We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice affordable hotel, lovely area”
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Central
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Digne les Bains
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We included Digne-les-Bains on our itinerary because we wanted to see the scenery on the Chemin de Fer Provence Railroad, the narrow gauge line that runs between Nice's Provence Station (this is NOT the SNCF station where all the French trains stop.) Other than the only truly surly French person we ran into on our entire trip, the ticket taker on that small train, who should be rewarded as the worst advertisement of the stereotypical snooty Frenchman....everyone we met in this area was lovely. Digne, itself, is simply charming. A small, mountain town, with a lively street scene, including a delightful Wednesday morning market that shouldn't be missed. The Hotel Central, itself, is a basic inn, but with a very friendly, helpful front desk. Rooms are basic as well, but they do have wifi, and the beds were fine, everything was very clean. Do not expect people in this area to speak much English. But they will do their best, and will show great appreciation of any attempts to speak their language, regardless of proper grammar! The surrounding area is gorgeous. The Tour de France came through Digne one year, and it is easy to imagine the cyclists negotiating the narrow canyons in and around the town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilsonCat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed for one night as we caught the train to Nice early the following morning. Good location (central as the name suggests!). The staff (owners) were very friendly and helpful, advising where to park for free. Room was clean but a bit small just large enough for 1 double 1 single and a wardrobe. We left too early to have breakfast. Room was €70 which I think was good value. It was early September and there wasn't much going on in the town, very quiet at night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gjll0yd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Right in the main street 150 metres from the bus stop. After the traffic eases at about 8.30 pm summer time the fountain outside is the only sound.

The hosts are warm and speak English and will do everything to make you stay comfortable. Breakfast is tradition French. It was no trouble when we took some fruit and cheese to ensure our walking and riding days had a good start. An 8/8 supermarket is across the road.

There is plenty of choice for evening meals further along Bd Gassendi. Weekly market on PLACE Gal de Gaulle on Wednesday is a must for local food for the day.

jote

Room Tip: Front street rooms have morning sun, day traffic noise and the fountain at night! The room had ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted4606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We arrived by train on a Sunday when there are no city buses but were able to walk to the hotel in about 25 min. carrying small backpacks. (Ask someone for directions to rue Gassendi since it is confusing which street to take when coming to the "rond points.") The central location is great and it was quiet with our room facing onto the small side street. The twin bed room we had next to the reception is one of the largest, with very comfortable beds, nice clothes wardrobe, small table and two chairs. The bathroom (shower) was good size and very clean, well maintained. Be aware that if you arrive on a Sunday, as we did, the reception is closed from noon to 5 p.m. so we had to make arrangements for someone to be there to let us in. The best breakfast offering is on the side street at a nearby boulangerie-patisserie.

Room Tip: Rooms facing back side street are quietest. Twin bed room next to reception is larger than some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

On approaching the Hotel Central the first impression is iffy. The entrance is beside a bar and the reception is on the first floor. But the welcome is friendly and efficient and the rooms are spotless though not large. The free WiFi is fast though it does tend to time out after a half hour or so but reconnects quickly. The breakfast is wonderful with a big pot of coffee, fresh bread and jams, and orange juice. The hotel provides excellent value and the location on the main street of Digne is perfect.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

found this hotel to be very central ,nicely furnished and very clean, nice helpful owners who pointed us in the right direction to get best out of town and area, my only reservation is that you have to enter up some quite steep stairs and anybody with walking problems may struggle

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D-J-L527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We really liked this pretty little hotel on the main street of Digne. It's very centrally located, attractive, and -- best of all -- spotlessly clean! The proprietors (a married couple) are friendly and helpful. And our beds were comfortable. We ordered the breakfast to be taken in our room one of the two mornings we were there. I think it was slightly over-priced, but the coffee was hot and good and the bread was fresh. (I prefer a more substantial breakfast, but when in France...!) Our only complaint -- which is about our specific room, not the entire hotel -- was that we couldn't keep the window open at night because of the noise from the street below. It wasn't “people noise” (like talking or music)... it was the darn fountain right below our window! As my friend commented... during the day we didn't even notice the sound of the water flowing in the fountain. But it night, it sounded like a (small) waterfall right outside our window! If this kind of background noise doesn't bother you, our room (with two single beds) was actually very nice and had plenty of storage space and a huge bathroom that we both really liked. But if you are a very light sleeper like I am, I would suggest asking for a different room. (We were in the front room on the second floor.) By the way… their windows are obviously very good ones, because shutting ours completely blocked out all noise from outside!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanne_kh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Digne les Bains hotels
2.1 mi away
Kyriad digne-Les-Bains
Kyriad digne-Les-Bains
#1 of 11 in Digne les Bains
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aiglon
Hotel Aiglon
#11 of 11 in Digne les Bains
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Paris
Le Grand Paris
#3 of 11 in Digne les Bains
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Coin Fleuri
Le Coin Fleuri
#5 of 11 in Digne les Bains
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#4 of 11 in Digne les Bains
71 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Saint Michel
Hotel Saint Michel
#8 of 11 in Digne les Bains
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: 26 boulevard Gassendi, 04000 Digne les Bains, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Digne les Bains
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Digne les Bains
Price Range: £56 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Central 2*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing