We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fontvieille
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Domaine de Laforest
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This gite was chosen because it was only an hour from Marseille airport where we flew into. The Gite was an excellent choice - clean, lots of space and only a 10 minute drive into Arles. It was slightly difficult to locate on arrival, but only because I didn't follow my GPS through Arles. Other reviewers have complained about the minor charges for towels and electricity, but considering the overall price it is an excellent choice. I would definitely stay here again. Sylvie the owner was very pleasant and helpful. You should be aware that you will have to supply your own dish soap, dish clothes and towels and replace the toilet paper, but these are minor.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LarryKinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Domaine de Laforest
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2011

Very nice, ground floor unit. 2 bedrooms with kitchen, ideal for family of 4-5. Situated about 5 minutes from a cute little non-touristy town called Fontvieille and 10 minutes to Arles.

Surrounded by rice paddies, lovely grounds, treed area, grassy area, large swimming pool. That said, this is not the prettiest part of Provence, to be sure. It's fairly flat agricultural area, and a bit non-descript. No where near the beauty of say, the countryside around Aix or the hilltop towns, for example.

Friendly staff. Fresh cantelope every morning from the neighbouring field!

Kitchen is tiny with a mini-fridge (door of which opens the wrong way!) and not that well equipped: could use some at least half decent knives, 2 burner stove, missing basics such as dish soap, dish clothes. No basic condiments (salt & pepper).

Pricing, although clear, is irritating--lots of little charges for this and that (an electricity charge?) Owner was looking at simplifying for 2012, flat rate, all in. Great idea.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tashasmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We stayed at the domaine del laforest for 10 days in one of there 2 bedroom gites. It was about 100 sq metres (1000 sq. ft.) and was a up and down design. Very nice. The owners were helpful and very pleasant. This is located in an excellent location. A car is necessary, but it is possible to walk into Fontvielle. The cost was very reasonable at about 60 Euro a nite.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

We rented a cottage for a week at Domaine de Laforest. The place is located in the countryside on a large propriety minutes away from the village of Fontveille (where there's a public market on monday and friday mornings) and a short drive from places like Arles, St-Remy de Provence, Les Baux de Provence, Ste-Marie-de-la-Mer. Our cottage was clean, large , modern and well equiped. Bedrooms and bathroom were on the 2nd floor. The place is very quiet and relaxing with beautiful sunsets at night. We didn't try the pool, it was too windy (mistral) during our stay but it was big enough. If you stay here, you have to know that you'll be charge for the electricity, the cleaning at the end of your stay and for the bedsheets and towels. The only thing that didn't work for us was the Wi-Fi connexion. Domaine de Laforest was a great experience for us and I hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank courcellesqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank François T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sylvie B, Propriétaire at Domaine de Laforest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Tomtom_lagaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank paule m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fontvieille hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Le Val Majour
Best Western Le Val Majour
#3 of 8 in Fontvieille
171 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Regalido
Villa Regalido
#1 of 8 in Fontvieille
243 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Mas d'Emilie
Le Mas d'Emilie
#1 of 6 in Fontvieille
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
La Ripaille Hotel
La Ripaille Hotel
#2 of 8 in Fontvieille
164 reviews
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
Mas de la Tour
#7 of 8 in Fontvieille
3 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mas Saint Victor
Mas Saint Victor
#5 of 8 in Fontvieille
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Laforest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Laforest

Address: 1000 Route de l'Aqueduc Romain | Départementale 82, 13990 Fontvieille, Arles, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles > Fontvieille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Fontvieille
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DomaineIdeally situated in the heart of Provence, on the edge of the Camargue, this 320-acre private estate offers a warm welcome to you.While exploring the many walking paths and bicycle trails, you will discover endless journeys through idyllic countryside immortalised by great painters and poets.In the recently renovated buildings dating from the 19th century you will find our two and three holiday gites (apartments) with an average area of 720 square feet.Each gite has an individual, stone walled terrace for your “al fresco” meals accompanied by the famous, singing cigales (cicadas).Parking is available for motorbikes, bicycles and cars.To make the most of the surrounding calm, the shade of the plane tree grove offers the ideal place for those afternoon naps that are so welcome after long walks.For cooling off, the swimming pool is at your disposal for swimming and sunning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Domaine De Laforest Fontvieille, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing