got a room opening onto the courtyard, it should be quiet
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OldBigEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Nice, comfortable large room, clean, and tidy. Staff were very helpful, and the garage is really useful.
Location is excellent, right in the center, within walking distance of all the tourist sites, and restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annabest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saintes hotels
1.5 mi away
Relais du Bois Saint Georges
1.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel O'Nice
Inter-Hotel O'Nice
#3 of 19 in Saintes
158 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Saintes
Ibis Saintes
#6 of 19 in Saintes
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Souvenirs de Familles
Souvenirs de Familles
#5 of 19 in Saintes
75 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Saintes
Comfort Hotel Saintes
#4 of 19 in Saintes
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les chambres de l'Abbaye aux Dames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citotel des Messageries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citotel des Messageries

Address: rue des Messageries, 17100 Saintes, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Saintes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Saintes
Price Range: £57 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citotel des Messageries 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former 17th-century post house is located in the heart of Saintes' historic district and offers peaceful accommodation. Citotel Hotel Des Messageries features 33 comfortable rooms spread on 3 floors, a private car park (at an additional cost) and an inside courtyard. 18 rooms have air-conditioning (at an additional cost). The hotel offers a warm welcome in a modern and friendly setting. It boasts a privileged location from which to discover the many sites and attractions of the city of Saintes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Citotel des Messageries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citotel Des Messageries Saintes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing