We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would stay & definitely eat here again”
Review of Le Grand Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Grand Paris
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Digne les Bains
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Traditional grand french hotel , large classically furnished room , large modern bathroom , gastronomic cuisine ,
Food was absolutely amazing would eat here all the time if it was possible!
Staff are very polite & attentive , nothing was too much trouble
Great location for outdoor activities
Mountains well worth a visit on a sunny day

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noemi R, Gérant at Le Grand Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Steve,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review on your recent visit. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, the food served on the restaurant and the professionnal of our team .
The recognition of our guest is the best reward we can get.

We truly hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Best Regards,

N.RICAUD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night in July
Very smart old fashioned hotel.
Huge bedrooms and bathrooms.
In town centre
Free parking opposite hotel.
Breakfast was far too expensive for what was being offered.
Gourmet restaurant prices also too high. Perhaps they should also offer cheaper prix fixe menus at a reasonable price.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Palmora98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noemi R, Gérant at Le Grand Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for your review posted on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We all sincerely hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.
Best regards.
N.RICAUD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I popped into the tourism office and was directed to this Hotel. A large and very old building, right in the centre of town.

The young lady on reception was very very keen to help, and other staff were pleasant enough. There was an elderly lady present most of the time, I assume she was the owner. Very pleasant and keen for everything to be good.

I have to say that this was not to my taste and one night was enough. However, if you like large, gloomy rooms/corridors and public places, this could be right up your alley. That is not necessarily a criticism, just not my choice.

The plumbing in the bathroom was truly hopeless and the shower head filthy.

Dinner was disappointing and difficult to describe, other than confused and something you would expect to get bad marks on Masterchef. Cheese board, very good, wine totally spoilt by a cork made of dust. I should have demanded another bottle.

The caged birds on reception sum up a bygone era.

Room Tip: Take a torch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Watfordbloke7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noemi R, Gérant at Le Grand Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014
Google Translation

Monsieur,

Je prends connaissance de votre commentaire et celui-ci attire mon attention. En effet, la lecture de la plupart des avis donnés sur ce même site fait état d'une maison ancienne au charme suranné.. (voir les autres commentaires), l'office du tourisme de la ville vous a fourni cette même information. Par ailleurs, à votre arrivée, vous avez eu la possibilité avant la location de la chambre d'en visiter plusieurs. Vous avez pu à ce moment là situer dans quel type d'établissement vous vous trouviez, ce qui aurait pu éviter cette déception! Nous ne souhaitons pas faire de notre lieu de vie un lieu aseptisé.
D'autre part, Masterchef ne peut être notre source d'inspiration et lorsqu'une bouteille de vin est bouchonnée nous en changeons spontanément selon les règles de l'hôtellerie professionnelle et de tradition.
Salutations.
N.RICAUD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed here for a week and was pleasantly surprised at its quality. Picked it due to location and price (while NOT inexpensive, much more reasonable than most the 5 star hotels I had looked into). Le Grand is perfectly located so walking everywhere was easy. The service at the front desk, the Concierge, and the restaurants was perfect in every way. The rooms are small, (as with all of Europe). We stayed in a junior suite which was supposed to be 43 square meters and it still felt tiny. The price for it could not be beat as I paid in advance and breakfast was included. I compared when I arrived and had I booked late and not paid upfront the room would have been at least $120 more per night. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the junior suite that is all one room. The one that is not is broken up into 2 but feels sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kvvSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The staff made the stay....they were welcoming and helpful from start to finish (in all areas of the hotel!). The hotel is in a great location for exploring Dignes and the many hiking trails and areas surrounding. We only tried breakfast at the hotel and it was lovely, but very pricey. The hotel itself is charming and a nice step back in time decor-wise; the rooms and bathrooms are very clean and well equipped. However, they could use some air conditioning as it's not yet peak of summer and it was very warm; a 'double' bed is actually two twins placed together, but no method to secure them together and since they are still made separately you will fall between the two...Yes, that happened. ;) The rooms unfortunately offer no soundproofing and all the doors are quite squeaky....plan to get to know your neighbours. Otherwise, a charming stop at the end of the line and the staff's hospitality alone is worth the visit.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs. Otherwise....ours was great and it was apparently one of the smaller double rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2RoamingGnomies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

It is a great location to visit the town. The room was warming, the staff was very friendly and courteous. The restaurant was delicious and while stayung true to the French tradition. I wish we could retourn as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We made the booking as we found the place on the booklet of the "Maitres cuisiniers de France" who usually lists very good places. This one was unfortunately below our expectations. The room was clean but with a view over a roof..no AC. The bathroom was very basic.
With regards to the restaurant we had our meal outside on the terrace. Very nice terrace but the table had very ugly plastic looking table cloth. Food was good but not outstanding as I was expecting knowing that the chef was a "Maitre cuisinier de France". I have to say however that the personnel was very kind.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorenzo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Digne les Bains
2.1 mi away
Kyriad digne-Les-Bains
Kyriad digne-Les-Bains
#2 of 11 in Digne les Bains
56 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#4 of 11 in Digne les Bains
71 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Aiglon
Hotel Aiglon
#11 of 11 in Digne les Bains
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
La Bastide de Moustiers
La Bastide de Moustiers
#2 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#6 of 11 in Digne les Bains
67 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Saint Michel
Hotel Saint Michel
#7 of 11 in Digne les Bains
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Paris

Address: 19 boulevard Thiers, 04000 Digne les Bains, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Digne les Bains
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Digne les Bains
Price Range: £120 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Grand Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Grand Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing