We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Citotel des Messageries
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Saintes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed in this charming friendly Hotel in Saintes and would recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonably priced, very comfortable, central place to stay. Even had a garage to keep your car in for a small cost

Room Tip: As far as I know all rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnDalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel des Messa... C, Responsable réception at Citotel des Messageries, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

We thank you for your feedback ! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Thanks also to recommend us ! We try our best to satisfy everybody !
This winter our hotel will be again refurbished ! We hope you will see our new rooms !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Hotel des Messageries was one of the most pleasant stops on our trip. Location was ideal. Room was clean, quiet and very comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Petit dejeuner was excellent. City of Saintes was a delightful "find" for us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Citotel Hotels
Thank WAP37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel des Messa... C, Responsable réception at Citotel des Messageries, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

We thank you for your nice feedback ! We are lucky to have a central location which you enjoyed it! You can visit the city center walking all time ! No worry about parking !
Follow our website or facebook page to be informed of all news about Messageries and Saintes !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed for two nights in two rooms for a break on our cycling trip South. Saintes was strangely deserted in August, does it ever get busy? The hotel was clean and efficient but the rooms were strangely shaped and the decoration a little tired. It was a bit noisy at times. Breakfast was good. the rooms were €88 and €98, triple and double. They charged us €15 per night simply to put our bikes in the big empty covered area next to the entrance ( the only place on the trip to charge for bike storage).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pakta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel des Messa... C, Responsable réception at Citotel des Messageries, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

We thank you for your feedback. You came at a quiet period in Saintes, all festivals taking place mid July/early August (Annual Classical Music Festival and "Les Oreilles en Eventail" which are streets shows) . Saintes in summer, it's of course summer events but it's also summer paradise to have a rest and be relaxed during holidays!
We are happy you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. Regarding rooms rented we understand that you could not enjoy the decoration but the majority of our guests liked it, especially for facilities and room size. Colors depends of each people !
To park your five bikes we charged € 15 (€ 3 per bike!). We understand your surprise but it's a secured area under our responsability. Thank to note that we have a small area for cars and bikes with about 15 spaces, not enough spaces for 34 rooms.
See you another time in Saintes !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This Hotel is right in the centre of Saintes near to restaurants, shops, Roman remains and Churches. The Hotel was very comfortable and attractive with very good breakfasts.

Although the enclosed garage cost extra it was worth it to be able to park right in the centre next to the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZVMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel des Messa... C, Responsable réception at Citotel des Messageries, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

We thank you for your feedback and are very happy you liked your stay with us.
We have a central location and you can find easily a free parking space after 5.30 p.m. until 10 a.m. on the streets around the hotel not so far from restaurants and visiting places.
See you another time in Saintes !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel has been tastefully decorated . Our room was perfect for the 5 of us . It was clean and the bathroom was lovely . The staff were very helpful and even though our French and their English was lacking were able to get across the language barrier . There are plenty of places to eat an evening meal nearby and the hotel breakfast was very nice and it was self service . The only downside is there are limited car parking spaces in the hotel . Overall we would use the hotel again .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leetommo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel des Messa... C, Responsable réception at Citotel des Messageries, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

We are happy you liked your stay with us and we thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you another time and for your next stay you can note that you have 3 options to park your car : our private garage (book it in advance!), streets (free on the evening) and the covered and secured garage called "Centre Ville". Think of it for your next stay ! See you soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

We loved this place, hotel was in the most amazing location, right in the centre of the beautiful medieval city of Saintes. We booked a family room which was huge, and had a view of the beautiful courtyard. Room was a little tired decor wise but bathroom was fab and for 105 euros plus 10 for parking in the private car park it was incredible value. We didn't have breakfast as there is so much choice literally on your doorstep. Staff were wonderful and charming. We had paid for the private car park and even though checkout is at 11 they said we could leave the car there for as long as we liked while we explored the city. I recommend this hotel and Saintes wholeheartedly. We had the best time and some wonderful meals at Les Remparts and La Procoppio which are all within 100m of this great value hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wenders1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel des Messa... C, Responsable réception at Citotel des Messageries, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thank you for your feedback ! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay in Saintes !Do you know that we refurbish our rooms every winter? So our rooms are constantly evolving ! We hope you will see it next year !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

A very nice hotel in the centre of the old town. Beautifully decorated throughout, although the room was perhaps a bit modern for my taste, but this is quite a minor point really. Comfy bed and a really nice ensuite, it felt like a much more expensive hotel.

There was an excellent breakfast choice of fruit, croissant, lovely bread, cheese ham eggs etc etc, good value for 9 euros. Would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: We felt the room to be quite warm and stuffy (it was about 28 degrees) so suggest air conditioning w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaMcAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel des Messa... C, Responsable réception at Citotel des Messageries, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thank you for this very good feedback !! We try our best to satisfy yourself and to feel yourself comfortable !
Our breakfast is made with love every morning by our team and our locals producers. And we have special choice for gluten free people !
If you have a special request for your next stay about breakfast or room etc, you can ask us at your booking and we will take care of this request !
We hope to see you again in Saintes !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saintes hotels
1.5 mi away
Relais du Bois Saint Georges
0.3 mi away
Les chambres de l'Abbaye aux Dames
1.4 mi away
Inter-Hotel O'Nice
Inter-Hotel O'Nice
#3 of 19 in Saintes
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Saintes
Comfort Hotel Saintes
#4 of 19 in Saintes
115 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Saintes
Ibis Saintes
#6 of 19 in Saintes
408 reviews
0.6 mi away
Souvenirs de Familles
Souvenirs de Familles
#5 of 19 in Saintes
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citotel des Messageries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citotel des Messageries

Address: rue des Messageries, 17100 Saintes, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Saintes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Saintes
Price Range: £57 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citotel des Messageries 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former 17th-century post house is located in the heart of Saintes' historic district and offers peaceful accommodation. Citotel Hotel Des Messageries features 33 comfortable rooms spread on 3 floors, a private car park (at an additional cost) and an inside courtyard. 18 rooms have air-conditioning (at an additional cost). The hotel offers a warm welcome in a modern and friendly setting. It boasts a privileged location from which to discover the many sites and attractions of the city of Saintes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Citotel des Messageries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citotel Des Messageries Saintes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing