We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome and clean two star hotel in central Digne”
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Central
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Digne les Bains
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A warm welcome and clean two star hotel in central Digne”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Right in the main street 150 metres from the bus stop. After the traffic eases at about 8.30 pm summer time the fountain outside is the only sound.

The hosts are warm and speak English and will do everything to make you stay comfortable. Breakfast is tradition French. It was no trouble when we took some fruit and cheese to ensure our walking and riding days had a good start. An 8/8 supermarket is across the road.

There is plenty of choice for evening meals further along Bd Gassendi. Weekly market on PLACE Gal de Gaulle on Wednesday is a must for local food for the day.

jote

Room Tip: Front street rooms have morning sun, day traffic noise and the fountain at night! The room had ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted4606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    26
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
4
33
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We arrived by train on a Sunday when there are no city buses but were able to walk to the hotel in about 25 min. carrying small backpacks. (Ask someone for directions to rue Gassendi since it is confusing which street to take when coming to the "rond points.") The central location is great and it was quiet with our room facing onto the small side street. The twin bed room we had next to the reception is one of the largest, with very comfortable beds, nice clothes wardrobe, small table and two chairs. The bathroom (shower) was good size and very clean, well maintained. Be aware that if you arrive on a Sunday, as we did, the reception is closed from noon to 5 p.m. so we had to make arrangements for someone to be there to let us in. The best breakfast offering is on the side street at a nearby boulangerie-patisserie.

Room Tip: Rooms facing back side street are quietest. Twin bed room next to reception is larger than some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

On approaching the Hotel Central the first impression is iffy. The entrance is beside a bar and the reception is on the first floor. But the welcome is friendly and efficient and the rooms are spotless though not large. The free WiFi is fast though it does tend to time out after a half hour or so but reconnects quickly. The breakfast is wonderful with a big pot of coffee, fresh bread and jams, and orange juice. The hotel provides excellent value and the location on the main street of Digne is perfect.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

found this hotel to be very central ,nicely furnished and very clean, nice helpful owners who pointed us in the right direction to get best out of town and area, my only reservation is that you have to enter up some quite steep stairs and anybody with walking problems may struggle

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D-J-L527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near Baltimore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We really liked this pretty little hotel on the main street of Digne. It's very centrally located, attractive, and -- best of all -- spotlessly clean! The proprietors (a married couple) are friendly and helpful. And our beds were comfortable. We ordered the breakfast to be taken in our room one of the two mornings we were there. I think it was slightly over-priced, but the coffee was hot and good and the bread was fresh. (I prefer a more substantial breakfast, but when in France...!) Our only complaint -- which is about our specific room, not the entire hotel -- was that we couldn't keep the window open at night because of the noise from the street below. It wasn't “people noise” (like talking or music)... it was the darn fountain right below our window! As my friend commented... during the day we didn't even notice the sound of the water flowing in the fountain. But it night, it sounded like a (small) waterfall right outside our window! If this kind of background noise doesn't bother you, our room (with two single beds) was actually very nice and had plenty of storage space and a huge bathroom that we both really liked. But if you are a very light sleeper like I am, I would suggest asking for a different room. (We were in the front room on the second floor.) By the way… their windows are obviously very good ones, because shutting ours completely blocked out all noise from outside!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne_kh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This hotel is very nice. The people Who work here is so kind and it is very clean. The rooms has a little old style which is charming. Free Internet is also a good thing. One thing i felt was that it is a really good smell here. I would recommend it and i would love to come back here!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovegoingonatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ithaca
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

The room was extremely tight for 3 people, and the beds were short and not comfortable. the bathroom was also a tiny pre-fabricated all in one toilet, shower and sink. Also, there was considerable road noise. The owner was very friendly, and it was clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank des16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Digne les Bains hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Coin Fleuri
Le Coin Fleuri
#3 of 11 in Digne les Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.5 mi away
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Digne-les-Bains
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Digne-les-Bains
#7 of 11 in Digne les Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aiglon
Hotel Aiglon
#9 of 11 in Digne les Bains
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Paris
Le Grand Paris
#2 of 11 in Digne les Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Golf de Digne les Bains
Hotel Golf de Digne les Bains
#10 of 11 in Digne les Bains
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tonic
Hotel Tonic
#11 of 11 in Digne les Bains
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Property: Hotel Central
Address: 26 boulevard Gassendi, 04000 Digne les Bains, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Digne les Bains
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Digne les Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Central 2*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing